Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

146 People found this comment helpful

I feel like the luckiest person on the planet! I have had chronic pain for over 30 years from fibromyalgia and osteoarthitis. My doctor knew me before I got sick so he knew that I was not a maiingerer and has helped me through most of this time. I did see over 20 doators and specialist and four dentists before I got a diagnosis so I've been at this for a long time. I have taken every pain medica...

Shared reviews and ratings

Lonnie | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years |
9/19/2022
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was rx'd this medication for pain, 10 mgs. twice a day. It really didn't help my rheumatoid arthritis very much at all. I see a lot of people saying they're on 100 or 120 mgs a day for narcotic addiction. I hate to say it but you are still taking an addictive drug and at that many mgs you have to be feeling pretty darn good. I know these people don't want to hear that but it's the truth, you're just trading one addiction for another. I had no problem coming off this drug as my dosage was very low. Just take your medication as prescribed and you won't have to deal with an out of control addiction, and if you are not prescribed pain medication don't take it!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Unfadable1 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/23/2022
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on methadone for about two years. Went to clinic because was addicted to narcotics pain pills and black tar heroin I was getting from cartel. This drug has changed my life for the better in so many ways. The Germans know what's up. Im so glad they synthesized this drug for humanity. It has helped millions. All drugs should be decriminalized and we need to educate the youth about the dangers. Your always going to have people who abuse drugs illegal or not. Why not make it safe, pure and leave it up to the individual. After all it is our body. Nobody would have to rob or steal from their love ones and the power that drugs give the cartels and criminals would be crushed. Let's work together to do what's right for humanity. Change is hard but the easy way isn't always the best way. It's time for us to take the next step. THE WAR ON DRUGS IS AN ABSOLUTE FAILURE AND A NEVERENDING WAR. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nevaeh | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/25/2022
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started using this medication as I could no longer get prescribed Oxycodone due to a severe addiction and I was terrified of the opiate withdrawals. All I can say is WOW! First dose was 6mg and it stopped all my cravings for endone and I had no pain either. My doctor slowly increased my dose until I was on 21mg a day but I found that to be too high of a dose. I was nodding off at all times of the day and was struggling to stay awake past 5pm daily. I was also sleeping for 12 hours a night. So I asked my doctor to lower my dose. I am currently down to 18mg a day and still lowering my dose by 1mg per week as I really want to get off Methadone soon. I don't want to be reliant on it for the rest of my life. Even though I do suffer from chronic pain due to a failed spinal surgery, I don't want to be on methadone for the rest of my life. I just want to be clean and know that I do not need to be on any strong pain killers and that I can just maintain my pain with Panadol. I do highly recommend this drug for anyone with an addiction to opiates and who has chronic pain because methadone really does help with both of those issues but it is not a long term solution. Even though some people can be on it for decades, it really is not a good drug for your body long term. It can cause stomach ulcers, acne, severe dry skin, dry scalp/worse dandruff (if you had dandruff before taking this medication), tooth decay, constipation, difficulty urinating, lowered sex drive, depression, anxiety, loss of appetite, nausea, just to name a few. So by all means, start this medication as a short term solution and hopefully it helps you like it has helped me and we can all get off of using this medication with the least amount of side effects/withdrawals as possible.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Boycey | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more |
12/17/2021
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been on meth for 20 years and it’s kept me out of jail, and have maintained employment. It’s a tried and tested product been used since the nazis run low on morphine and time and time again has always been the most understood safest no dangerous side effects I’ve experienced because is been tried and tested even before the Germans invaded Poland. There are other subutex, espanol and besponol now out with hardly any long term testing. It’s hit and miss and no fentonyl is now in the scene the blockers have no chance in preventing or blocking this new high potent drug. I feel it’s time to embrace the opiate and put the dealers out of business. Done in a safe clean environment the criminal element can be eliminated the drug controlled and due to its purity there will be no side effects as it’s the agents it’s cut with cause the real problems. Look to Switzerland and the 40% decrease in drug crime over night. Why spend government money on chasing the dealers when money can be saved or made keep patients safe and clean put them into work, educate the young impressionable leave it to the individual to come of opiates but best of all put them criminals out of business. It’s our choice let us make it but feel safe in doing so by removing the danger from it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/11/2021
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Methadone keeps me away from all other opiates and after 10 years of opiate addiction from norcos to fentanyl, I have found a way to live a normal life with 80 mg methadone daily. This is a very strong drug and must be respected, comes with side effects (itchiness, constipation, difficult to urinate) but these are things that I can live with. I am no longer putting my family second and wasting all of my money on drugs. I’ve tried subs, programs, religious rehabs, cold turkey, substitutions and Methadone is the only one that worked for the long haul.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wakaflockadaaam | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
9/13/2021
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was used to relieve pain from an injury, worked great, but it made me sick (marid) and nauseous—constipated and extra white skin. Also, the mind became of lesser function. Never abuse this medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kh | 35-44 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/29/2020
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on methadone for 9 years because of a Vicodin addiction do to my psoriatic arthritis I recently detox myself off of it I spent six days in bed but it was the best thing I ever did methadone helped me but I ended up using it as a crutch even though I have pain still the best thing I ever did was stop taking it. It gets into your bones. I was on 100mg for years and when i left and when went back I was on 53mg for the remaining 3 years Ann's noticed no difference. I could have been on a lower dose the entire time. It helped, however I wish I hadn't allowed myself to stay on it so long. I recommend if you need it please only makes it a temporary thing. It helped me out of my funk but it's not necessary for several years of long term use. Just be strong and realize you don't need a permanent crutch. It'll just hold you back in the long run. It did to me. And I'm happier off of methadone now than I was the past 9 years. I got through my stuff I may not have without it but I learned to deal without it and there ARE other options now that aren't so addictive. I was addicted to methadone just like the vicodin. I made a choice and am happier for it today. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/29/2020
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has saved my life more than once. I love been sober (with methadone) for over 5 years. My addiction started with OxyContin in the late 90â??s and quickly switched to heroin. Methadone gave me a chance to live a â??normalâ? life. I recommend this drug to anyone who has had multiple relapses. Itâ??s not recommended as a first option to treating opioid addiction.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/28/2020
Condition: Narcotic Addiction
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been dosing for over two months now. Best decision I've ever made. I haven't had any craving for heroin at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/23/2019
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Began treatment after all other pain medications ceased to work. This med is so long acting, I don't experience any "highs" or "lows". Benefits my chronic pain due to joint damage and surgical trauma. Highly recommend this medicine

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/1/2019
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Methadone is a Godsend!! I have tried and got addicted to opioids. They did not work after a while. Took more and more and the pain was still there. I take 20 mg 2 x a day for chronic back pain and I now have my life back. My quality of life has come back and I can do things that I have not been able to do in years. I have been taken methadone for about 5 years now. I am a U.S.citizenliving in Mexico so medication is easier to get and cheaper, even with my insurance co-pay. About $150 usd for a 2 - 3 month supply. Doctor prescription IS required in Mexico for methadone.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
William | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/21/2018
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had a lumbar spine injury that has damaged my spinal nerves and affected my spinal cord. There area lot of highly overpriced newer time released meds that just don't work,but methadone is by far the most effective longest Lasting(in it's plain Form)and cheapest of all narcotic analgesics.If you have a severe chronic pain don't even waste your time with the newer overpriced crap their putting on the market and pushing doctors to prescribe.methadone is an old drug(been around since the 1950s)and is still the best, I know because I've tried everything else. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/16/2018
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking 70 mg of methadone for 2 months now and it is a miracle medication to be able to completely release me from my herion addiction and makes all the cravings completely disappear I have not even thought of herion not once since the first dose I was administered and am living a normal happy fully functioning life that I had thought would never be possible for me and it is covered by Medicaid and private insurance. It saved my life

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
moochykatt | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/16/2017
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Fibromyalgia, and after going to several doctors, (whom thought I was just seeking out drugs). I found a wonderful doctor who's wife also had FM, so he treated me, I started on Hydrocodone, but they was not working very well after about 5 yrs, so my doctor suggested Methadone and wow what a difference! I've been on it now for about 8 years and it's still working great, I even lowered my dose alittle and am still doing great! of course I have my bad days due to weather, stress, etc, but that will happen! With people seeking drugs, it's difficult for people like us that need it, to get a script!So if a dr. doesn't believe you, keep trying, we chronic pain sufferers deserve to get some relief and lead a productive life!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ned | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/31/2017
Condition: Symptoms from Stopping Treatment with Opioid Drugs
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking pain meds for 40 years due to a industrial accident in 1978. I didn't start the methadone until 25 years ago, they started me on 40mg a day worked very good. After a auto accident, A different Doctor moved me up to 120mg because of a neck injury for around 6 years then decided to start taking me down to 40 mg a day. I was getting by with that and a breakthrough med, but wasn't able to get out and enjoy the things I did when on the higher dose. The middle of this month "Aug" he tells me he's not going to give me anymore methadone or breakthrough meds because of a new law that was passed a few months back. Now I am having restless legs, pain has came back, no sleep for 4 nights, so I'm in a heck of a mess now. Tried to get in a pain management, they said he should have referred me. Don't know what to do next. It gets worse every day. If you have a doctor, that will offer it, and you and need it, it works very well.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Timothy57 | 25-34 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/7/2017
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't understand why other physicians say that it is not the best salutation to treating chronic pain? I can take it one or two times a day and I'm well enough to function daily basis things with out being sleepy or druggie! I feel normal and able to get things done! I mean you got these methadone CLINICS! Why can't I people like me get it without going to a clinic and paying 600 a month? I've been in pain management for 17 years! All I've been is jerked around to the point of insanity! I NEED HELP? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sunnygrl2015 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/19/2017
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had much pain relief from using methadone. I just do not like going to a Methadone Clinic on a daily basis to get my daily dose. I can't get take homes because I am a pot smoker, which also helps with the pain as well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
awakeandaware | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/7/2017
Condition: Prevention of Opiate Drug Abuse
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ASCEND LABS ASC 116 (generic) methadone 10mg are awful! been on methadone 10 plus years and now forced to take generic ascend labs never felt so bad! why is ascend labs allowed to produce such a crappy form of methadone with LOADS of side effects!!!! NO good! been so successful in treatment until NOW... please take these off the market they will help with opiate abuse prevention ..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ThomasP | 35-44 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/19/2016
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Methadone saved my life, I had been living with chronic back pain from age 17 to 36 and was self medicating with alcohol which caused more problems than it helped and even tried suicide unsuccessfully. My dr. finally came to understand what I was going through and apologized for not treating my pain correctly for many years and started prescribing me (2)10mg pills 3 times a day. I went from being unemployed for 15 years with no life or future to being a normal happy employed regular joe with hopes and dreams.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SCGiants | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/29/2016
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have chronic back pain from numerous causes. I have been going to pain mgmnt for a decade now and started off w/ NSAIDS an worked up from there... hydrocodone, oxy... time released morphine pills, then Fentanyl patches (which almost killed me when a 3 day patch was released into me within an hour as my work was over 100 degrees and I was pouring sweat (heat released... as I later learned!). I didn't like living like a zombie tho. Dr. gave me Methadone to try and it was like a miracle drug at first. Took away all the pain except break thru pain and after a week I was used to it and felt no high or anything like that. Dr originally said it was safe even at high amounts. I was up to 120 mg/day (12 -10mg pills/day) 7 years later I HATE it as I believe it is killing me. I have lost all drive 100%, I get shaky from doing nothing at all, ambition is all gone and I was highly ambitious and a hard worker... I cannot work anymore (I am 44 yrs old), constantly fatigued, exhausted, pain is now all back and I am being weaned to half the dose to get to 60mg a day as they learned that anything over that greatly increases the chance for serious heart problems! My life is hell. My free testosterone level dropped to 40... should be 400... (read up on low testosterone levels). They gave me adderall to counter the constant exhaustion, which screwed w/ sleep and now I take ambien to sleep! It is a one way ticket to hell this stuff and I wish I never started it. It is the WORST possible drug to get addicted to as it is the worst to come off of and it has taken me over a year just to drop 40mg/day and every day is pure hell to live. DO NOT start this drug! I cannot stress enough how bad it is in the long run. I also believe it has screwed with my pineal gland and caused me to get Fibromyalgia which I never had any of the symptoms before. I honestly feel as if I am dying inside. I don't even have the energy to file for Disability and even showering daily seems like a huge undertaking. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More