Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

59 People found this comment helpful

FINALLY found a REAL Pain Mngmnt. Dr that's willing to treat my chronic pain w/this med. The only prblm.I have NOW-there's a 'generic version' of this & it's giving me terrible headaches, which I never had when I was getting the 'real' oxy's. I know that there's 'not' supposed to be a diff. between Brand & Generic but w/this 'new generic form'-I'm getting those awfull headaches. Just wanted to sha...

Most voted negative review

14 People found this comment helpful

THIS IS A VERY POOR MEDICATION

Shared reviews and ratings

Bully | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/19/2020
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking oxycontin at various different strengths for over 15 years. I have not had any problems with my kidneys or liver, however, if I had taken other drugs I am sure I would have issues with either my kidney or liver function. It is a great drug if you take it carefully and correctly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
R.E.H. | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/6/2020
Condition: Chronic Pain with Narcotic Drug Tolerance
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication helps to maintain a level of pain control without the peaks and valleys you experience with IR medications. How ever there is a need for an IR medication also.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Margie | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/8/2020
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a young 49 who has been suffering with Degenerative Disc Disease, Spinal Stenosis, ...... ok this goes on for a bit. I inherited it from Ma

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Margie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/8/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ive been on this pain Med with one other for 6 years. I used to take hydrochodone 10 MG 6 times a day for head aches. Well I had to get a new Dr. and he refuses to give me the OxyContin and all I’ve done is sit for 2 mos gaining weight and my quality of life sucks. I hate the people that have abused this Med and ruined it for A patient of a disease that NEEDS it to actually takes it on time and has a life..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Donna b. | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/29/2019
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For almost 20 yrs. on oxy.. 6 pills a day .. Ostia. Disk degeneration from many accidents . Severe pain left foot ,ankle ,leg an hip joint ..neck a shoulder severe pain from 3 whiplash accidents .. I have never abused the oxy ..after almost 20 yrs. of use I canâ??t take a whole pill at once ..I take 1/2 a pill every .. hour. That way I can tolerate the pain I still have , an live a normal life..donâ??t know what Iâ??d do without them.. an in all those years I have tried every other pain pill out there .. so if you respect the oxy .you can live a some what pain free life..Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lois young | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/29/2019
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i was on this med in florida came to iowa and they won't prescribe them to me so i suffer every day in severe pain can barely walk no quality of life

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gordon | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/20/2019
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I couldn't get relief from other medications and oxycotin worked perfectly. When the pain was gone, I stopped using it and rid of the remaining pills. I'm aware of oxycotin being addictive, but it's not automatically addictive, if you use it correctly and responsively. You don't necessarily get high from it, unless you abuse it, like other drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
humphreydean90 | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/17/2019
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I fell and factored my neck and severely damaged my spinal cord. this medicine is the only thing that makes my life bearable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dying in Paint4 | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/13/2019
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??m only rating this medicine as my to expectations. Iâ??m still battling VIVA Insurance to get the damn medicine. It will be a week tomorrow as to when this was prescribed. Iâ??ve been taken Percocet 10â??s for at least 10 years. Iâ??ve been prescribed 5 per day and really believe these have been more phycological beneficial for the most part. Lately they havenâ??t been at all adequate. Ive known Iâ??ve needed long term meds and quite frankly everything I try has been ineffective. Iâ??m just praying this OxyContin will be effective. Iâ??m getting to where I canâ??t move. I just as soon not live if this is all there is. Maybe my insurance company will get off their ass and give me try at normal life. God only knows that anyone in a decent Pain Managment Program canâ??t be in a better supervised environment. Iâ??m just sick of being in so much pain. After 50 from knees, ankles, surgeries all over my spine, a knee replacement, 3 different spacers installed in my spine to keep bone off nerves in 3 places, Pins in my ankles, Iâ??m wondering exactly WTF is the necessary criteria needed to the damn medication? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Born2befdny | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/5/2019
Condition: Severe Pain with Opioid Tolerance
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Ovwr the years ive had 3 major back surgies and the first complicated by mrsa in my spine which led to 4 additional surgeries to clean the infection out.. i am lucky to be alive to say the least.. i have been on oxycontin 30mg 2x daily and 10/325 percocet for almost 5 years now. I believe my body is tolerant to the meds and i need to be bumped up .. thing is my pm doctor refuses to go higher and i need help asap i just had a 3rd multi level fusion l3-s1 on jan 22nd .. can i double dose the 30mgs at once or stagger them 4 hrs apart to get better relief im just looking for help with this pain as its no way to live...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jill | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/24/2019
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked great for me it took my pain completely away and I could go on with my day. My insurance said they weren't going to pay for it Amy more so they said to try xtampza. My pain never goes away. My anxiety is off the charts. I just got it under control my hair is falling out I lost a inch in front. I can't eat my legs are shaking all the time my hands shake I feel Luke I'm going to explode. Oxycontin never made me feel like that. Just cuz my insurance doesn't want to pay for it I have to go through all this I wish I could sue the insurance company! Well thats my story I wouldn't recommend that drug to anyone I want what works oxyontin I've been on it for 18 years and had a life now I don't have oneRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Debwatson1 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/31/2018
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

With the “Crisis” I doubt anything ANY Chronic Pain Patient’s have to say will matter that much. But, because the Pharmaceutical Companies and the FDA’s lack of proper warning about the high potential for permanent chronic nerve, tendon, muscular, neurological, etc, damages, I have now, as of 2012, been victimized by their lack of due diligence to protect me, you, even our pets from ALL FQ Antibiotics, All Fluoroquinolone Antibiotics. They are only now finally requiring there to be further black box warnings of the potential permanent damages, and only now recommending they be reserved for ONLY the most life threatening illnesses, not reoccurring UTI’s, Sinus Infections, & other much less severe illnesses. To date, MANY Drs STILL believe the potential for damages is rare. When in fact, the Research is proving otherwise. Unfortunately, too late for many of us. And to literally add insult to the Injuries Big Pharma, & our FDA have allowed to happen to me/us, NOW they are trying to take away some of the FEW meds that actually gives us some pain relief & QUALITY of LIFE! No one is arguing that the Meds are being abused by some. BUT, research is PROVING that MOST Chronic Pain Patients ARE taking our Meds responsibly, being carefully managed by our Drs, & following strict protocol. YET, despite being responsible patients, who research shows benefit from this and the similar meds, OUR Government is working to take away these Quality of Life Giving Meds rapidly, whipping up a media frenzy about the “Crisis”. When the majority of the overdose cases are of people who obtain meds illegally. And, it is suspected the other money making reason for removing these Beneficial Meds, is really so the Pharma Co’s can force us to use the NEW, improved version of Pain Med they have to offer us, less addictive they say. Conveniently leaving out the fact that these Meds are FAR more expensive! My review is a warning that IF U take away these LIFE GIVING Meds, the SUICIDE RATE WILL increaseRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MIKEFISH | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/2/2018
Condition: Neuropathic Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I HAVE HAD 3 BACK SURGERIES, AND A RECENT NECK SURGERY "GONE BAD". I OPTED FOR A PAIN PUMP AND IT HELPED SOME, BUT I STAYED ON 3/80MG A DAY, AND WAS ABLE TO GO BACK TO WORK FOR 16 YEARS. 2 YEARS AGO I STARTED GETTING NECK AND ARM PAIN, MY NEOURO SURGEN TOOK AN MRI AND SAID THE RESULTS WERE VERY BAD. I WOULD NEED SURGERY, AND MAY NOT BE ABLE TO RETURN TO WORK. HAD NECK SURGERY, AND MY DR. SAID MAYBE 2 DAYS IN HOSPITOL.I HAD THE SURGERY AND THE NEXT MORNING COULDNT FEEL MY LEGS OR ARMS. HE TOOK ME BACK TO SURGERY FOR A CLOT IN MY NECK. THAT 2 DAY HOSPITOL STAY TURNED INTO 1 1/2 MOS. IN THE HOSPITOL. HAD TO LEARN TO WALK AGAIN AND HAVE NO USE OF RIGHT ARM. FROM THE NERVE DAMAGE BOTH OF MY ARMS HURT SO BAD THEY FEEL LIKE THERE GOING TO EXPLODE, OTHER TIMES THEY FEEL LIKE THERE ON FIRE. MY ARMS ALSO FEEL LIKE THEY WIEGH 200 POUNDS EACH .NOW THEYRE SAYING I HAVE TO COME OFF THE MEDICINE?(OXYCONTIN).THE OXYCONTIN IS THE ONLY REASON I HAVE HAD SOME TYPE OF LIFE! I TAKE IT IN THE MORNING ALONG WITH 800 MG. OF IBUPROHEN, AND 600MG. OF NEOURONTIN JUST TO GET OUT OF BED! ALSO, I HAVE NEVER ABUSED, LOST, OR MY DOG ATE IT, MY MEDICATION! I HAVE NEVER FAILED A DRUG SCREEN IN 15 YEARS! GOING TO SEE PAIN MGT. DOCTOR IN 2 WEEKS???Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Q62P | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/16/2018
Condition: Severe Pain with Opioid Tolerance
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has been the only treatment I have received that allows me some pain relief. I have no trouble taking it 2 times a day and it last longer. Compared to taking an immediate relief pain medication I would feel better for short periods of time and suffer until the next dose. I do have an immediate release medication I take for break through pain. My pain is better controlled on this medication. Before being prescribed oxycotin I felt hopeless and would dread getting up and going to the bathroom. Those days are rare now. I hope the opioid epidemic doesn't cause me to be denied the treatment, oxycotin, that provides me with a better quality of life.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
OneSizeDoesNotFitAll | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/13/2018
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on many medications for my osteoarthritis and fibromyalgia but since this crisis I have been weaning off of them and now I have no quality of life, my legs feel like someone is walking on them with boots. I get my injections that last about a week, knees last about 5 months. But I am 60 years old and yes I know I am dependent but I would rather be dependent on these than sitting in my chair or bed all day, wanting to do something but just don't have the energy to deal with the pain as it comes from doing some chores, or even gardening. This medication last longer than the Oxycodone's but no they take me off of these. Now, I know there is a crisis, but it's the illegal fentanyl that is coming into our country that is killing people. The doctors have stopped prescribing these meds to everyone, so why do the people with chronic pain have to be taken off of them when we do everything that our doctors ask of us. This is not a One Size Fits All solution, we are all different. I don't take them for a tooth ache or a pulled muscle. I can't turn my neck because my C2,C3,C4 are so bad. I have stabbing pains, pins and needles, have had a nerve burned but it's back again and arthritis in my knees. I don't like what they are doing to us, but at 60 years old, I feel like I don't have any more good years left. People were dying of heroin in the 60's and it didn't get this far. Something has to be done, because we all can't go off these meds, there will be more suicides than ever, people will want to die instead of dealing with every minute pain. I hope these people know what they have done to the real pain patients. Go and get the illegal fentanyl off the streets, leave us pain patients who are responsible alone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vanman | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/19/2018
Condition: Severe Pain with Opioid Tolerance
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this worked ok,but the oxycodone woked a lot better and I used for 12 years with no problems.my doctor I went to for about 5 years closed and moved to florida.the Percocet made me able to live close to normal as I will probally ever get.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cat | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/4/2018
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Lortabs for about 10 years for Fribrimyagalgiabut it wasnâ??t working well after that length of time. Switched to Oxycontin last year and it isnâ??t working as well now either. I was prescribed 4 a day as needed. Now if I am late on them my arms and legs start aching and wonâ??t stop until I take the next dose at the right time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
OxyContin 20mg ER | 45-54 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/3/2018
Condition: Severe Pain with Opioid Tolerance
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I noticed when (OxyContin 20 mg ER)pill color change abt 3or 4 months from white to pink, I swear my relief went from abt 70% to maybe 20%. Itâ??s Unbearable, struggling just to make it through the day. At night, Iâ??m exhausted from fighting pain all day. Doc said he could up dose, I want white pill back. Pharmacist says itâ??s still oxy. NO ITS, NOT. Last 3 months, Iâ??ve had 2 decent days out of bed. I have to hang on till something is fixed but this medicine is not doing anyone justice( in my case) I suffer needlessly, insurance is paying for substandard product. Where is FDA? Please advice me on where to turn. But review this medicine, WHY DID IT CHANGE??Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
clinque | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/15/2018
Condition: Severe Pain with Opioid Tolerance
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rich1806 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/3/2018
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

6, 5mg percoset a day, sometimes its ok, other times its not enough

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More