Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

134 People found this comment helpful

After years of back pain and no relief from PT programs and a lot of other meds, I found a great pain doctor who got me relatively out of pain. I can now work and function most of the time pain free. Now the medical community is becoming fearful of DEA and other authorities who are interfering because of abusers. If these people are successful in removing these types of drugs I will be on disab...

Most voted negative review

14 People found this comment helpful

My Dr switched me from Methadone to Morphine and it is not as effective nor as long lasting as the Methadone was. The half life or Morphine is 4 hours and after 8 I start feeling withdrawal symptoms. I am taking extended release tablets. If not for the Oxycodone for breakthrough pain I wouldnt be able to handle just the Morphine. Of course I am taking it for pain but now I feel like pain is se...

Shared reviews and ratings

Mistershorts | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/4/2021
Condition: severe chronic pain requiring long-term opioid treatment
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lower back pain. 5 surgeries. 21 Years of meds. This ER 15mg Morphine is great. No roller-coaster rides if taken every 8 hours. It helps the pain. It will excite you but not like hydrocodone. Much calmer. I feel better. 8 years on it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bigt | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/18/2020
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nerve damage, peripheral neuropathy, multiple system failure. Morphine is just right not to strong and not weak. It takes just enough of my pain away to walk a bit and somewhat function. I took stronger opioids but did not like how I felt. If I go over my six hour schedule I don't feel to sick. So morphine for me works very well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
brownsfan | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/5/2019
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

when i wake up the pain is pretty bad. this med works but is very very slow. i take 3 30mg tabs per day starting in the morning. pain finally begins to ease up in late evening.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ron | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/20/2019
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I�m 62 years old now and my pain started at age 47 ! . Compared to all other medications I�ve used over the years kadian ER 12 hour capsule has given me the best relief and the time release of the capsule stopped the up and down rollacoster feeling others meds gave me, one day feeling good then the next day back in pain as the medicine wore off , I used a Morphine patch for a while.Most pain reliever meds work that way . Morphine is the most powerful pain relief medicine you will find and the most dangerous to ! if you have severe pain 24 hours a day every day like me you need a way to to treat your pain 24 hours a day and this is it ! I take the capsule every 12 hours 6 am and 6 pm , the time release way kadian works keeps the pain in check and I don�t feel HIGH when I take it then � low or in pain when it wears off � it works evenly a steady stream of medicine, just make sure to take it on time the same time every day and you will have a good chance to live your life and be able to do the things you can�t do now because the pain is unbearable! And if you use it as I mentioned it�s the best way and the safest way I know to use Morphine!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nessa214 | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/29/2018
Condition: Chronic Pain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It doesn't ease the pain like the smaller dark blue morphine I was taking. Had to use a different pharmacy as I had to go to my Dr in a different town. My pain is a 6 after taking the 270 morphine. Is a 3 with the midnight blue one. Thank God for the lortab I have for break through pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jimhaz77 | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/27/2018
Condition: Chronic Pain with Narcotic Drug Tolerance
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take one 100mg a day and it works fine without the side effects of some of the more stronger meds the Dr has had me on. This one don't cause bowel problems like the Opana and Fentanyl so far. Easy to take 1 a day and get through my work days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/20/2017
Condition: Severe Pain with Opioid Tolerance
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using this medication for a little over 5 years now and I can't lie at first I thought it was a gift from God himself the pain in my back and right leg were gone are gone only if I take my medicine it's my number one priority every day just so I can function and not be sick from the withdrawal which is inevitable and I've tried everything to be able to stop using and completely kick I don't have much luck considering I am still dependent on it but probably the best thing I've used was marijuana high grade Kush it takes the nausea and ache and anxiety away for a little bit still going to be uncomfortable but it makes it bearable and only lasts for 3 to 7 days but marijuana helps a lot for withdrawalRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
janicem968 | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/21/2017
Condition: Chronic Pain with Narcotic Drug Tolerance
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had 4 spinal fusions and a spinal cord stimulator implanted in my back and was told if i don't have another fusion I will not be able to walk soon. I used to be on 200mcg Duragesic patch (2-100 mcg each) and I was ok unless I did too much bending which wasn't alot. and when the government made the dr. reduce medicine, they don't want me above 37 mcg duragesic which is crazy so I am having to try out a lot of different meds which nothing is working. If they can't control my pain now, do they really think I'm going to have more surgery. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sulpher Morphine | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/29/2017
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe pain for 2 years due to Shingles; asked my doctor to use in tablets form. No pain reduction. I REPEAT: NO PAIN REDUCTION ... at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TwoTon | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/16/2017
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had chronic pain for over 8 years and was lucky enough to have a Doctor give me morphine because all the additives, fillers

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NOTaCOOKIEcutterPatient | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/14/2017
Condition: Chronic Pain with Narcotic Drug Tolerance
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Fibromyalgia, Psoriatic Arthritis, Degenerative Disc Disease, spinal stenosis,spondylosis (sp?)among several other DXs. Have had 3 lower back surgeries, last one was a discectomy with spinal fusion and a "cage" and screws in spine. one cervical discectomy and fusion, I also have SEVERE muscle spasms that are like ROCKS in place of back and neck muscles 24 hrs a day, I take morphine sulfate 30mg IR every 6 hours. I WISH I could take ER meds, but they keep me awake for days. When I first started taking this it worked great, but I also had 10 mg percocet, 4 times daily for breakthrough pain. My current doc will not give me anything for breakthrough pain as she claims the morphine IS a breakthrough med. Problem is, when I was in pain mgmt, they had no problem writing 120 morphine QID and 120 percocet QID for breakthrough. That worked fantastic and I actually could function in my highly physical workplace. When I changed from pain mgmt, to a rheumatologist, she ONLY will write for 90 morphine....so I find myself struggling in my job, struggling with bringing my pain down to a 6 or 7 on the pain scale, when its ALWAYS at 10 plus. I understand that drs are worried about patients selling on the street, but I am TIRED of my doc punishing me foe someone elses problems, dishonesty and mistakes. Because someone else screwed up, TRUE pain patients are not getting the treatment they deserve and need. I have 100% complied, in pain mgmt, and also in the pain contract I am required to sign with my rheumatologist. I wish doctors would realize that there is NO SUCH THING as a cookie cutter patient. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JH | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/1/2017
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Dr switched me from Methadone to Morphine and it is not as effective nor as long lasting as the Methadone was. The half life or Morphine is 4 hours and after 8 I start feeling withdrawal symptoms. I am taking extended release tablets. If not for the Oxycodone for breakthrough pain I wouldnt be able to handle just the Morphine. Of course I am taking it for pain but now I feel like pain is second on my list, Im more worried about withdrawal symtoms which is worse. Im at a point where Im ready to try to get off of all of it. I still feel pain even on it so why bother. It just does not work like a pain killer should. My husband was told when he broke his leg after being given a shot of morphine that the morphine wouldnt take away his pain but it would make him not care about it. I thought, wow is that how it works because I sure care about it. I dont recommend it at all. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mtmn | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/28/2016
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my worry, like most is the govt getting involved. They think it is too easy to get on the streets. At one time was on hydrocodone, the govt got involved and pain drs afrsaid to write script. So they made it hard to get script but is even more availaible on the strret if could afford it. This is what happens, the only people they stop from getting a med is the ones that really need it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Just Mel | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/5/2016
Condition: Chronic Pain with Narcotic Drug Tolerance
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have 3 Degenerated disc between L-3 and S-1 and 2 are herniated. Found out last year I have Cervical Spinal Stenosis and almost all my disc in my neck are degenerated. If I look up to fast, I black out and jerk and shake until the black out passes. Had been taking Oxycontin 20 mg. 2 x a day and Percocet 10 mg. 3 x for break thru pain for abut 5 years. Built up a tolerance and was in pain constantly. Doc switched me to MS Contin 30 mg. 2 x a day and Morphine Instant Release 15 mg. 2 x a day. Only been taking it a few days and it does seem to help better than the Oxy drugs. I'm sure after a few months, I'll need something stronger. Actually feel like doing stuff around the house to where before, I had to Force myself to get up just to load dish washer or other things in the house. Thank God I have a riding lawn mower or the grass would get mowed. Now I able to get up for more than a few minutes before having to sit or lay down like before. Normally I'd have to lay down for about an hour 2 to 3 times a day. Haven't had to since starting the Morphine ER and IR.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GM | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/12/2016
Condition: Chronic Pain with Narcotic Drug Tolerance
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Takes too long to get in system to start relieving pain. Was taking lortabs for 14 years. Just switched to Morphine sulfate about 60 days ago

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/17/2016
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Liquid morphine is helping ease my back pain which makes me fall without this I be more than at my wits end but still struggling on bad days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/16/2016
Condition: Chronic Pain with Narcotic Drug Tolerance
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i switched from fentanyl patches down to morphine ER. thought my pain would get worse but my dr gave me an equivalent dose and its working great for me and my pain only downside is taking it on a schedule because as the 1st one wears off i get pain and have to wait for the new pill to get relief .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Randy | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/12/2015
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

November 12, 2015 I just started with this two days ago. So far, 100% effective with no side affects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
South Auzzy | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/22/2015
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Crushed ankle in motor vehicle accident = pins and fused ankle joint but feels like a sprained ankle and at its worst sprained but with a hammer wacking it. Deep dull aches and the little tngle which is nothing. Morphine ER really helps at 200mg + daily, dont need anything else bar laxitives and vitamins D and Calcium as opiates will leach minerals. Testosterone fine as very active. My authorizing Doctor retired and am now finding it impossible for anyone to continue, seems odd as it worked for so long with no increase needed, it just works! [For me] - it seems when I see a new pain specialist they are more concerned with chekcing me for needle marks and saying they only authorize small amounts as theres no proof more works and people are dying due to people selling their meds etc... Sorry?... I believe more people die in Australia from sugar related diseases than prescription ER Morphine. Lets get it right and treat people with some dignity - also I am not responsible for what others do so should not have to bear the guilt nor side effects of their actions!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Standard Aussie | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/22/2015
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take SR Kapanol 100mg BD and find it has the least unwanted side effects and hsa improved my functionality 10fold, also without it I am in so much pain I just want to sit and do nothing. My quality of life is so much better and have taken it at this level with no increase for 15+ years. I have yearly bone density scans and 6 monthly testosterone checks and find keeping active keeps both of these in check. Also I take 90mg Senna extract with the medication to keep my bowels going + fruit and a balanced diet. However = I am now in the position of changing authorising specialist, who is so concerned over people selling the drugs, and despite my experience believes I am having hyperanalgesia that I doubt they'll let me stay on it as hes starting to decrease the dose. Now I am experiencing more pain, to which he says has nothing to do with the medication and is hyperalgesia. It seems my personal experience, regular blood screening and upbeat lively attitude and love of lif e[thanks to the medication] means nothing. Where will this madness end!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More