Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

14 People found this comment helpful

I found this medicine to be an excellent treatment for rheumatoid arthritis. When first diagnosed, I was prescribed methotrexate pills, I then went on to methotrexate injections. It caused me to be continually nauseous with an upset stomach, heartburn, and always tired. I then was prescribed sulfasalzine with the same results. My internalist changed my prescription to Sulfasaline EC, which is c...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

I was only takeing it for 2 weeks before the headaches became unbearable with definate mental/mood changes. I was depressed and crying after a week and a half before I quit taking. The next day after missing 2 doses the headaches were better!

Shared reviews and ratings

Female Diagnoised with Spondylaropthy | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/18/2013
Condition: Rheumatic Disease causing Pain & Stiffness in Backbone
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Major depression/slow mental function/insomnia after one week of use at 500mg a day. Would rather be in pain than depressed and unable to function at all. Have been on effective anti depresant medication for 8 years and this drug has somehow upset the equilibrium. Have now stopped this and will review what to do when I next catch up with my Rhuematologist. Am starting to run out of options now as all anti inflamms give me Gerd. Tramadol continues to be the only effective medication with no side effects plus 10mg weekly of methotrexate. I have symptoms of Ankolysing Spondylitis with no fusion, just chronic pain in varying degrees. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
momoftrisfelic | 35-44 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/2/2013
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I currently take 2000 mg of Sulfazine EC. 12 yrs ago I was taking 3000 mg a day. I have lived with UC for almost 25 yrs now. This medication has worked well for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
florianne | 55-64 | Female | Patient
3/28/2013
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

pms - sulfasalazine ec 500mg a day is working for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
justme | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/12/2012
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Misspiggles | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/8/2011
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

made me terribly ill, headache,nausea,dizzy,fever and chills, I've had issues with a sulfa drug in the past and if you have experienced bad reactions to Sulfa drugs I suggest not using this. I felt wonderful when I stopped taking it, I took it for 5 days sick entire time after 24 hours without it I felt fine. Will find alternative medicine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/30/2011
Condition: Ulcerated Colon
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had an extreme case of ulcerative colitis 25 years ago. I took Predizone for 6 months and then 8 tablets per day of Sulfazine EC which was tapered off over the years to two 500mg tablets per day which I continue as a maintenance dose. I feel blessed that my colon has bee completely normal for the last 24 years and that I have never had a flare up. The side effects have been minimal, a few skin blotches from too much sun but really not an issue. Also, I have a colonoscopy every 2-3 years and they have all been fine. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Texasaaa | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/7/2011
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Like a miracle drug for me after a couple of months. I am having some breaking out on my face but I am not sure it is the med yet (Im afraid it is though and that would be a crying shame after all the years of pain).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/23/2011
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this for three months and noticed improvement with joint pain but boy did it affect my mood. I will feel good an take it and within the hour, a funk came over me. I had some stressful things like a military move and leaving a job I liked, so I thought I was being witchy over that, but I forgot to take my pills a couple a times (had trouble remembering to take them with food) and I realized those days I was more optimistic about changes and less irritable. When I took again, funk came over. It got to where my family was wondering what was wrong with me and me too. The more I took it, the worse the mood swing became. I literally could feel the change and the irritability and restlessness take over. Not a good feeling.its sad because it helps with joint pain but not worth losing loved ones cause I'm cranky.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/20/2011
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on this drug for almost 4 months now. Noticed huge change in between 2-3 months. Stiffness, swelling & pain have decreased to a very tolerable level.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
in need of help | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/27/2011
Condition: Rheumatic Disease causing Pain & Stiffness in Backbone
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i"ve only been on this med for a week. so it is really too soon tto tell if its goig to work well for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/10/2010
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After only about 2 weeks on this med the ringing in my ears became unbearable. This is a shame because this has been the best med for my rheumatoid arthritis. It never bothered my stomach but I am taking meds for GIRD already.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/8/2010
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LBTR | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/29/2010
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I found this medicine to be an excellent treatment for rheumatoid arthritis. When first diagnosed, I was prescribed methotrexate pills, I then went on to methotrexate injections. It caused me to be continually nauseous with an upset stomach, heartburn, and always tired. I then was prescribed sulfasalzine with the same results. My internalist changed my prescription to Sulfasaline EC, which is coated and dissolves in the lower portion of the stomach rather than in the upper portion. The heartburn went away almost immediately, I am less tired and am no longer nauseous. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/12/2010
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After trying several different (and more expensive) drugs for over a year, Sulfazine is the only one to give me relief from incapacitating cramping and diarrhea. I have not noticed any side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
2yng2hvra | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/1/2009
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was only takeing it for 2 weeks before the headaches became unbearable with definate mental/mood changes. I was depressed and crying after a week and a half before I quit taking. The next day after missing 2 doses the headaches were better!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/25/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ive noticed a change in my mood and mental state, headaches! , and real tired sometimes

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
11/20/2008
Condition: Rheumatic Disease causing Pain & Stiffness in Backbone
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

stomach upset is my only complant!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kelkankitty | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/17/2008
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on sulfazine for about a year now with prednisone,arava,and nembumetone,I dont think they are working Im in pain all the time,my knees are awelled all the time.my hair is thinning,I need something that will work....

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lazermind2 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/26/2007
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

headaches bigtime

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/24/2007
Condition: Rheumatoid Arthritis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More