Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

20 People found this comment helpful

Have been taking 750 mg three times a day for the last 8 years. Works quite well. There have been a few times I have had to supplement with Entocort (corticosteroid, very good quality!) if I flare up. Always the flare-ups have happened because of poor food choice. As the years go by, there are fewer flare-ups due to the learning curve! The only difficulty I have had with Pentasa is remembering to ...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

has not helped my Crohn's but gave me OsteoArthritis,Osteopenia,and Osteoperosis from the amount of Steroids in this medication.

Shared reviews and ratings

claudette | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/9/2018
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been ordering my medicine from Universal Drugs in Canada. Excellent service and prices so much cheaper then here for Pentasa 500mg. The drugs are shipped from the United Kingdom or Turkey. US customs gave me problems at first but none now have several orders. Doctor here fax the prescription to Canada.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
claudette | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/14/2017
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

started taking Pentasa 10 months ago, 8-500 mg daily, then reduces to 4-500 mg daily and seem to be doing well....and blood test have been good also

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
FightingForACure | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/4/2017
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this medication for Chron's disease for just over a month I had more flare ups on this than my entire life! I've strictly followed the proper diet. Unfortunately it's the only drug I can take right now for this disease due to other health complications I stopped taking it several days ago and now I feel heaps better!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SG | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
10/14/2016
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My son was diagnosed with mild/moderate Crohn's in late 2015. He was 15 at the time of diagnosis and has been on 4000mg of Pentasa per day. My son experienced no side effects. Pentasa appears to be ineffective in my son's case since tests in Aug '16 showed worsening of the condition. My son's doctor increased dosage to 4500mg/day and was able to get approval for Remicade. My son received his first Remicade infusion several days ago.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/3/2016
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication is a little expensive, but it is very worth it for me. Little to no side-effects and the medication has all but taken my symptoms away.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Baldy | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/19/2016
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had UC for 2 years, this drug has kept me symptom free with no side effects so far for the whole 2 years. My only slight irritation is that my doctor prescribes 1 gramme tablets which are big to swallow.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/18/2015
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pentasa was effective for about 2 years but then I started having intestinal bleeding. I was told by one doctor that it could be caused by the Pentasa because it contains aspirin and I had previously had bleeding caused by aspirin. My GI doctor said it is a different form of aspirin and doesn't cause bleeding yet she immediately took me off the Pentasa. Does anyone know which is correct?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Phil | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/7/2015
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with Crohn's in May. Switched from Lialda w/prednisone to Pentasa about a month ago. It's like I'm not taking any medication at all. I had no issues with Lialda. Stayed away from fried foods, leafy greens and nuts. Now, it doesn't matter what I eat...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ali | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/11/2015
Condition: Ulcerative Colitis currently Without Symptoms
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

worst experience ever.watery stools ,chest pain and depression .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
seejacobsun | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/3/2015
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pentasa helped me achieved remission. It was difficult to take though with the four pills in the morning and four at night.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
carries | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/19/2014
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pentasa has been my go to drug, I started on Pentasa when it first came out, and is when I was first diagnosed. New GI drs would rather have me on something where the side effects are death, my crohns is mild to near nothing. I can effectively keep it under control if I follow the SCD diet and take the gluten, sugar, corn, and rice out of my diet I do very well. I will always have Pentasa around, it does what it says for me and that is what I say to my dr. To the person who asked about the Canada Pentasa, I had to buy it there some 7 years ago, the tablets were big and a little hard to get down but they seemed to work. I was glad when I had insurance coverage again though, but would go back if I had to. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jraatlanta | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/10/2014
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My company is dropping healthcare for its retirees and beginning next year my Pentasa will cost way more than I can afford. Have any of you tried Canadian Pentasa? It comes in a tablet and is far, far less expensive? Help?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cRoHns mOm | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Caregiver
8/5/2014
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

reviewing for my daughter. Pentasa has kept her crohns in check for 5 years with very few flare-ups and none serious. another reason I think she is doing so well is because she is an athlete and is very fit.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
brooke | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/10/2014
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i was diagnosed with crohns back in january '13. i was started on pentasa bc the DR said it was the best medicine for where my crohns was located. unfortunately after being on it for 6 months the GI DR thinks my body may be trying to reject the pentasa bc im starting to have severe symptoms again. hes gonna put me on 6-mp with the pentasa to see if that helps and if not then i'll be on remicade...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/15/2014
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pentasa has given me my life back! I am able to shop, travel, dine out, & go about other normal ADL's without having to hunt for a restroom as soon as I enter a store or a restaurant. I take 8-500 mg capsules a day. Received a letter from my prescription plan co. 2 days ago stating they will no longer pay any part of the cost of Pentasa (or other inflammatory bowel disease drugs). I cannot afford to pay for it myself, & don't know what to do. Now that I have experienced life free from pain/worry (most of the time), I cannot go back to the miserable life of Crohn's before Pentasa. If anyone has a suggestion as to what I can do to get Crohn's meds again, please share. Thank you.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ED | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/9/2014
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

just started this medication 10 days ago already have had great results only dislike wish the capsules were a little smaller

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Moomoo | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/22/2014
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Why does Pentasa stain the toilet and give the appearance that one is urinating blood. The urine is clear but the toilet looks like I have lost blood. Tests have found nothing wrong with kidneys or bladder. Is the urine/pentasa chemically reacting to toilet cleaners?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cooljen | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/21/2014
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take 2 500 mg of pentasa 4 times a day. This drug seems to work well for me when I remember to take it. I am looking for an alternate drug to take for my Crohn's because I cannot afford the price of this medicine. Why does Pentasa have to be so expensive? Is there another good drug out there for Crohn's that won't put me in the poor house?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
12/9/2013
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kelcypop | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/7/2013
Condition: Crohn's Disease
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have Crohn's Disease. I have been using Pentasa for over a year. I have not had a flare-up since using it. I have zero side effects. I have even been able to put on weight. Too bad it won't be covered by my insurance anymore.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More