Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

44 People found this comment helpful

I had my Gallbladder removed in 1947 and for over twenty years I put up with the worst Diarrhea, No Doctor was able to help me until about 1970, When, luckily for me I found this Doctor who had experimented in his studies with Questran and prescribed it for me. After the first doses of 4g/day my problem was resolved, I got my life back. no more diarrhea for close to forty years, unless I forget to...

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

i have IBS with dihrrea i was given questran but my doc neglected to inform me that it depliets your body of vitamins d, k, a, e, and most vital minerals, i was suffering from dihrrea, losss of apetite, confusion, bruises, pains in my bones, weakness, and more, this drug has serious side effects, including elevations in your liver enzymes, and pancreas, it causes severe dihrrea, weight loss, and b...

Shared reviews and ratings

drjlm | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/22/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication to help with bile reflux gastritis after gallbladder removal. I found that it started helping within a few days. Unfortunately at the same time I also developed very concerning muscle weakness in my arms and legs. I only made the connection a few days later that it was probably a side effect of the drug. When I stopped taking the Questran it went away. When I resumed, it came back. It definitely helps with my gastritis but the shaky weak feeling is not worth it for me. This medication alters the electrolyte balance and depletes certain ones like magnesium and potassium. I am sure it is helpful for many but patients should be aware of this potential side effect. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nizam Canberra | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/16/2017
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

To stop the muscle pain caused by statin, my doctor prescribed Questran Lite. Not only it never stopped the muscle pain, it gave me five other side effects - bloating, abdominal pain, itching around the anus, gas,dizziness and so forth.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rickie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/29/2017
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Same problem as others have noted: diarrhea after gall bladder removal. And, no one ever mentioned this prior to surgery. Questran has given me my life back. Just mix with water and I take it mid-morning. I can eat normally -- jello, popsicles, rice, and apple juice were getting old. I can socialize again without fear of surprise diarrhea.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jo | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/13/2017
Condition: Itching Associated with Blockage of a Bile Duct
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It eased itch for a while but back by the end of the day. Awaiting Gallbladder removal as CT showed stone such in duct. Itch developed 6 weeks after initial diagnosis.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ductman | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/28/2017
Condition: Itching Associated with Blockage of a Bile Duct
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have stents in my bile ducts due to restrictions of the ducts. Questran assists in easing itching but by no means eliminates it. I am also taking Urso to assist in assisting bile to pass easier through my ducts. This has help bring my enzyme numbers down but priuitus still continues. Unfortunately, I believe it is something I will just have to live with.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
VA-American | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/12/2016
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Like many others on this post, I had a gall bladder removed, and after 6 months wanted it put back in! The diarrhea was daily and wicked. I lost 30 pounds because I was just afraid to eat anything. The GI doc put me on Questran and Prilosec, and within 3 days, whammo! I was back to being normal. One thing I could not tolerate was hamburger or eggs. The results could very well require a change of clothes. Now, not a problem in the slightest. The Dr. wanted to see if I could be weaned from it, but after 3 days, I had to go back on. Not going there twice. I've been very satisfied with it. Once in a great while, I do get some constipation, but a handful of raisins, and I'm good. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/15/2016
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started having diarrhea 6 months ago for no apparent reason. Finally went to Dr. in April for full physical. Every thing checked out fine, even colonoscopy was clean. Primary care Dr. prescribed this and results were immediate. Still have my gall bladder, so can't address that issue. Taste leaves a lot to be desired but effects are well worth chugging it on down! Gives me a little acid reflux sometimes. Have also increased my fiber intake which I think helps, too. Happy camper now. Tried skipping a dose, but that was not a good idea. Have had two small bowel resections in my life, last one in 2011. Very effective medication, I take the generic brand.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anna | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/14/2016
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug has changed my LIFE! I was ready to go on disability due to chronic diarrhea. I had my gallbladder removed in 2009 and and could never eat the same after. I take several drugs due to an autoimmune disease,diabetes, blood clotting disorder, and HBP. I take morning drugs, afternoon, and nighttime drugs. It was a bit of a challenge to figure out when to take the Questron so that it wouldn't clash with my other meds. I now take my morning pills, and 3-4 hours later I take Questron, eat lunch, 3 hours later take my afternoon pills, and nighttime take my other pills. It works, I have noticed no changes in the effects of my other medication. I always keep a packet in my purse just in case I feel that I need a little more during the day, due to eating out or attending events. Currently I take one packet per day and it works GREAT!! No more diarrhea!!! I don't mind the taste, goes down smooth, I use a shaker. Looking forward to my next cholesterol check to see if it has come down. I am allergic to all statins and this medication is NOT a statin.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Caesara | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/16/2015
Condition: High Cholesterol
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this drug for about a week. I couldn't handle the extreme and long lasting upset stomach and gas pains. I gave it 1 star for effectiveness because if you can't handle the side effects, it doesn't work.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/3/2015
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Any Male patients now have Low Testosterone after use of cholestyramine powder?? I've been on this for over 10+ years after gallbladder removal and colon resection. For the past 5+ years maybe more have had low testosterone. I'm only 45 now. And was finally diagnosed 4 years ago after years of symptoms just never knew that it could possibly be Low T. Just wondering if it could be from the Cholestyramine since it started after i started using cholestyramine. I don't take any other medications and never have. And for a review of the cholestyramine, I have found only certain brands by certain pharmaceutical companies to work for me. But when i take it regularly it has been a life saver. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Feeling better | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/14/2015
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have now been taking Questran for several years. I had my gall bladder removed awhile ago and suffered for years with daily diarrhea that made daily life and travel so difficult. In spite of visiting a number of doctors, none of them ever told me about Questran. I read about it only in a book about IBS, as I thought that must be my problem, but it was not. I then asked my family doctor about trying Questran and have now been taking it for about 4 years and it is truly a miracle drug for me! I take only about 1-1/2 packets a day and mix it with V8 Smooothie Splash Tropical Colada flavor. I have tried MANY mixes, but this has been my favorite. The powder dissolves well when shaken and the taste is just fine. If you have had problems after gall bladder surgery, I would give this a try. I tried so many medications over the years and this one is the only one that has worked for me. It really has given me a normal life back.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stuckathome2 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/7/2015
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking this for chronic diarhea after gall bladder surgery. After ten years of this awful, dibilitating, humiliating, isolating condition, I have hope. I might be able enjoy boat rides, vacations and trips to the grocery without planning when, where or if I can get to a bathroom. WHY don't doctors warn of this problem with gall bladder surgery and recommend this drug ? My dr told me that it wasn't from gall bladder surgery and there was nothing that could be done ! After it became progressively worse I had a colonoscopy which was normal and the gastro Rx'd this med. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fedor | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/23/2015
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started taking Questran brand a few weeks ago. I find it very difficult to dissolve in water and I feel slightly out of sorts in my stomach; however, it is keeping my diarrhea at bay. I have used the Olestyr brand in Canada and its great. Dissolves, takes better, and doesn't make me queasy. Unfortunately, I'm out of country and have to take what I can get, which is Questran.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bud | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/19/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Same as many here with the bile malabsorbortion after my G Bladder was removed in the Fall. Felt like I had hope to get away from the "Dumping Syndrome" when I found these reviews. Questran did good for the Bile Binding, but I had problems with one of the side effects - Anal/Rectum irritation. I've never had noticeable hemorrhoids, but I suspect from the gas that is also a side effect it irritates the lining of the anal cavity. Maybe I have light hemorrhoids... Either way the pain is unbearable. Also tried Colestipol with the same results - Getting ready to try Welchol.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shirley | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/14/2014
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Would have been nice if my Dr. Had of mentioned that I might have chronic diaherra after my gallbladder and partial liver removal! After 4 years of either staying home or planning my outings around how far it was to the next bathroom, I started taking this med. It is a Godsend and now I have my life back! I like to mix it with orange w pulp--don't notice the consistency as much.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rtoles51485 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/3/2014
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had my gallbladder removed in 2010 and had been suffering from chronic diarrhea ever since. I tried every over the counter medicine available with no help also tried Lomotil with no help what so ever. When I changed doctors she agreed to put me on Welchol, it helped some but not like Questran has! Questran has completely changed my life, I started out taking 4 packets daily and have been able to go down to 1-2 packets daily. I couldn't be happier with the results. I saw immediate results and am so glad that I have my life back, I went from seeing life from the inside of a bathroom stall to seeing life first hand and being able to enjoy life again and not have to worry about whether there was going to be a bathroom nearby everywhere I went. If you are looking for something to help with chronic diarrhea from IBS or from having your gallbladder removed I would highly recommend talking to your doctor about questran or questran light. It is amazing!!! Hope my review will help others who are in this situation and want their life back.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/23/2014
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi I have chron's colitus and have difficulty taking 16 meds and questron. I am supposed to take 3x4grams a day,however it interferes with my normal meds. still going to the loo about 25 times a day, what about the recall? not even quesrtan light? Not impressed

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
? | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/28/2013
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

works well for me for what it was intended. seem to have some sort of allergic reaction to it whereby I cough continually for 15 minutes after taking questran.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gig | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/10/2013
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I couldnt live a normal life without this medication,i would have to stay in or not eat at all when i did go out. I will be a long time taker of this medication and have been taking for three years upto now without a problem also take other tablets throughout the day but work around them so that they are spaced apart from the questran. It is a bit of a juggle at first but is workable

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jackbeth58 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/31/2013
Condition: Chronic Diarrhea
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my second day of taking Questran and I find it palatable in fruit juice, it is very gritty but better than liquids I've had before scans. I have been prescribed this due to chronic diarrhea after a small bowel re-section 3 months ago. Already I am relieved at no having to visit the loo so often and I was confident leaving the house to go shopping. Imodium and similar preparations haven't been as effective as pre-op but I never had diarrhea like this either. I'm hoping this is the solution, really happy so far.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More