Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

11 People found this comment helpful

I take for osteoarthritis. This is better than NSAIDs alone as it can cause drowsiness which is a relief when you cannot sleep due to pain and discomfort. It is very safe, probably the oldest drug in use, when following the recommended dose. Can cause constipation which can be easily relieved by OTC meds. Of course this carries a risk of dependence which is different than addiction and most people...

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

severe arthritis throughout my body. Knees and hips replaced. Right rotator cuff shredded. Left rotator cuff badly torn. Had a bleeding ulcer from NSAIDs. Take four generic Darvocet per day. Takes the edge off. Am considering a patch, but don't know much about the patch so am skeptical. Fear addiction, but don't know what else to do.

Shared reviews and ratings

giugiu | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/15/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Its a good pain reliever,gives me the shakes

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kat | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/5/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a lot of pain from having a tooth extracted. I tried 600mg of Ibuprophen for 2 days, but I wasn't getting much relief or able to sleep at all. I switched to Acetominophen-Codeine (300mg-30mg)and it worked almost instantly! My only complaint is that it only lasted about 2 hours while my recommended dosage was every 3-4 hours.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/25/2010
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am satisfied

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alivia | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/30/2009
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with interstitial cystitus a couple years ago. A very painful disease, at times. Anyway, my doctor prescribed tylenol with codein, and it's been kinda helpful, not great, but better then nothing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alivia | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/8/2009
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with interstitial cystitus a couple years ago. A very painful disease, at times. Anyway, my doctor prescribed tylenol with codein, and it's been kinda helpful, not great, but better then nothing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Denise | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/16/2009
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

! have had fibromyalgia for years now and have been through many medications. however, tylenol#3 isn't controlling the pain well enough for me.the injections of cortisone and lidocaine work well but last only about a month or so. the best are tramadol/apap and vicodin 10/660. the vicoden can make you feel even more tired sometimes though. antidepressants help you deal with frustration of the pain and not being able to do what you were used to, especially if you are very active. the tylenol#3 will help for milder pain. you should eat something when you take it as it can cause nausea. drink plenty of water and eat fiber...for the constipation.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kt | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/30/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It's the only drug that will control my unpredictable, explosive bowel movement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tam | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/27/2009
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

used for dental pain and it worked somewhat for the pain. it did upset my stomach a little bit.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/19/2009
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
12/8/2008
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rick | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/1/2008
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had surgery on my left shoulder which included arthroscpic as well as scraping the bursa. This medication helped to deal with the extremely painful recovery which is still ongoing after 6 month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
5/20/2008
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

works well for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/2/2008
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The dr. prescribed two tab of 100-650, but I had a sleep-walking reaction and dullness, so psychrist had me drop one tab, and I use it at night for a good sleep. I wake up okay.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FightingOA | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/3/2008
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take for osteoarthritis. This is better than NSAIDs alone as it can cause drowsiness which is a relief when you cannot sleep due to pain and discomfort. It is very safe, probably the oldest drug in use, when following the recommended dose. Can cause constipation which can be easily relieved by OTC meds. Of course this carries a risk of dependence which is different than addiction and most people are unlikely to try and "score" more when the script runs out. Most of us suffering chronic pain need these stronger meds for relief, these meds have gotten a bad name due to narcotic drug addicts. If you are a physician you need to understand the differences between addiction and dependence. And the fact that the average person in need is not going to go to the streets for more. I take this and other similar meds fairly regularly and I am able to step the dose down when I am feeling better without going through withdrawel symptoms.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gonesoon3 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/23/2007
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It makes me sleepy for about two house after I take it; the dosage I have been on is no longer controlling the pain as it did in the beginning. I must drink a lot of water and be as active as possible in order to control constipation. I usually try to take it about 30 minutes before I know I am going to have to cook, shop, clean house because of pain in my wrists, fingers, back and knees. It doesn't eliminate the pain but it does make it so I can cope. However, if there were something more effective, I would use that. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KYDAYLATE | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/28/2007
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

PAIN IN JOINTS

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Iris | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/12/2007
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Tylenol w/Codeine was given to me for Sciatic pain, but did not help, did not even take the edge off. I was still stiff and couldn't move much. Muscle relaxers helped best with Naproxen.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jean B | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/20/2007
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

severe arthritis throughout my body. Knees and hips replaced. Right rotator cuff shredded. Left rotator cuff badly torn. Had a bleeding ulcer from NSAIDs. Take four generic Darvocet per day. Takes the edge off. Am considering a patch, but don't know much about the patch so am skeptical. Fear addiction, but don't know what else to do.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More