Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

46 People found this comment helpful

I have been on paxil for 15 years and it has been wonderful in keeping me from having panic attacks and generalized anxiety. I have no side effects and it helps me have a joyful, positive life!

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

Ive been on paxil for 5 days now and am having twice the panic attacks i was having before. DO NOT TAKE IT!!!

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/14/2018
Condition: Extreme Apprehension or Fear of Social Interaction
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took me in 10th grade an hour to ejaculate! But it was worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/6/2018
Condition: Extreme Apprehension or Fear of Social Interaction
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was convinced to take an SSRI in high school and while Paxil was minority effective.. I was a virile 10th grader and I could barely ejaculate! Back to benzos for me

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sassy76 | 35-44 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/11/2018
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??ve been on this twice. Just got off of it and switched to wellbutrin. Paxil helped my anxiety, but I had no energy, no enthusiasm, no sex drive. I was just blah. Let me say that getting off Paxil is a living nightmare. I probably didnâ??t Wean off as slow as some, but I followed doctors orders. At its worst, I cried hysterically, contemplated suicide, had rage over the slightest thing, nauseous, brain zaps, and constant ringing in my ears. I was dizzy and had vertigo. It was not safe for me to drive. Iâ??m still having the brain zaps but not as bad. The wellbutrin has completely changed my mood. Iâ??m starting to feel like myself again, more energy and my libido is back. I highly suggest finding another drug. The withdrawal itself will make you feel insane. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/14/2017
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a 62 yr old woman. I began Paxil for Hot Flashes that have for several years been so relentless I could only get 3-4 hrs of sleep. With Paxil the hot flashes became much less frequent and less intense and I was very happy. The first 2 months were great but then horrible headaches began off and on every day and even Advil could not stop the pain. Then lightheadedness and extreme nausea with no relief. Called my doctor 24hrs ago and no response. Probably not supposed to stop cold but I will not continue taking Paxil. Only slight headaches now and the nausea not as bad but still there. I'm praying it goes away soon. I'll take the hot flashes over this side effect any day.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
deerwood07 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/19/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

All, I am writing this as a warning of taking this extremely dangerous drug. At my last Dr's appt I was prescribed Peroxitine or Paxil 20mg daily for the treatment of my menopausal symptoms. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paroxetine At first everything seemed fine and I felt good. Was sleeping better with hardly no night sweats. After about a month I started having adverse reactions. 1. Weight gain (in one week I gained 10 pounds!) 2. Extreme Lethargy. All I wanted to do was sleep. I would get up, go to work and then come back home and got to bed. On the weekends I basically spent my days in bed sleeping. 3. Increased appetite. The feeling of never being full and always hungry. 4. There were more, very fuzzy in the head right now. After three months I decided to get off of all the vitamins I was told to take from my NP (never had I ever seen a doctor for all my prescribed medications). I also stopped taking the Paxil, cold turkey. The only meds I stayed on were for my high blood pressure and heart palpitations. This was a little over a week ago. At first I felt nothing. After a few days I felt high, tons of energy, sleeping regularly and very bubbly and happy almost to the extreme. Then yesterday at work was the crash. I can hardly function. Read the below article. I have most if not all of the symptons of a major drug withdrawal. https://www.medhelp.org/…/PAXIL-WITHDRAWAL-SYMPT…/show/265586 I feel absolutely terrible but refuse to go back on this horrible drug. I just hope what I am dealing with wont last very long, don't know how I will be able to function. I did go to work today as I have already taken too much time off recently for my lack of energy and sleepy feeling. Marty has to drive me to work as I am very unsteady on my feet and have extreme vertigo and lightheaded. Sleeping very little with horrible and vivid nightmares. Sweating and then cold goose bump flashes. Shaking. Feel like I have the flu, with bouts of nausea. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angela | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/28/2016
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a good medication, however, I do still have some anxiety so my doctor tried switching me to Wellbutrin. Worst decision I've ever made. Wellbutrin made me very sick and I had withdraw from the Paxil. What a mess. Moral of the story...be careful when switching medications.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nissaL | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/15/2016
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a family history of anxiety among other things. My FNP put me on Paxil CR about 10 years ago. Over the years, the dosage has gone up. I was a wreck though, without the medication. Fearful of just about everything. Now I enjoy a much better life, and can handle what life brings to me in a much more relaxed manner. God is in control of my life. The people who invented Paxil came from HIM. My philosophy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sic | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/20/2015
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I Paxil this for 6-7 months. During that time I felt, for lack of a better explanation, like a zombie. I didn't feel happy. I didn't feel sad. I didn't feel anything. Not only that, but it decreased sexual performance--which isn't something I really care about, but it happened. As an SSRI, it's supposed to be non-addictive and have no/minimal withdrawal symptoms. Let me tell you that after I quit taking it, I had the worst withdrawal symptoms of my life. I was dizzy, nauseous, and every time I moved my eyes, my whole body tingled and felt like I was being shocked. It was terrifying so and so hard to explain. It made me never want to try drugs again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | Patient
7/21/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My anxiety has gone down but I CANNOT SLEEP. Where I used to have mild insomnia, now I am not sleeping until 6 am.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/19/2015
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on paxil for 15 years and it has been wonderful in keeping me from having panic attacks and generalized anxiety. I have no side effects and it helps me have a joyful, positive life!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/7/2015
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Paxil saved my life! I have been taking Paxil for almost 20 years now and haven't had a panic attack at all. One time I forgot to bring it with me on vacation and three days of not taking it brought back severe panic attacks again. Paxil is a life saver!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/25/2015
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on most every antidepressant out there. Paxil is far and away the WORST experience I have ever had. It gave me constant migraine headaches (which I have never had), I slept for literally 16 hours a day and when I managed to stay awake the headaches ensued and I couldn't stay awake, focus or function. There are so many alternatives to this drug. Try Zoloft before using this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
formoi | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/14/2014
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

paxil for a bi-polar is a dangerous road. i was given paxil for depression when what i really had was bi-polar. the seritonin in paxil was the worst possible combination as i ended up with serotonin syndrome ON TOP of the bi-polar for YEARS. i wasted at least 15 years in a hypo manic state being my baseline. i seriously recommend trying something without the seritoin if you are bi-polar and need help. i would have given my right arm to have known this 20 years ago! no doctor 'put it together' for me until i was completely hysterical and then, finally, seritonin was looked at, removed and replaced with something very different. please, please, please be careful using this drug. best till last. weaning off this drug has been one of the hardest things i've ever done in my life and that includes childbirth. i am lucky to get down 2.5 mm over a 9 week period during which i'm falling to the floor in grocery stores trying to find a wall to hang onto. the list goes on and on, predictably your head feels like it's swimming when you turn it from left to right and the level of agitation is hard to describe. most doctors don't know what a frightening combo this can be so it's up to you to ADVOCATE for yourself. no one else can or will do it for you. i know that't hard when you hurt so bad but get help and if things are really bad, call your county mental health clinic for an appointment. medications are powerful and when working correctly will save your life but if not, can easily set you up to loose it. hard to write all this. reliving it makes me cry. god bless you for reading this far.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Georgia | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/13/2014
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had depression since I was a child, although we did not know about such. At 55 years old I was prescribed Paxil. It has changed my life. I am so thankful for it. No more deep depression, no more panic when driving in traffic, anxious feeling greatly reduced. While it is no cure, and I don't believe there is one, it is a wonderful relief to feel more normal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/23/2014
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Paxil is a fantastic drug for OCD and panic disorder. The side effects from paxil are not bad at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jimi | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/1/2014
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tammie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/28/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On it for 16yrs don't remember why have all kinda of side effects sexual,weight gain, life in a fog. About everyone it has. I at first by accident stopped taking it. The with draw is awful I was told when I went in it that it was not addictive. Guess thy lied

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TammyO | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/22/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Paxil has me doing a lot of tardiv dyskinesia . Was worse with another drug but now it's more present and I can try to stop it, yet doesn't stop fully

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
K | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/10/2014
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Paxil for anxiety. I was on it for a few years and I've been off it now for three or four. I didn't experience any side effects I would consider detrimental while I was taking it. I recall I was taking 10 mg daily. I don't recall having problems with weight gain or sleeping. I went off it wanting to cut down the number of medications I was taking. (I take Atenelol for HBP, Warfarin for blood thinning, Crestor, Plavix) I didn't think I had all that much trouble getting off Paxil, but what I read here has me rethinking that. I do get the odd 'electrical' zap in the neck, I am more emotional than I was, and I have what I consider to have anger issues. The anger issues weren't something I thought might be related to going off the Paxil. I believe I had anger issues beforehand so I never gave it any thought. Paxil was the only one I tried so I have nothing to compare it to. I've never given any thought to going back on it, but while I was I didn't experience anything that would make me look for some other med.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jericho | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/15/2014
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

hyper one day, depressed the next

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More