Show ratings & reviews for

2.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

7 People found this comment helpful

I don't know what all the hubalu is about it being a carcinogen. It is after all a major ingredient in Avon's Skin So Soft. I don't think they'd be promoting skin cancer.

Most voted negative review

10 People found this comment helpful

I am shocked that WebMD is still suggesting a known carcinogen like Mineral oil be used on BABIES! Let alone any human! Shame on you!

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/15/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor suggested that I use mineral oil instead of any of the bathroom wet wipes. I'm shocked to be reading other reviews concerning carcinogens. I never researched the product. I thought it was safe since my doctor recommended it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AAS | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/10/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

seems like WebMD is an advertising agent to Big Giants in unsafe petroleum-based byproducts. Grow up!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | Caregiver
4/11/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am shocked that WebMD is still suggesting a known carcinogen like Mineral oil be used on BABIES! Let alone any human! Shame on you!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
windbob | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/14/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't know what all the hubalu is about it being a carcinogen. It is after all a major ingredient in Avon's Skin So Soft. I don't think they'd be promoting skin cancer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mountaingirl | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/4/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using mineral oil for less than a month for dry skin. I have found mineral oil effective for helping to me with my dry skin problem. However, I discontinued using the product after I found out that mineral oil has been linked with skin cancer (I spend a considerable amount of time in the sun during the summer months). I read an article entitled "Cancer from Mineral Oil" on the National Institute of Health's website that made me reconsider using the product as a moisturizer. Also, the information on EWG indicates that there is a low risk of cancer only for products that can become aerosol (airborne).Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ranger | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/15/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pleasant smell, works well for dry skin. Contrary to at least one angry review here, it is not a "known carcinogen." Check out the Environmental Working Group's excellent Skin Deep database.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deblkl | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/8/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Mineral oil bases in prescription steroid ointments and cosmetics makes my skin swell and itch. I had an Rx for an eyelid problem and my eyelid swelled so much I could not see. My skin feels thick and scaly whenever I use dimethicone or lanolin as well. Looks like I can't use emollients, which dermatologists insist I should use.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DataManMatt | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/5/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am also shocked WebMD would encourage mineral oil anywhere near the body. Mineral oil is a petroleum product. It seals/dries skin and other tissue. It does not moisturize. Use natural fats on and in your body - e.g. coconut oil, almond oil, etc.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
web md | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/24/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have not used mineral oil at all, but want to find out if you can use it for ear irritation . I was told to put a drop or so in my ear.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More