Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

21 People found this comment helpful

Older antidepressant, caused some weight gain, but is a tried and true intervention that more experienced psychiatrists love to use. I would recommend this med to anyone. Helped me sleep, raised my mood, put color back into my life, helped significantly lower anxiety level.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

My allergist prescribed this for me for severe chronic hives. I don't think it is working. I still have hives. Been on it for one month and in that time I have gained 15 pounds and I am not happy about that. My diet and exercise have NOT changed. I would rather have hived than the weight gain. I am going to suggest to the allergist to take me off this med.

Shared reviews and ratings

Ken | 65-74 | Male | Patient
1/17/2018
Condition: Nerve Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My neurologist prescribed this for peripheral neuropathy pain 15 years ago. I'm 65 yrs old & take 50 mg. daily. I can walk now without pain. This RX is useful for more than depression.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TessAnn818 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/29/2016
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I switched to this medication from an SSRI that was unsuccessful in helping my anxiety and depression. I really do like the effects of the Doxepin. It helps me fall asleep and stay asleep, reduces anxiety and OCD, and improves my mood. I do have dry mouth sometimes to the point that I feel like I have cotton mouth and no amount of water helps. This medication greatly reduced my sex drive so that isn't fun but it has been great for my anxiety and depression so I have stuck with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mike | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/31/2014
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on a single 10mg Doxepin capsule daily for years. I take it just before going to bed. I've been skipping it every other day for about 3 weeks, due to being close to running out of them. My mail order pharmacy screwed up the newest prescription date my doctor called in to them early November, and they wouldn't release them to me. I only now (12/30/14) appear to have finally got that issue cleared up. Anyway, it appears that me missing taking this every day has caused me to relapse into a depressive state now and again. Anxiety, fear of death, and crying. Can just taking this drug for every other day (rather than daily as I'm supposed to) for 3 weeks cause a relapse such as this? I wouldn't have believed it, but something is sure going on. I have about enough pills left to last me 2 weeks (if taken every day). Hopefully the pharmacy will send the new ones before them. If anybody has a comment for me, please leave one. Thanks!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/13/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My allergist prescribed this for me for severe chronic hives. I don't think it is working. I still have hives. Been on it for one month and in that time I have gained 15 pounds and I am not happy about that. My diet and exercise have NOT changed. I would rather have hived than the weight gain. I am going to suggest to the allergist to take me off this med.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
5ofsix | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/4/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am prescribed this to help with pain management for a returning brain tumor. Non malignant

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
not happy | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/16/2014
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

does not help and having a hard time sleeping

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/24/2013
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My depression has not gotten any better since taking this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Delaney | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/9/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi, I know I am onlly 16, BUT I have been taking various medications for TONS of reasons since I was 4. I started taking this medication when it was administered to me in a psych ward for chronic nightmares/flashbacks. This medication stopped them the very first day of taking it. Thank God for Sinequan!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/2/2011
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I just started taking it two weeks ago so I don't if it has had enough time to get in my system. So far it has been ok.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/8/2011
Condition: Anxious
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Constipation

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
glnrowan | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/30/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very effective at calming and beginning the sleep cycle. No side effects at all. Now taking 150-200mg nightly. Lost 25 lbs from not doing nervous eating and getting better sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rod | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/1/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Sinequan for 25 years. Started out with 25mg and increased dosage through the years to 150mg one capsule 2 hours before bed time. I was prescriped this drug by an orthopedic surgeon for lower back pain. I have not gained any weight as a result of it's usage all these years and it simple gave me my life back. I tried several times through the years to cut the dosage back but as soon as it got to low, say 50-100mg by back pain would come back and I would be unable to walk and would become bedridden. I've had not any adverse effects from this drug and plan on taking it for life. I have not had any adverse effect with this medine mixing with any other medicines.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
capless | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/20/2011
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had my first episode of severe depression/anxiety in 1992. Several anti-depressents were tried and a combination of Prozac and Doxepin seemed to work. After a few weeks my anxiety level began to intensify. The Prozac was "over-stimulating" and discontinued. I remained on the Doxepin and my anxiety decreased and my mood significantly improved. Through the years I have had trials with the newer drugs (SSRI) and the side effects were awful. Doxepin is the only one in the TCA class that works for me. The weight gain is an annoying problem but I don't think I'd be alive to worry about it if I didn't take this med. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/12/2011
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Doxepin ie; Sinequan for approximately 15 hrs. It has some side effects that I have to tolerate in order to get the benefits of the antihistamine for edema and hives. Since these episodes have sent me to the ER/ICU on many occasions with my throat swollen shut I consider the below listed side effects to be tolerable although irritating. Daily: dry mouth, sleep disturbances; both nightmares, insomnia and drowsiness, (yes those often contradict themselves), extreme heartburn if taken and immediately lay down, blurred vision, slowed speech, appearance of intoxication. However, if you are in need as I am, the side effects are the lesser of two evils. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AJP | 45-54 | Female | Patient
1/23/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was put on 125 mg of Sinequan for insomnia and anxiety two weeks after a death in the family. A mild tranquilizer and sleeping pill would have been much better and effective. Side effects: Extreme fatigue, weight gain of about 60 lbs in a month, made my nose so dry that it started bleeding, and worst of all, developed Restless Legs Syndrome, which is now chronic. I would avoid this drug entirely or at least ask for a low dose of it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/28/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this med because my doc said it was a sleep med. It has been the total opposite for me. He doubled my dose and I wake up 3 hrs later and still no sleep.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/30/2010
Condition: Itching
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been prescribed this med on two different occassions for chronic urticaria (hives that itch horribly over 30% or more of my body that last longer than three weeks at a time....have had them up to 8 months non-stop). This med combined with other OTC antihistamines completely alleviated my problem. I only take 10 mg each night for 3-4 weeks during flare ups now. Main complaints: dry mouth and extreme drop in libido due to decreased lubrication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Marie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/1/2010
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed Sinequan for severe anxiety/panic attacks and depression. It has helped me tremendously. I am no longer a prisoner to my bedroom and home. I have gained 30 pounds since starting the med (2 years ago).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
4/6/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this medication as a teenager (I am 31 now) and it caused SEVERE hallucinations. The Neurologist I was seeing for severe migraines prescribed this as a daily medication to try and break the cycle of migraines I was having. (Migraines run in my family) It caused me to feel like I was losing my mind. I woke during the night feeling like my bed was spinning and I was hearing voices. I would not tell anyone to take this medication and I am glad I have found a place to post my experience with it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
happy | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/26/2010
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

side effects not good has made me gain weight plus makes me groggy and irritable the next day when i wake up. the docter prescribed it as a sleep med but i would still wake up in the night and raid the fridge it has made me put on 50 pounds in 8 months i no longer take it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More