Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

35 People found this comment helpful

I was told that i was chronically constipated by an internist an that i would always have to take a laxative to help this condition. But after being prescribed docusate sodium to avoid straining after a hysterectomy, I have found my long term answer. No diarrhea, cramping or negative side effects at all. It just works!

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

BABY IN A LOT OF PAIN WHEN POOPING. WAS TOLD TO GIVE ONCE A DAY TO CHILD AFTER MEAL.

Shared reviews and ratings

JD | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/24/2022
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been having issues recently with being constipated and after researching which one I felt would be the best, I choose this one since it is supposed to be gentle and works as a stool softner rather than the one that causes stomach cramps. I took the 100mg tablet on a Wednesday night thinking that when I awoke the nest morning, I would have a gentle bowel movement. Thursday morning after taking this med I did have a very small bowel movement, which I felt was better than nothing. I then again had another small movement that evening. Then Friday came and I was feeling like I needed to go but nothing happened. Late that evening things changed quickly. I sit down and at first, I still felt as if I were constipated but suddenly the skies opened and just as it said, it did add water to the stools to the effect I had a total bowel blow of nothing but water and the other stuff. For about 5 minutes or so I completely emptied my bowels very quickly and lots of water. To say the stools were soft is an understatement and it all came all at once. So, if you take just one pill, based on my experience, within 48 hours expect a very waterery bowel movement to the point that you just couldn't believe that much nasty stuff came from your body. So, it did work as it stated, I did not get any stomach cramps or anything like that. I guess for 48 hours it was doing its work and then it finally came to a full-on colon blow. For anyone taking this meds I would suggest taking just one 100mg pill and waiting 48 hrs before you took another one. Had I taken another one Thursday night or Friday evening I think I would have been in a world of hurt. lol. But it did work without giving me any cramps. It just took longer than I expected which may mean I was just really backed up.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/19/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DulcoEase 100mg. I was naughty and went straight to taking them five times a day, on day one. I took two capsules on the first two doses. on the second day I took one five times a day. they cleared an obstruction over two days and I am taking them one three times a day until I return to normal. This is day five now and I am nearly normal. This is the most effective thing I have tried over the years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ki | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/16/2022
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bought this for my constipation, works pretty well especially when eaten with food. I take less than the recommended dosage of 3 softgells as it makes me extremely nauseous. Even though I only take one or two softgells, it still delivers decent results.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jenny | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/25/2022
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So, I have been given this medication, as well as two of my kids in the past for constipation and it didn’t work at all for any of us. I do not recommend this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anon | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/1/2022
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works for me as a booster for incomplete BM or straining. Effective on second day after one or two capsules and carries over to third day with soft and complete elimination.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/16/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed to avoid straining after operation. Works 2 to 3 days after dose, sometimes sooner. Not recommended for daily use but occasional use seems sufficient.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ron | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/7/2020
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

WARNING -- DO NOT BITE IN HALF - CAUSES VERY PAINFUL BURNING SENSATION IN THROAT - - COSTCO/KIRKLAND VERSION

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
10/11/2017
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MaxDaddee | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/26/2017
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This 250mg version by Rugby I found to be completely ineffective. What I find effective are the 100mg capsules I buy at Kroger. I even took two of Rugby's and they had no effect. Either a bad batch or a bogus product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DonMed | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/3/2016
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had frequent times of irregularity due to Cerebral Palsy over my life and after using laxatives and fiber, find this drug is usable on a daily basis because my stool needs to be very soft to go. Unlike laxatives, this med can be used daily as long as it is done RIGHT. Along with 4 pints of liquid and high fiber diet, I find relief Since Cerebral Palsy has some physiological side effects: lack of minute bowel and bladder muscularity, as normal people have without this condition.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/20/2015
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
KatheeLynne | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/11/2015
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Why do I still have to take a lot of magnesium in addition to three, 100 mg. docusate? I drink plenty of fluids, etc. Eating fiber, walking more, too!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lauren | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/6/2014
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was told that i was chronically constipated by an internist an that i would always have to take a laxative to help this condition. But after being prescribed docusate sodium to avoid straining after a hysterectomy, I have found my long term answer. No diarrhea, cramping or negative side effects at all. It just works!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/22/2014
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

works great. have chronic constipation. can I take 200 ml or 100 ml daily every day??? sure would be nice to not strain and go many days without bm.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Drew | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/24/2014
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used a simple generic store brand. Started at 100mg but found 200mg more effective.Worked within 48hrs with no noticeable side effects. Everyone's different so monitor side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JohnnyPauly | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/6/2013
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has been very effective, but today I inadvertently bit down on it and it was terribly, terribly BITTER - now since "salt" and "bitter" are opposites just like "sweet" and "sour", why is a product with "sodium" in the name so "bitter"? Is it that the "salt" ("sodium") is added in order to counteract the horribly "bitter" taste?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
eddombrw | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/3/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not always effectve.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/27/2013
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
justakid | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/18/2013
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After loose stool for two weeks, with no cramping or pain,My MD said that I was constipated,and prescribed ducosate.After one week he doubled the dose and said I could take an over the counter laxative which caused diarrhea. I stopped that but now,after five weeks my symptoms are exactly what they were originally.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/12/2013
Condition: Incomplete or Infrequent Bowel Movements
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

poor

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More