Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

5 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking NORA-BE for over 2 years and I love it. Light periods, rarely PMS, and I lost 5 pounds when I first started. Other BC I was moody and gained weight. This pill is great; however, you must take it the same time every day for the first year or you will get your period.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

I gained weight on it very fast.

Shared reviews and ratings

Roc | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/5/2020
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m leaving a comparison review so far because I was taking larin fe 1/20 for a few weeks and this mini pill was completely different for me. The larin gave me nausea,anxiety and was very tired on it. I have been on generic nor qd for a lik over a month and so far I love it. I’ve had two periods since I started it and they were very short and very light. No nausea, no anxiety issues, nothing but at first I had some sore breast but that went away. And a little dry down under. I hope this continues to work out for me!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
1/28/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this after having my second child. I didnâ??t breastfeed with my first so I wanted to try it this time. It only lasted about 6 weeks but at that time this birth control is what the doc prescribed. Iâ??ve been on it for about 4-5 months. My periods have been extremely irregular but my biggest complaint is the mood swings/anxiety. I can take almost anything physically enduring but the mental changes are what is the most challenging.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
YOLANDA | 35-44 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/7/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'VE BEEN TAKING BC FOR ABOUT 15 YEARS. THE FIRST 2 MONTHS I SPOTTED A LITTLE HERE AND THERE, NOW ON THE 4TH MONTH NO PERIOD. I'M USED TO SEEING IT EVERY MONTH SO I'VE TAKEN 3 PREGNANCY TEST. I JUST LIKE TO KNOW WHATS GOING ON WITH MY BODY. NOT SURE IF I WANNA CONTINUE THESE PILLS OR NOT.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mz. Dee | 35-44 | Female | Patient
7/3/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This product is great birth control but horrible for my cycle. I used to only spot for 2-3days. Now with these pills I get a period for 7 days. My cycles have never been this long in my entire life. I'll definitely call the doctor in the a.m.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jo | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/31/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on the Nor-DQ for two years my periods are not regular I've had my period now for a hole mouth Cramps are bad. I can't be on the estrogen pill cause my mom and her half sister got breast cancer from taking pills with estrogen in them . Going back to talk to my doctor

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jewels8207 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/30/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Throughout the years I have tried more birth controls than I care to count. I have experienced more problems than I care to count- from weight gain, to pain, rashes, headaches and migraines, mood changes and the list goes on. Nor-QD is the ONLY birth control that I have successfully been able to take with absolutely ZERO problems. I still have a regular menstrual cycle and nothing mentally or physically changes for me which is wonderful. I tried generic form of the NOR-QD such as Camila and NOR-BE and now I am on migraine meds and stuggling with losing excess weight that was gained. I am slowly getting my life back after realizing that these generic birth control changes were my BIG problem. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TJ | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/1/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I hate this BCP. I was on Ortho Tri-Lo and never had a bit of problem with it. Now on Nor-QD I have my period whenever it decides to come and it lasts for weeks. This is by far the worst birth control I have ever used, and I have been using BCPs since I was 17 to control cramps and irregular cycles.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
yz. | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/20/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a congenital heart disease and this BC is perfect for me. I've been on it for 11 months now. The first 4 months I had severe cramping and breast tenderness which was not much of a problem for me considering that it relieves me from stressing over pregnancy scares. The severity of the pain has decreased after 4 months. My period has become irregular and I have light bleeding during my periods. I noticed that if I take the pill more than half n hour late I start spotting a lot for almost 2 weeks (happened to me twice). Overall I'm very happy with this BC. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carissa | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/30/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started this medication in OCT 2014 to help manage my PCOS, so i would decrease chances of cancer. I was having terrible irregular periods so my doctor suggested this medication. I was ok with the thought of a contraceptive drug because I am sexually active... however, I REGRET taking this pill! I am trying to lose weight and also achieve clear skin, when i started i barely was getting any new breakouts... but instead I broke out in reaction as well as gained 10+ lbs. No matter how much I tried to workout during my busy schedule I was getting fatter lol. Breast tenderness, mood swings, phantom smells... im basically pregnant with no baby. the last two months (feb & march) I had a period for 7-8 days (very long for me) but bad cramping and a discharge period lasting the same amount of time! My endocrinologist told me to stop taking it & we'll see how i adjust back in the next 6 mos. Everyone handles things differently, but if you have sensitive skin or trying to get a clear complexion, or are already chubby/overweight... Think whether you would risk the chances of achieving those goals. Good luck!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/27/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was having irregular periods and my dr gave this to me to regulate and decrease the amount of cramps. Unfortunately. I have been bleeding for 3 weeks off and on and last few days nonstop heavy for 5 . This is way worse than having irregular period for 2 days . I have been taking it the same time every day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/21/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on NorQD for about 3 months. In that time my boyfriend and I were apart, so I can't give an accurate rating on effectiveness. As far as ease of use and my satisfaction go, however, I must say that I was disappointed. I've always had oral birth control and generally don't have issues taking it on time, but I always felt stressed with NorQD because it must be taken at the exact same time daily and, let's face it, life comes up. So I was constantly worried I might mess that up - but I always stayed on top of it! Despite taking it properly I had terrible cramps and irregular cycles. I would have about a 7 day on and random amount of days off cycle with spotting as my "off" days... The spotting was what some might call a light period though. I originally was put on BC as a young teen because of my irregular cycles and heavy flow. After years of the combined pill my military doctor had suggested NorQD because I have had heart palpitations for some time (and she thought it may be the estrogen in the combined pill), so I switched. The palpitations were not as bad with NorQD, but having an irregular cycle that caused severe cramps and a very heavy flow was not worth it to me. Additionally, I didn't feel like myself. I am a very outgoing and generally happy person but I felt worthless and depressed while on NorQD. I tried to tell myself it was just stress or something, but there's no way it would have been that bad since I had a lot of really great and exciting things going on! I went back to my doctor to change to something else because this pill just wasn't worth it to me. I went through more pads and tampons on this pill than ever on BC! I am 23, pretty active, and have been on BC for a little over 8 years. I never gained a lot of weight with this pill, but that may be because I am active. I also developed acne on my back - which I have never had. I was very irritable and my sex drive was low (very unlike me) - it was probably a good thing my BF and I were apart.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pbearx | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/27/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm not entirely sure how I feel about this medication. I've been on Nor- QD for nearly nine months and I'm happy to say I'm not pregnant,so I'm pleased that is preventing what it is designed to prevent, but there are quite a few symptoms I would love to live without. Acne, continued hair loss, inability to lose the weight despite vigorous hour long cardio classes, bimonthly periods, etc. it's a better option for me than The Pill, I'm just not in love with it. And despite the medication' s effectiveness, I still can't find peace with it and trust that it will continue to do its job. I see how user error could play a big part in this medication' s loss of potency, and that worry always remains.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maylie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/30/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication from day one gave me headaches after 30 min and gave me cystic acne that lasted 2 weeks and scarred my face. I'd never had these problems since being a teenager. By far the worst BCP I've ever had and I have never had any BCP side effects like this before.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Teddibee | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/25/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this medication since December 2011, so far I have had three periods. One light period in the third month, light spotting two weeks after that. Then on the sixth month I had a very heavy flow and cramps. I'm not sure if this is related but I have had cramping in my ovary area for the past two months for one week at a time. I agree, I dont like not knowing when my period will arrive and I broke out in acne on my face and back. My face is slowly clearIng with the help of prescription epiduo but my back is still covered in acne. Although I am having trouble remembering to take the pill lately. I may have to change to another BC method. I have not become pregnant. Also have not gained any weight. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shemar21 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/22/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this pill for 7 years. I have had no issues except my insurance keeps going up on the price. It went from 8.00 to 28.00

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
liveit | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/29/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've used this for 4 years. If you have to take hormonal BC this is the lesser of all evils. My doctor explained that this pill creates the hormone balance similar to when you are breast feeding, so you will crave more (probably eat more resulting in weight gain), and have mild acne. This is a low dose pill so all in all the negative effects for me were minimal, especially when compared to other pills. You are not necessarily supposed to get your period with this pill. I get spotting and "mini periods" every 3-4 months or so. I never worry about getting pregnant because I carefully take it at the same time every day. This is the best of hormonal BC I've used. (Ortho tricyclin, 3 yrs made me crazy, depo provera, 3 years caused severe migraines, aches, nuva ring 3 years which I also liked but I used it continuously so I wouldn't get a period otherwise migraines would knock me out for days). Anyway, nor Q D seems to be the right balance for me and is relatively cheap even if you have to pay out of pocket. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
princessdrea | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/10/2011
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this product a little over 2 months dont really have any complaints just wish it was a little bit more effective..Other than that I really have no complaints. In the beginning I had to switch from taking it in the morning to at night before I went to bed because of how it made me feel other than that though everything is good..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
birdie25 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/13/2011
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking NORA-BE for over 2 years and I love it. Light periods, rarely PMS, and I lost 5 pounds when I first started. Other BC I was moody and gained weight. This pill is great; however, you must take it the same time every day for the first year or you will get your period.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/6/2011
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this once i was able to have sex after having a baby. For 3 months ive been getting head aches and extreme abdominal pain along with nausea and have been losing more hair than i have in my whole life. I hate this pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dabellofdaball | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/31/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor is treating an ovarian cycst. First she tried low estrogen birth control I spotted constantly and at times I had multiple periods w/in a month. I also have PMDD which is sompunded by deoression. I've been on Nor-BE for three wks, I've gained weight. I may be reacting to the Lactose as I have watery stools now. I have not spotted since starting. I have had increased irritability but I have not been emmersed in negative thoughts like I had been before. I'm not taking any other medications so I'm attributing this mood improvement to Nor-BE. It's only been three wks so it's too early to tell what the long term effects will be. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More