Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

34 People found this comment helpful

I was told that i was chronically constipated by an internist an that i would always have to take a laxative to help this condition. But after being prescribed docusate sodium to avoid straining after a hysterectomy, I have found my long term answer. No diarrhea, cramping or negative side effects at all. It just works!

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

BABY IN A LOT OF PAIN WHEN POOPING. WAS TOLD TO GIVE ONCE A DAY TO CHILD AFTER MEAL.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/16/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed to avoid straining after operation. Works 2 to 3 days after dose, sometimes sooner. Not recommended for daily use but occasional use seems sufficient.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ron | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/7/2020
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

WARNING -- DO NOT BITE IN HALF - CAUSES VERY PAINFUL BURNING SENSATION IN THROAT - - COSTCO/KIRKLAND VERSION

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
10/11/2017
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MaxDaddee | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/26/2017
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This 250mg version by Rugby I found to be completely ineffective. What I find effective are the 100mg capsules I buy at Kroger. I even took two of Rugby's and they had no effect. Either a bad batch or a bogus product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DonMed | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/3/2016
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had frequent times of irregularity due to Cerebral Palsy over my life and after using laxatives and fiber, find this drug is usable on a daily basis because my stool needs to be very soft to go. Unlike laxatives, this med can be used daily as long as it is done RIGHT. Along with 4 pints of liquid and high fiber diet, I find relief Since Cerebral Palsy has some physiological side effects: lack of minute bowel and bladder muscularity, as normal people have without this condition.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/20/2015
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KatheeLynne | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/11/2015
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Why do I still have to take a lot of magnesium in addition to three, 100 mg. docusate? I drink plenty of fluids, etc. Eating fiber, walking more, too!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lauren | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/6/2014
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was told that i was chronically constipated by an internist an that i would always have to take a laxative to help this condition. But after being prescribed docusate sodium to avoid straining after a hysterectomy, I have found my long term answer. No diarrhea, cramping or negative side effects at all. It just works!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/22/2014
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

works great. have chronic constipation. can I take 200 ml or 100 ml daily every day??? sure would be nice to not strain and go many days without bm.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Drew | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/24/2014
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used a simple generic store brand. Started at 100mg but found 200mg more effective.Worked within 48hrs with no noticeable side effects. Everyone's different so monitor side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JohnnyPauly | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/6/2013
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has been very effective, but today I inadvertently bit down on it and it was terribly, terribly BITTER - now since "salt" and "bitter" are opposites just like "sweet" and "sour", why is a product with "sodium" in the name so "bitter"? Is it that the "salt" ("sodium") is added in order to counteract the horribly "bitter" taste?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
eddombrw | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/3/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not always effectve.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/27/2013
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
justakid | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/18/2013
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After loose stool for two weeks, with no cramping or pain,My MD said that I was constipated,and prescribed ducosate.After one week he doubled the dose and said I could take an over the counter laxative which caused diarrhea. I stopped that but now,after five weeks my symptoms are exactly what they were originally.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/12/2013
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

poor

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/16/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 88 years old and not very active. I take one capsule each night and it works fine for me. Otherwise I may end up with an impaction.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Phil | 65-74 | Patient
8/1/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have ongoing constipation because of narcotics usage (cancer pain). This works exactly as expected. Coupled with Senna-S (a pusher) it gives perfect relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2013
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kathy | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/12/2013
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have taken this for many years. It was fine until the past two years in which i have had INCREASING weight loss, fatigue, stroke and heart symptoms, and weakness to the point i could no longer go to church, grocery shopping or function even close to normal. Suddenly i went from one doctor to 5 and 2 prescription drugs to 6 and had every test of every organ - MRIs, Scans, Heart Cath, endoscope, etc., i decided to test my OTC drugs by stopping one at a time for a week at a time to see if it made a difference. Docusate Sodium was 2nd. Within 3 days i was a new person and by the weekend i was able to go to church, grocery shop using the electric cart sit at the computer for more than 15 minutes and read a book with understanding. With an exercise program, i am getting lost strength back. i also, no long have a constipation problem. The medicine worked well for me for many years. i just stayed on it too long.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rene | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/3/2013
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Black spots in the stool

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More