Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

24 People found this comment helpful

I have used several inhilor and this is is so far the best one. With other inhilor, I get heart palpitaion but with this one is not the case and also I feel that work fast.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

Since I've been using it, I've felt weird. It does something to my lungs and every morning I wake up coughing too much like if my lungs are trying to kick out the medicine. The side effects are terrible. I am scared to use it!

Shared reviews and ratings

BestChoice | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/2/2021
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Having Asthma since child birth I had no idea of "normality". The dedication and at times the suffering my parents went through was truly amazing. I spent my 8th birthday in hospital (one of many stays) and wasn't expected to come home (learned this later in life). If my attacks came on gradually the Ventolin was my best friend, it took the imense weight off my chest and allowed me to start standing upright, not slumped with hands on my knees trying to take the pressure off my chest. If the Asthma attack was too agressive, then there was no choice but to accept the injection, I didn't fear it, it was a little painful and would 90% of the time cause vomiting. To this day I owe credit to my long past doctor and I will continue to use Ventolin when required as I do hate medications. While there are side effects, they are minimal to the effectiveness of the product. To this day, I cringe when I see people openly smoke and then reach for the inhaler, well it's their chice and their funeral.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Icanbreatheagain123 | 25-34 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/12/2018
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I couldnt breathe after i pick it up from the pharmacy i shaked it sprayed twice in the air then i inhale the medicine made me cough out some stuff then boom i could breathe again without whizzing but then i felt great a little shaky but i was breathing again normal and that's all that matters.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month |
5/15/2018
Condition: Bronchitis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

have only used it once

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shells02 | 3-6 | Female | Caregiver
5/15/2018
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Does NOTHING for child's asthma.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/6/2018
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I too was changed from Proventil to the VentolinHFA inhaler. At first, it worked for 24 puffs. I take one or two puffs at a time as needed before exercise. Then it did not seem to dispense any drug. I cleaned it and primed it with no improvement so I called the "service center". The representative was surly and that may have been in response to my displeasure with the quality and lack of effectiveness in the product. I have requested a report on the "testing" of the inhaler I returned to my pharmacy and that remains to be seen if there is adequate follow-through. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JJohnson | 25-34 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/22/2017
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have Asthma, Ventolin is by far the best medication out there to stop sudden Asthma attacks and as a asthmatic you can bet you life on it, because I do all the time. it will stop Asthma attacks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/5/2017
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just tried the new Ventolin HFA inhaler, andit simply DOESN'T WORK! Still had some left in my ProAir HFA inhaler, so, in desperation, I used it, and experienced IMMEDIATE RELIEF. I've been experiencing pretty bad asthma all week, and I think using the Ventolin has only increased my suffering! If u read the labels, there are some seemingly subtle differences, but, at least for ME, the difference is anything but subtle! Don't assume that it'sa good drug 4u, just becuz tha dr. Prescribed it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JHarrellz | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/5/2017
Condition: Asthma Attack
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just tried the new Ventolin HFA inhaler, andit simply DOESN'T WORK! Still had some left in my ProAir HFA inhaler, so, in desperation, I used it, and experienced IMMEDIATE RELIEF. I've been experiencing pretty bad asthma all week, and I think using the Ventolin has only increased my suffering! If u read the labels, there are some seemingly subtle differences, but, at least for ME, the difference is anything but subtle! Don't assume that it'sa good drug 4u, just becuz tha dr. Prescribed it!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bronko | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/10/2017
Condition: Bronchitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

when they administered this drug at the doctor through a tube, it worked great. I could breathe, and I got a noticeable high. But the Inhaler. I doesn't do anything. I've been taking twice as much as the doctor recommended and I still can't breath and am wheezing. A

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ben Dover | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/28/2017
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used it for several months with no problems. Then I started getting terrible muscle spasms at night and in the day as well. Cramping neck and throat muscles during the day. At night severe muscle spasms of random muscles but not the charlie horse type. Feet twisting at odd angles, toes sticking straight up. Two groups of muscles at the same time pulling in opposite directions. Voice got real hoarse and I couldn't sing anymore. Things got better but then the dr. changed me to Qvar. Now it's sore throat, heavy coughing, bad wheezing at night. Going to have to try something else I guess. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RFL43 | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/26/2017
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For about 30 years, a Ventolin inhaler was very effective for me. It became totally ineffective when the chemical composition was changed from Albuterol USP to Albuterol Sulfate. The Sulfate derivative simply did not work. That chemical change occurred when the propellant was changed from CFC to HFA. Fortunately, I found Xopenex (levalbuterol) as an effective alternative.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mathgirl | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/28/2016
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is tier 2 with my HMO & costs $40, so I am bothered by the fact that it is supposed to provide 200 puffs, however as many as the final 50 do not seem to even be delivered, i.e., it seems empty after 150 or so.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/21/2016
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As a result of taking Ventolin I have had bone pain with severe cramps in my muscles, back, toes, fingers, sleeplessness, cough with sputum production, headache. I have been off of it 6 weeks and still have muscle pain and cramps. I still have some hoarseness and cough. I don't feel that I could have taken it another week without serious complications. If it does everyone like this, it should be taken off the market.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pegleg | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/13/2016
Condition: Bronchitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I get bronchitis. This opens my lungs back up with in Minutes.works very well for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/14/2016
Condition: Bronchitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SMOOTHSILK | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/14/2016
Condition: Chronic Widening of Lung Air Passages
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DO NOT LIKE NERVOUSNESS AFTER I TAKE ,ANXIETY ALSO DOES NOT SEEM TO HELP VERY MUCH

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Willow | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/14/2015
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Lung Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using Ventolin for 5 years. I don't feel any side effects. It works for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/8/2015
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Taken for chronic asthma and exercise induced breathing troubles. No known or noticeable side effects. Works great for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/7/2014
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GRANNY | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/12/2014
Condition: Emphysema
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More