Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

146 People found this comment helpful

I feel like the luckiest person on the planet! I have had chronic pain for over 30 years from fibromyalgia and osteoarthitis. My doctor knew me before I got sick so he knew that I was not a maiingerer and has helped me through most of this time. I did see over 20 doators and specialist and four dentists before I got a diagnosis so I've been at this for a long time. I have taken every pain medica...

Shared reviews and ratings

Wakaflockadaaam | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
9/13/2021
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was used to relieve pain from an injury, worked great, but it made me sick (marid) and nauseous—constipated and extra white skin. Also, the mind became of lesser function. Never abuse this medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kh | 35-44 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/29/2020
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on methadone for 9 years because of a Vicodin addiction do to my psoriatic arthritis I recently detox myself off of it I spent six days in bed but it was the best thing I ever did methadone helped me but I ended up using it as a crutch even though I have pain still the best thing I ever did was stop taking it. It gets into your bones. I was on 100mg for years and when i left and when went back I was on 53mg for the remaining 3 years Ann's noticed no difference. I could have been on a lower dose the entire time. It helped, however I wish I hadn't allowed myself to stay on it so long. I recommend if you need it please only makes it a temporary thing. It helped me out of my funk but it's not necessary for several years of long term use. Just be strong and realize you don't need a permanent crutch. It'll just hold you back in the long run. It did to me. And I'm happier off of methadone now than I was the past 9 years. I got through my stuff I may not have without it but I learned to deal without it and there ARE other options now that aren't so addictive. I was addicted to methadone just like the vicodin. I made a choice and am happier for it today. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/29/2020
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has saved my life more than once. I love been sober (with methadone) for over 5 years. My addiction started with OxyContin in the late 90â??s and quickly switched to heroin. Methadone gave me a chance to live a â??normalâ? life. I recommend this drug to anyone who has had multiple relapses. Itâ??s not recommended as a first option to treating opioid addiction.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/28/2020
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been dosing for over two months now. Best decision I've ever made. I haven't had any craving for heroin at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/23/2019
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Began treatment after all other pain medications ceased to work. This med is so long acting, I don't experience any "highs" or "lows". Benefits my chronic pain due to joint damage and surgical trauma. Highly recommend this medicine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/7/2019
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

1.5 years after starting Methadone and I sit sooo sick, quit cold turkey at home 10 days ago because I got into my third car accident returning home after dosing at the clinic. This drug is dangerous and took away my menstruel completely during the time I was taking it. Sweating non stop, false sense of well being, no motivation, constipated and bloated all the time. No interest in sex at all! Soo many things could have been different in the last year and a half if only I never started this drug. Donâ??t fuckin start this drug unless you absolutely need to.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/1/2019
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Methadone is a Godsend!! I have tried and got addicted to opioids. They did not work after a while. Took more and more and the pain was still there. I take 20 mg 2 x a day for chronic back pain and I now have my life back. My quality of life has come back and I can do things that I have not been able to do in years. I have been taken methadone for about 5 years now. I am a U.S.citizenliving in Mexico so medication is easier to get and cheaper, even with my insurance co-pay. About $150 usd for a 2 - 3 month supply. Doctor prescription IS required in Mexico for methadone.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
William | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/21/2018
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had a lumbar spine injury that has damaged my spinal nerves and affected my spinal cord. There area lot of highly overpriced newer time released meds that just don't work,but methadone is by far the most effective longest Lasting(in it's plain Form)and cheapest of all narcotic analgesics.If you have a severe chronic pain don't even waste your time with the newer overpriced crap their putting on the market and pushing doctors to prescribe.methadone is an old drug(been around since the 1950s)and is still the best, I know because I've tried everything else. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/16/2018
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking 70 mg of methadone for 2 months now and it is a miracle medication to be able to completely release me from my herion addiction and makes all the cravings completely disappear I have not even thought of herion not once since the first dose I was administered and am living a normal happy fully functioning life that I had thought would never be possible for me and it is covered by Medicaid and private insurance. It saved my life

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
moochykatt | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/16/2017
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Fibromyalgia, and after going to several doctors, (whom thought I was just seeking out drugs). I found a wonderful doctor who's wife also had FM, so he treated me, I started on Hydrocodone, but they was not working very well after about 5 yrs, so my doctor suggested Methadone and wow what a difference! I've been on it now for about 8 years and it's still working great, I even lowered my dose alittle and am still doing great! of course I have my bad days due to weather, stress, etc, but that will happen! With people seeking drugs, it's difficult for people like us that need it, to get a script!So if a dr. doesn't believe you, keep trying, we chronic pain sufferers deserve to get some relief and lead a productive life!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ned | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/31/2017
Condition: Symptoms from Stopping Treatment with Opioid Drugs
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking pain meds for 40 years due to a industrial accident in 1978. I didn't start the methadone until 25 years ago, they started me on 40mg a day worked very good. After a auto accident, A different Doctor moved me up to 120mg because of a neck injury for around 6 years then decided to start taking me down to 40 mg a day. I was getting by with that and a breakthrough med, but wasn't able to get out and enjoy the things I did when on the higher dose. The middle of this month "Aug" he tells me he's not going to give me anymore methadone or breakthrough meds because of a new law that was passed a few months back. Now I am having restless legs, pain has came back, no sleep for 4 nights, so I'm in a heck of a mess now. Tried to get in a pain management, they said he should have referred me. Don't know what to do next. It gets worse every day. If you have a doctor, that will offer it, and you and need it, it works very well.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Timothy57 | 25-34 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/7/2017
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't understand why other physicians say that it is not the best salutation to treating chronic pain? I can take it one or two times a day and I'm well enough to function daily basis things with out being sleepy or druggie! I feel normal and able to get things done! I mean you got these methadone CLINICS! Why can't I people like me get it without going to a clinic and paying 600 a month? I've been in pain management for 17 years! All I've been is jerked around to the point of insanity! I NEED HELP? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sunnygrl2015 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/19/2017
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had much pain relief from using methadone. I just do not like going to a Methadone Clinic on a daily basis to get my daily dose. I can't get take homes because I am a pot smoker, which also helps with the pain as well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
awakeandaware | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/7/2017
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ASCEND LABS ASC 116 (generic) methadone 10mg are awful! been on methadone 10 plus years and now forced to take generic ascend labs never felt so bad! why is ascend labs allowed to produce such a crappy form of methadone with LOADS of side effects!!!! NO good! been so successful in treatment until NOW... please take these off the market they will help with opiate abuse prevention ..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ThomasP | 35-44 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/19/2016
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Methadone saved my life, I had been living with chronic back pain from age 17 to 36 and was self medicating with alcohol which caused more problems than it helped and even tried suicide unsuccessfully. My dr. finally came to understand what I was going through and apologized for not treating my pain correctly for many years and started prescribing me (2)10mg pills 3 times a day. I went from being unemployed for 15 years with no life or future to being a normal happy employed regular joe with hopes and dreams.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SCGiants | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/29/2016
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have chronic back pain from numerous causes. I have been going to pain mgmnt for a decade now and started off w/ NSAIDS an worked up from there... hydrocodone, oxy... time released morphine pills, then Fentanyl patches (which almost killed me when a 3 day patch was released into me within an hour as my work was over 100 degrees and I was pouring sweat (heat released... as I later learned!). I didn't like living like a zombie tho. Dr. gave me Methadone to try and it was like a miracle drug at first. Took away all the pain except break thru pain and after a week I was used to it and felt no high or anything like that. Dr originally said it was safe even at high amounts. I was up to 120 mg/day (12 -10mg pills/day) 7 years later I HATE it as I believe it is killing me. I have lost all drive 100%, I get shaky from doing nothing at all, ambition is all gone and I was highly ambitious and a hard worker... I cannot work anymore (I am 44 yrs old), constantly fatigued, exhausted, pain is now all back and I am being weaned to half the dose to get to 60mg a day as they learned that anything over that greatly increases the chance for serious heart problems! My life is hell. My free testosterone level dropped to 40... should be 400... (read up on low testosterone levels). They gave me adderall to counter the constant exhaustion, which screwed w/ sleep and now I take ambien to sleep! It is a one way ticket to hell this stuff and I wish I never started it. It is the WORST possible drug to get addicted to as it is the worst to come off of and it has taken me over a year just to drop 40mg/day and every day is pure hell to live. DO NOT start this drug! I cannot stress enough how bad it is in the long run. I also believe it has screwed with my pineal gland and caused me to get Fibromyalgia which I never had any of the symptoms before. I honestly feel as if I am dying inside. I don't even have the energy to file for Disability and even showering daily seems like a huge undertaking. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Outfar | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/29/2016
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 71, have multiple issues, prostrate cancer, disc degenerate L5-1 partial knee replacement (both), Factor V Lieden, Clots in both legs, and lungs. I was addicted to Percocet for several years. Five years ago I was put on METHODONE 7.7 mg two times a day. This has been such a relief! 90% of the pain is controlled, and I function pretty well. I TAKE A Vicoden 7.5 mg when needed for excessive breakthrough pain. My life is so much better, I ONLY WISH I had it 20 years ago. I spent 9 months in a Naval HOSPITAL I am a 100% Service Connected Disabled Veteran. The Va tests my blood every 3 months to assure I am taking this medication, which I AM GREATFUL TO HAVE.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lady59 chimo6 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/19/2016
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was on this for about 6 yrs., wasn't helping even with increased dosage. Dr decided to change my pain meds. I weaned off the methadone slowly & started noticing my legs no longer felt tight ( spasms, spasticity ) was very surprised that was the reason my legs hurt so all the time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robertofwerth | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/4/2016
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Broke my lower back while in service 31 years ago. After 2nd surgery in '91, it became chronic. I've been on everything. Now am on 20mg X 5 a day. Both hips also had to be replaced...twice! I was also fortunate enough to find a great doctor who implanted intrathecal pain pump that has Dilaudid and Fentanyl. If not for this wonderful dr, suicide would have been an option, sad to say.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pain is LAME | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/1/2016
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I think Methadone is by far the best medication for chronic pain. I was suicidal before being prescribed Methadone, and now the pain is much improved. Saved my life. I just hope people realize that not everyone abuses their pain medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More