Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

29 People found this comment helpful

I started this medication 4 months ago and it worked very well in dropping my BP to a great rate. Unfortunatley, 2 months into taking the medication I started having very bad side effects. Dry mouth, sweating, diarrhea, leg cramps, severe dizziness, cold clamy feet, cough that is very bad at night. A month ago my doctor thought I was having panic/anxiety attacks and treated me with medication for ...

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

Medication doesn't work well for ethnic back grounds/blk women/rare side effects not listed it will swell your intestine and make it feel like some thing is twisting inside.

Shared reviews and ratings

Jim Shoo | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/4/2021
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lisinopril HCTZ may not work for some. Do your own homework/research on the Web. Dr's these days are overwhelmed and do not always recommend the right medications. Lisinopril had me all screwed up until I did my own research.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Eric | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/16/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Began having an internment cough soon after I started taking Lisinopril.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hyperdude | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/18/2020
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on this for near 5 yrs. No side effects I like it coz its flexible. Started with the 20/25mg dose, but after 3 months gym, doc dialed it down to 20/12 when he was surprised it went back to near normal after I hit they gym. Its cheap and I like that I can split it in 2 if running low. Disclaimer:Im a blk man with hereditary BP so only weigh 145 but in stress BP gets to 150/100 or when I dont renew prescription and freestyle diet, I start to feel warning headaches and its 178/110 months later on extreme stress days. Just started reading about this and trying to wean myself off lisinop given the long term liver risk. Ironically if I hit the gym hard and watch my diet, I can drop to normal BP with NO meds but then am weighing about 130lbs and ppl look at me like.. due, are you sick, yet am healthiest then but the trade-off is almost a caveman diet and looking wiry at 5'11. Im married already so it dont bother me and my sex drive is normal. Am just worried about long term and want to steer clear as much as possible till I may need it later when my frame cant keep up with the high impact cardio and gym routines. Also have to make tough choices. Food I'd eat freestyle and not worry about weight gain leaves sodium / sugar bombs for my heart. Such is life...aah the trade-offs to stave off early death.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Brad | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/10/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was taking 5mg amlodipine with moderate results, doctor added 20 mg hydrochlorothiazideh-lisinopril. Within a week dry cough and both my elbows developed severe pain, to where I could not extend them fully. Also I could not maintain an erection during sexual activities. BP was not reduced. After one month doctor took me off hydrochlorothiazide-lisinopril, elbow pain went away, he put me on just lisinopril 20mg and amlodipine 10mg. Too early to tell whether I have any side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dennis | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/20/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this for about four years. I had the cough at the beginning, but I thought I was pretty much symptom free. Had a bout of acute pancreatitis with no known cause, and then kept having recurring small 'flares' that I could derail by not eating for a few days. Finally a nurse I knew told me that her dad found that Lisinopril was causing his pancreatitis issues. Asked the doc to take me off, been off it for four months or so and zero problems with the pancreas flares. Unfortunately having problems finding another med that works with no side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cys | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/12/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for HBP for around 3 months. So far I have not had any negative side effects and it has significantly reduced my blood pressure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JACKIE | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/10/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I HAD A STROKE DUE TO HIGH BLOOD PRESSURE. THIS DRUG DOES LOWER BP EFFECTIVELY, BUT I DO HAVE A DRY COUGH AT NIGHT AND EXTREME FATIQUE - I LIKE HAVING ENERGY IF THIS FATIGUE CONTINUES I WILL TALK TO MY DR ABOUT LOWERING THE DOSE. I HAVE BEEN TAKING THIS DRUG FOR 1 WEEK,BP WAS 191/132 NOW 1 WEEK AFTER DRUG 132/75

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marty | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/8/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used Lisinopril for years with no problem. Then it just stopped working. Was given Lisinopril HCTZ and had some issues. Finally, got dizzy spells everyday and just didn't feel good. Stopped the Lisinopril and went to another med, and things are getting better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chucktoo | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/27/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took at night time. Could not sleep. Took during day and I am fatigued. Going to switch. It did lower 120/70.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Valerie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/20/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Broke with blisters all over my face

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Liz | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/5/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medicine I had headaches,I couldn't sleep and my heart was beating fast.I told my Doctor she told me to stop taking it and ever since then I've been having problem with my heart

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Honor | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/25/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Day 1 severe stomach pain and diarrhea . Day 2 extremely low blood pressure 104/77 and continual diarrhea very cold hands and feet. I took htcz for two years and still had simi high blood pressure 140/95 but no side effects until the doctor added the lisonpril.. I am getting off this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mannydog | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/18/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

In less than a month, I've developed a horrible dry cough which sends me into fits of choking and gagging. It's so bad, it wakes me up during the night. I feel like my body is moving through quick sand. The physical fatigue is unbearable. I also have had a low grade headache for days on end with a bit of dizziness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/16/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took only one (1) 10mg pill. My face had excessive swelling (cheeks,lips,under eyes, throat) for 2-3 days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
glennehill | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/19/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ok, Solved the dry cough and headaches. If you have them as I did you are dehydrated, because of the Hydrochlorothiazide (diuretic). Hydrate. You should be drinking 32 oz. plus of water just for good health. It does not make a difference whether you are thirsty or not. You can be dehydrated and never feel thirsty. Dry cough will definitely go away and I will bet the headaches will follow. I have never had other symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
donmon | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/26/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this medication for a little over 90 days now. In the beginning I had some light headiness but it subsided. Now I have this God awful dry cough and can now sleep an entire 24 hours if I could. I am always tired. Now I'm having stomach pain to which I thought it was a 24 hour virus. The pain isn't as bad as it was before but it's still there. The other night I was having tingling in my foot so now I've become concerned about these side effects. If these side effects continue, I will check to see if my dosage needs to be decreased. I'm currently on the 20/25 mg one time a day dosage.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
edgeprk | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/18/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

two plus weeks of taking this medication - have had the lowest BP reading in over two years

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hummingbird whisperer | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/13/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

been on this for nearly 10 yrs..cannot go out in the sun break out in itchy water blisters that then leave a scar..cannot sleep ever..hair loss blurry vision..this is the only meds i take and i am asking for something else..too many warning labels and symptoms for me..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Plasm | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/19/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On lisinopril 6 mths, coughing (bad) 5 months with no allergies or illness. Helped with BP but use several other meds such as Coreg. Weight gain and no energy. Doc pulled me off today and put me on losartan. Will see if they get a good review.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
meds suck | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/15/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

do not take this drug i was on it for 1.5 yrs had ringing in the ears and lack of feeling in my feet. Have stopped taking it and have never felt better this drug is bad i felt every day i was tripping through life finally back to normal cure worse then the cause

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More