Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

61 People found this comment helpful

My 6 yr. old son has ADHD & is taking Concerta. He was having trouble settling down for bedtime & not sleeping well. His pedictrician told us to try melatonin, starting with 3mg. He has been taking 6mg about 30 mins. before his bedtime & he is asleep with in 45 mins. It has really helped him rest & he is in a better mood when he gets up.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

After using melatonin, I experienced severe constipation.

Shared reviews and ratings

kbrubaker | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/2/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would wake with severe migraine headaches in the night. I had never had headache before until I started taking the 3mg Melatonin tablets I bought at the pharmacy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mona | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/17/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking 6mg of melatonin supplements about 2 months ago. I have found my sleep to be much deeper but have also experienced strange dreams but not bad enought to stop using the product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/7/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this to come off prescribed sleep meds such as seroquel, trazadone, and ambien. At first the Melatonin worked. But within a week it was less effective, if I were to wake up in the middle of the night, I wouldn't be able to fall back asleep, and now it takes over 2 hours to put me to sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Neogong | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/26/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Upon taking one tablet, I find myself beginning to naturally get sleepy within 10 to 20 minutes. Where as before, I almost never slept steadily through the night, I now find myself waking up from a full nights rest, more refreshed then usual.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JMA | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/17/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was having trouble sleeping after a schedule change (sleeping days for 10 years to sleeping nights). I started taking a 1mg melatonin pill a half hour before bed and it has worked wonders! I get drowsy and sleep all night. The only side effect I've noticed is I get occassional night sweats, which I never really experienced before I started taking these pills.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/8/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking Melatonin for 4 months. Helps tremendously. I hurt my neck and back and started having sleeping problems from the pain. I take 1/2 of a 3 mg pill. I fall asleep usually within an hour and can sleep anywhere from 7-9 hours. Only side effect I noticed for me is twice now I've had really bad night sweats. And I remember every single dream I have every night. But they are not bad dreams. It's kind of fun to remember them so vividly.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
suresuretaylor | 7-12 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/7/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It helps me go to sleep and stay asleep. I don't have a diagnosed disorder but I would wake up at about 3am and stay awake for the rest of the day. And then repeat the expierence night after night. Pardon my language, but it sucked. Melatonin definetly helped though!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
4/1/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

started taking because of anxiety and difficulty falling sleep, worked marvelous the first few nights then it seems like i need to take another in the middle of the night and i believe its making me irritable more than usual.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/8/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had trouble sleeping my whole life. I have taken all RX's medication and many OTC meds as well. This was my last hope per say. This is the only medication that works! $4 for a 2 month supply is a bargan!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shannonmamabear | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
1/25/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My six year old has behavioral issues and would not sleep. Her psyciatrist recommended 3mg melatonin a 1/2 hour before bedtime. He recommended the NOW brand which is sold at our local whole foods co0op. It's under $4 for 60. I buy the powdered capsuls and slip it into her food. Any hot food, soup, or on cinnamon sugar toast. I don't do drinks because she can taste it. Anyways it has been a God send. I finally know what quiet adult time is at night. I read to her a bit and soon she is asleep. Melatonin as mentioned does not keep her asleep all night (which isn't a problem for us). There is no drowsiness in the morning, in fact she is much less cranky and refreshed. I can't say how thankful for this product I am! By the way the NOW brand does not have the additives others do, which is why Dr recommended. Hope this help someone else!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ar93cobra | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
1/22/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had problems falling to sleep for years. I have taken RX - Ambien and Lunesta off and on for 3-4 years. While these brands work great for falling asleep, they are habit forming. In between prescription meds, I started taking Melatonin. It's not Ambien (Knocks me out in 10 min) but it does put me in a relaxing state and helps me fall asleep. I have absolutely no side effects in the morning. Due to its mild and subtle nature, I have decided to use it full time instead of just in between RX. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/15/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had trouble staying asleep for about 25 years. I have been taking Melatonin for almost ten years. I switched a couple years ago to the time release version because I was waking up after 5-6 hours. This is a God send for those that can't stay asleep and can't handle the Ambien hangover. I've been sleeping great since I started, but I know that stress, tension and anxiety people still have some issues.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
justme | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/15/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I find this medication helps me to fall asleep relatively quickly but lasts no more than 3 hrs or so. I find myself taking an additional 3mg half way through the night in order to sleep a full 8 hrs. No side effects or excess daytime drowsiness experienced...not as effective as RX but good enough for me!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ccGopher | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/11/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Helps age related sleep difficulties and does not have too bad a hangover result -I cut a 5mg tablet in half for a 2-1/2mg although I think 3 mg is what supplement recommends.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jo-Jo | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/4/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mother suffers from insomnia and has a sleep perception problem, that is she does not remember if she has slept or not. I have been her caregiver for the last six months after her aortic heart valve being replaced and mirial valve being repaired in addition to having her pacer-defribrillator device upgrades. We have tried everything to help her sleep at night including ambien which caused her breathing to be very shallow and she was out of it for about 10 hours, not being able to remember the date and so on. We also tried Benedryl which had the same sort of effect and then trazadone which did nothing and lorazapam which relaxes her but rarely helps her sleep. A family member suggested Melatonin so we are trying this and I am much encouraged by the other posts. I am concerned about these additives in some of these diet supplements. Could someone recommend a brand to use that is very safe like Natures Bounty we hope? She is so resistant to these types of things. Is Melatonin available in a chewable form or liquid as she takes alot of medication and we are trying to eliminate the number of pills she has to swallow. She has just started taking this tonight and I actually do not know how she will do but will post an update in the next few days.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
claire | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
1/3/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have a son with autisum and adhd he has been on this drug for over 2 n half yrs now and i find it only works at the begining of the night i have no problem getting him to sleep but i find it doesnt keep him there i am sometimes up at 2 -3 am for the day other time he has me up every hour for 10 to 20 mins then goes back to sleep. most day he is up for the day no later than 5.30am..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/16/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It is a natural sleep with no side effects for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/16/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I didn't get a full nights' rest, no problem, but since, I have had awful itching all over!! It's miserable. Nothing else in my diet has changed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/8/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from anxiety and insomnia, but did not want to go on a perscription sleep aid quite yet. Melatonin does not make me fall asleep fast, but I do not wake up as often. I also find that when I forget to take it and I do fall asleep, I have dreams that are less pleasant.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jak/440 | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/26/2008
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More