Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

12 People found this comment helpful

Lessina is the best pill I've been on. Since I started taking it almost 2 years ago, my periods have been significantly lighter and shorter, as well as less painful. No weight or mood side effects either. I'd strongly recommend this over Yaz or Ortho.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

I have definitely noticed weight gain right away. Also, I have noticed some swelling in my legs. I have also found a change in my mood.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/31/2022
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on two different birth controls, this one and Larissia, and I have to say, larissia is my favorite. Lessina (this one leaves me feeling nauseous for the first half of my day, and my mood has changed a little bit. What I can say is, it makes my period a lot shorter and less painful

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Neshia | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/3/2022
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is by far the worst birth control pill I’ve taken. It makes me severely nauseous. After this pack, I’m definitely switching. I’m nauseous all day. Taking with food doesn’t help. Do not recommend if you’re someone who may vomit when nauseous.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Patient
1/17/2022
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using lissina after i gave birth in march, so it's almost been a year. I am now experiencing minor headaches and spotting like dry blood. Usually i get the heavy period after a few days of the dry blood but this month i havent had my heavy period come yet. It's every time i wipe there's dry blood but I don't see it when i pee. Since i have been taking this birth control i haven't had lower back pain and it's so bad, i can hardly bend down. Has anyone ever experienced this? Any advice?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kay | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/29/2021
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Currently on my 5th month of taking Lessina, I'm 31 and 106lbs. Lessina has made my period much lighter, less pain and dropped from 7 days to 4/5 days. I've noticed mood swings more often especially closer to my period and very nauseating for the first 3 days whenever I start taking the hormone pills after my period has ended. Overall the plus sides out weigh the cons for my body

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gp123 | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/1/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has given me the absolute worst migraines of my entire life. I has made my sex drive sky rocket for some reason. I also have never had acne but this gave me some pimples.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cheekymisfit | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/12/2020
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Overall, this worked to lighten my periods and clear my face, which was nice. However, it gave me crippling anxiety. I have some mental health issues but have never struggled with anxiety. It was so bad that I would have a panic attack every single day and could not sleep because of it. If you're experiencing anxiety while taking this, I would suggest switching.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Njmmmm577 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/23/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this contraceptive back in April and it’s been almost 3 months. The medication itself has not given me any side effects other than the fact that my period takes about 7-9fays to leave as opposed to the regular 5 days. Other than that, it’s pretty great !!! I highly recommend it if you don’t mind having your period a little longer.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mia | 13-18 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/26/2019
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have naturally heavy painful periods and I also have vasovagl syncope and my period is always a trigger for that so I started this pill in hopes of being able to reduce my period to four times a year. I tried going three packs in a row two times and I bled the entire third pack each time so we decided to switch down to two packs and then take the sugar week and that works fine. There are some times though If I do something wrong like miss a day or start the new pack a week late (whoops) Iâ??ll bleed for the whole month. That gets annoying because it really defeats the purpose and then Iâ??m just dizzy the whole month because my vasovagal syncope is triggered. I havenâ??t experienced any depression or increased anxiety myself and I have had that sort of thing with other birth controls. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Claudia | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/16/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on it about 2 months now and I keep throwing up everything ! I feel more tired and am nauseous almost 24/7 .. after this last pack I’m ready to switch. I hate throwing up and sometimes makes me throw up Bile which is very painful .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kalibear | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/2/2019
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking Orsythia before they switched me to Lessina and on Orsythia everything was great! No mood swings, no long periods, no acne, slight weight gain and them they switched me to Lessina and I've been using it for about 4 months and this month I have been "spotting" for over 2 weeks. I've had bad mood swings and terrible weight gain and even some acne. Honestly it does what it's supposed to do because I'm not pregnant *knock on wood* but the side effects are driving me insane!! I hopefully won't be taking it much longer because this is ridiculous! I'm not happy about this pill at all. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/8/2019
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been miserable the moment I took this pill. Every possible negative side-effect has occurred, nausea, headache, weight gain, cramps, usual spotting

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/20/2019
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been taking this pill for 5 months and it’s my first prescribed birth control. I’ve had no imbalances, I haven’t been feeling any more or less depressed, I haven’t gained any weight, or anything unusual. My period flow is very reduced and only lasts about 3 days, which is great. The only strange things that has occurred is I’m a bit more irritable most days, compared to when I wasn’t taking the medication I was a bit more reserved and calm. Otherwise, this has been a great medication and it’s definitely doing it’s job.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CarolineC | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/11/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this medication and less than 2 weeks later I began to feel severely depressed and felt huge amounts of anxiety. I couldn't sleep because the anxiety was so bad and I have never had emotions like this. I have taken other kinds of birth control pills in the past and haven't ever had an experience like this. I've stopped taking the pills in hopes that these feelings will go away. I know some reports for this medication are very positive but I want people to know that everyone reacts differently to things like this and your hormones control so much of your daily thoughts and feelings and birth control is literally designed to effect your hormones. If you are feeling overly anxious or depressed and you're on this medication PLEASE understand that you are not the only one and the pills could definitely be causing it even if you haven't previously had these effects. Taking this medication was severely harmful towards my mental health.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EmmyJay8 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/1/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this birth control in the fall of 2017 and by March or April 2018, while my period was very light and I didn't get pregnant - my moods were terrible!!! I already have issues with anxiety and I'm pretty convinced this pill made it worse. I'm planning to switch...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Justmecassie | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/8/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've only been using this pill for about 3 weeks. It's the first birth control pill I've tried. I've had nausea almost 24/7, especially the past couple days, and fatigue where I feel physically drained at all times. Plus dizziness and definitely more irritability in the past week. Definitely debating switching. Not sure if I should wait and see if the effects go away.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lex | 19-24 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/5/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this contraceptive for approximately 6 months now and I have no complaints. It has made my period a bit heavier the first two days but it was never really that bad to begin with. I have gained a few pounds, 5 lbs to be exact. Which is not a bad thing for me either, as of right now I'm only 97 lbs. No headaches, cramps, depression, acne, etc.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MB | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/11/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using Lessina for almost three years. I experienced some breast tenderness and moderate cramps during my first year of use. This was an improvement from horrible cramps prior to Lessina, but I still get PMS. My PMS symptoms are not as intense as they were before the pill, though. I still crave chocolate and cry at commercials or anything remotely pitiful a week before my period. I have not experienced any irregular bleeding, or heavier bleeding. After three years of use, my period tends to start three days after my last active pill and on average lasts three to four days. I bled heavily prior to Lessina and my periods generally lasted four to five days. I have not experienced any notable changes in appetite, sex drive, or weight. I have not had any pregnancy scares, but I have also never skipped a pill. I have occasionally been about two to three hours late on taking a pill. I am in the weight range of 175-185 pounds (80-83 kg), if this helps anyone's anxieties about the effectiveness past a certain weight. I have found it best for me to take my pill before bed because the first week of each pack occasionally makes me feel nauseous. I've never thrown up from it, though - just some slight discomfort. All in all, I would recommend it to anyone who is confident they can take the pill at the same time each day. I am a non-smoker, non-drinker and have a semi-active (lots of walking) lifestyle for some context. Satisfaction was rated 4 of 5 stars because of the side effects listed above still lasting into my third year of use. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cactusdancer | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/15/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took lessina for 5 months. It controlled my periods, lighter and not nearly as bad cramps as before taking this birth control, but the negative side effects were much worse for me. It caused me to become depressed (I am not a depressed girl) and it also caused major health issues. I just recently had to have my gallbladder removed after months of not being able to eat without throwing up and being in severe pain. I went to multiple doctors trying to get to the bottom of these problems (I never imagined it would be the birth control) but they couldnâ??t get to the bottom of the problem either. All they know is that my gallbladder seemed to be enlarged without any signs of gallstones or sludge..I started putting two and two together and my gallbladder problems started soon after beginning this birth control! There are many great reviews on this as well as many negative. All bodies are different, but I just wanted to share my experience because I wouldnâ??t wish these health problems on anyone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SAM | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/15/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on it for a month and experienced huge blood clots and non stop bleeding for that whole month. I've had terrible PMS: backaches, stomaches, severe bloating etc. It got to the point where I didn't want to take them anymore and my symptoms immediately went away after stopping them. Worst experience ever. I'll honestly rather get pregnant than to take this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
123 | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/13/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this for a month. No weight gain, no nausea, I have an increased sex drive. But I broke out in acne this last week (Week 3 of the first pack) Hopefully my body will adjust to the pill and my acne will subside.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More