Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

33 People found this comment helpful

I don't like the way the injection sites become, sore, red or bruised looking. They also become "dent" looking spots after awhile, they don't go away completely. However, I love the results of the treatment.

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

I am SO not satisfied with this powerful drug that "they" tell me I need to take. How do we know what we are exactly putting in our bodies? To me its all a scam for TEVA to make money off scaring us into thinking we need it. I have been doing accupunture for 10 years and have had wonderful success-along with all the POSITIVE side effects. We'll have a class action suit before you know it!I have ha...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/27/2021
Condition: Relapsing Form of Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Newly diagnosed in 2012 and started a few months later on Copaxone shots. I hated it. It was difficult to find new regions on my body to inject each day as i was not "fat" enough in many areas. The shots hurt and the area remained swollen, itchy and red for a while. I kept at it for 2 years and then quit and went on a gluten-free, whole foods, anti-inflammatory diet. I haven't had any new symptoms or flare ups since i was diagnosed 10 yrs ago. I am much healthier with my new diet than i was taking the shots. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | Patient
1/31/2019
Condition: Relapsing Form of Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This WAS my M.S medicine. However after using this for a few years, and dealing with the small side effects.( itching, redness, chest pain) which i was told was normal. I went into FULL anaphylactic shock.. I almost lost my life. My advice, would be dont think those chest pains and reactions are normal. They are not..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
privera021 | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/11/2018
Condition: Relapsing Form of Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've only been taking it for a week but I assume i'll feel the effects soon I hope. Slurring my words at work make me look drunk and my bosses are questioning me...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Avengr13 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/17/2017
Condition: Relapsing Form of Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had m.s. for 30 years and was on Avonex since it came available . I used several others but I kept coming back to Avonex. That medication was not controlling my worsening symptoms so my Doctor went back to the basics. Copaxone has worked well for me in treating the symptoms. I do get a lump at the site which last several days but does not hurt. Itching on my arms is common. For me it is hard to reach my back to rotate to that site. Overall it keeps my ms from worsening. I am satisfied with this medication except for giving myself a shot 3 times per week.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Murryx | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/29/2016
Condition: Relapsing Form of Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I really like the Copaxone 20mg injections. I stopped the medication for a pregnancy last year and the doctor recommended I go to the 40mg dose upon starting back. I have terrible site reactions with the 40 including bruising, lumps, stinging, etc. I will be returning to the Copaxone 20mg (looked into generic and not impressed with the reviews). Fortunately, Shared Solutions will be helping with my copay, bringing it down to $35/month. Not bad for a drug that costs $60k/year.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lori529 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/26/2016
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis Symptoms Return then Become Less Severe
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Itching and uncomfortable knot in area of injection for 2 days afterwards. Worsening depression.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ayeka | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/27/2015
Condition: Relapsing Form of Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Still new to MS (awaiting gauntlet of status check exams) and the Copaxone. Diagnosed August 2014, confirmed January 2015. Started Copaxone 3x week May 2015. Selected Copaxone because 1) MS injection meds on market longer than orals, 2) had the least interaction with my other medication, 3)was lesser of other medication that may exacerbate my other autoimmune diseases (ANAs). Thigh injections most painful despite icing the area before and afterward. All injection sites look & feel like large bug bites - large bruise, bump/ welt, and unbelievably itchy. Unknown what ANA or activity causing my various sore joints, fatigue, wooziness/ Vestibular Ocular disorder, hard to concentrate.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mkalbach | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/15/2015
Condition: Relapsing Form of Multiple Sclerosis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Original diagnosis was 1997. First treatment was Avonex for 14 years. New neurologist changed me to Copaxone. My symptoms have been very stable since 1997. I have tolerated both medications well. Currently using 40 mg Copaxone 3 times per week. I experience minor injection site trauma (bee sting like feeling).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michelle | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/29/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed in 1995 and put on Copaxone daily in 1998. This year got a new neuro and showed him my shot sites. Seems I have lipoatrophy. So he suggested I start on the 40 mg and give sites a rest. Same as 20mg, just harder to remember 3 days instead of everyday. I strongly suggest people think about taking the 40mg. Works well. Truly believe it has kept my MS at bay. Not a cure but more like an insurance policy. Shared Solutions came out and went over giving myself the shots. Even though I had done it for numerous years, I still found her coming and the info beneficial.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kimmer55 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/29/2015
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis Symptoms Return then Become Less Severe
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Copaxone shortly after being diagnosed last summer 2014. I do injections 3x week using Autoject. It's so easy to use and I have virtually no side effects other than the occasional redness at the injection site which is very temporary. My hands went numb last June and altho still numb, the severity has changed over time. I think Copaxone is definitely helping and I'm very grateful it's covered under my health insurance plan. I have no side effects with food or alcohol or other meds (which I do take) so that's a HUGE plus. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
H8MS | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/25/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on copaxone for last ten years and have had MS for 30 years. After first 20 years without treatment I was fine; probably 1 on EDSS scale. Currently I am about 8. Most of disability progression happened while taking Copaxone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lilliy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/26/2014
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis Symptoms Return then Become Less Severe
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I really cannot eval this drug because I just started it. However, my first shot was two days ago and I injected in my hip. OMG, I thought I was going to pass out with the pain! So then today, I would inject in my thigh, that was worse. I immediately received welts and bee-sting sensation at site. The welts did not appear on my first injection but this second one it did. My leg is still hurting. Was told by answering serv, to go to ER. However, reading some of the comments it looks as though this might be common reaction. Though if it is still stinging after an hour I will be going to ER. Can anyone give me any helpful hints to overcome this pain? It would be greatly appreciated.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
troytrio90 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/12/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm getting ready to take only my 2nd injection, but my first one.....I did have the burning & stinging, but a cold ice pack helped that! The next morning, I could not see any evidence of an injection. Also, I have had severe neck pain for about 3-ish weeks and the morning after my shot, GONE!!!! Was it the shot or just coincidence? Not sure, but I'm happy. I hoping and saying a prayer that I'll do okay on this drug. I was diagnosed back in 2007, I went on Avonex for 3 months but didn't feel good while on it. I quit taking it and my doctor & I agreed that we would just watch my MRIs. For 7 years there were no new lesions, and then a couple of months ago, new brain lesions plus my MS had traveled into my cervical, so, hence the meds.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kezia | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/6/2014
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis Symptoms Return then Become Less Severe
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Treatment works well for me. Taking medication for 5 years and experienced only one significant relapse in that time. Only issue injection sites and needle fatigue. Tried oral med, but could not tolerate side effects. Considering changing to 40 mg injection 3x week. Am wondering if injections are more painful. Copaxone site says the syringe contains the same volume of liquid. Same needle size? Increased problems with injection sites - any additional swelling, burning, itching? Any information appreciated.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bebep | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/15/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

You are not suppose to use the same spot. If you do have to use the same spot, you are to wait 42 days in between the same injection site.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MS Woman | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/10/2014
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis Symptoms Return then Become Less Severe
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had Avonex first, had to be taken off it due to vaginal hemorage. Used Copaxone a few years without problems. My nuro took me off Copaxone a year ago, without saying why, except, that I was doing well. No injections. I was diagnosed in the late 1990s for MS although presented symptoms starting in 1992. Main issue fatigue. I was wondering why Dr took me off copaxone. I did read FDA warning to drug manf dated 3/14/2012 and another article (not related) to do with copaxone changing immune system reception. I'M NOT AN EDUCATED MEDICAL PERSON. NOT TRYING TO ALARM PEOPLE. I did not like what I was reading about changing immune system reception, serious sounding stuff. Read up on what you use. I learned from personal experience (problems with side effects). I'm currently on med for combating fatigue : Provigil 2 200mg was great. Insurance stopped covering it. Tried 200mg for a long time not as good.(out of pocket 30 tablets $1139) Had side effects with generic modafinil. Just switched to Nuvil 30 250mg ($519)less expensive. Day 2 so far so good. Have cut tablets to 150mg so far rather than 250mg to try out. 150mg seems about the same as Provigil 200mg. Without it I would feel like laying down most of the time.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Willie | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/26/2014
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis Symptoms Return then Become Less Severe
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Really good so far

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mlsalotti | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/8/2014
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis Symptoms Return then Become Less Severe
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chloe | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/23/2014
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis Symptoms Return then Become Less Severe
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The only reason I would know it is working is when I have my annual MRIs otherwise it was my understanding that cop axone treats the disease but not the symptoms. My symptoms have increased in the last 2 yrs. I have been taking this drug. Don't quite understand some of the other comments about feeling better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FuMS | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/17/2014
Condition: Multiple Sclerosis Symptoms Return then Become Less Severe
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Self-injecting rather easy, but bee-sting like swelling and itching after injection, up to 2 hrs. Swelling itself can last up to 48 hrs. After a few weeks, developed mucous colitis. Severe back and hip pain. Flu-like symptoms.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More