Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

32 People found this comment helpful

I take guaifenesin as part of the guaifenesin protocal for Fibromyalgia. It has been almost a complete salvation of allowing my to still function at a full time job and wean off most of the other prescribed meds I was on. I know that Fibro is not what guai is designed for, but when used in conjunction with the Protocol, it has been a wonderful tool.

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

Tried it once 2 weeks ago for Bronchitis. Did nothing for me.

Shared reviews and ratings

AH | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/23/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

15 days back it started with sore throat, two days later got fever 99.5F with light green mucus, side by side also felt inflamation/infection moving from throat to all directions, to head, ears, eyes, broncus, now when this type of situation arrise it does not resolve with out antibiotics (as i am diabetic too). Took azithromycin 500mg for 7 days. Fever, cough, phelgem resolved but what happened after finishing antibiotics, a thick mucus layer was sticking to my throat, omg i tried and tried to get rid of it but to no avail, i could not spit it out nor i could gulp down into stomach, for 3 days this continued, i kept on drinking warm water sip by sip, chewed chewing gum with menthol, ate spicy snacks, ate brown bread piece by piece so this white thick layer from hell goes down into shit, all generated sections in mouth but could not remove gummy layer of white mucus, guys it was so uncomfortable like ng tube, though my oxygen saturation on oxymeter was not below 97 but i felt discomfort in breathing, I was restless, sleepless, called my sister, because she knows lots of antidotes, she told me that her husband also faced this throat strangulation from hell and as being old patient of asthma he is familiar with guaifenesin to loosen mucus, I bought Robitussin extra strength Mucus and phlegm from pharmacy took two tea spoonfuls and within 6 hours I got rid from this deadly throat clutcher, thanks to scientist who invented this antidote, while facing this curse I come accross a research from Stanford University scientists that most dangerous feature of covid is gummy phlegm which coats lungs, broncus and its impossible to cough out and ultimately cutoff oxygen to body. God bless and protect everyone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fred | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/5/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works, in the sense of loosening mucus and being able to cough it up easier. However, it resulted in copious amount of fluid being excreted in other parts of my body. For example, in my legs which filled up completely and increased by weight by 20 pounds. There was also constipation and stomach pain. In the lungs, it seemed to increate the total volume of fluid, adding more mucus to the amount I was coughing up. The leg swelling was quite severe and painful; my skin was hot and tight. The biggest problem with this drug is that it can be bought over the counter cheaply, seems harmless, and if you ask a medical practitioner about it, or it is included in the drugs you take, they either don't know much about it, or pass over it as insignificant. For example, my very good nurse practitioner simply advised to drink plenty of water. I have been off it for a couple of weeks now and am recovering, but my legs are still painful. There is a lengthy withdrawal from this substance. I hope no permanent damage has been done.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aerodude75 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/18/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Regular Mucinex is gentle enough to use daily and I use it to thin sinus congestion. Had to stop using Mucinex D because the decongestant in it was raising my blood pressure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Family of 4 | Caregiver
5/17/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Our family uses Guaifenesin when cold or allergies symptoms arise. Before taking this medication, our family members struggled with mucus and phlegm. Our youngest member cannot expel it naturally and needs this medication to thin it. The pill is large but easy enough to break or use a knife to break it in half for easy consumption. Does have a bitter taste but it’s medication so drink plenty of water. Can cause nausea so better if taken during a meal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Activetraveler | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/18/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As strange as this may sound, I have found that good old Mucinex, that is, active ingredient *guaifenesin,* really helps amazingly with my stiff and achy hip/haunch muscles, tendons, and ligaments. I suffered a very minor injury years ago, but the area around it became stiffer and more painful over time. I noticed once when I had a bad cold and was taking the usual cold remedies that my hip area felt suddenly better. I narrowed it down to the effect of guaifenesin. Since then, I have found that many fibromyalgia sufferers also report an amazingly beneficial effect of guaifenesin on their stiff muscles! It really does work, is sold over-the-counter, and I notice no side effects. They make 600mg tabs, but even 1/2 per day really helps me. I hope it helps you too!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TX19 | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/1/2019
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a flu like illness that kept coming a going for couple of months. Chronic respiratory issues (asthma, copd) were compounding the problem. Tried this at sonâ??s recommendation bc he had used it once. It was literally like I had taken a magic pill! I have been plagued with mucus in throat constantly for a couple of years. After first dose, the next morning, coughed it up and out as soon as I woke up. Took one more dose the next day, and all symptoms disappeared. More amazingly, the phlegm and mucus that has interfered with my breathing and kept me tired for 2 years has simply vanished. 2 weeks later, still no flu bug, but used 1 dose when mucus increased significantly one night. Immediately cleared again. I honestly feel like this stuff has changed my life for the better. I had resigned myself to the ongoing mucus and exhaustion from struggling to breathe. I feel like I have been able to get more oxygen in my lungs over the last 3 weeks than I have in 3 years. If you have to deal with excess mucus and phlegm, you owe it to yourself to try it. I had resigned myself to deteriorating lung capacity and minimal improvement from breathing exercises. This medicine has given me a new lease on life. Hopefully it will help you too.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sql4fun | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/28/2018
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have thyroid disease and can't take most medications. This product does work but it will take a bit of time. It is not a miracle cure but helps your body in loosening up the mucus. It has been 24 hours since I started taking it and my cough has dramatically lessened. When I cough, there is actual mucus in it instead of being a dry hack. Now I have something to use when I get sick.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jan | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/17/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have COPD with chronic bronchitis and heavy mucous production. I have been using this for years and couldn't live without it. If you take a big dose, you'll immediately cough up whatever there is to cough up. However, I see here that some people think it's being used to get high. It is absolutely important that you buy cough medicine that ONLY has guaifenesin and does not have dextromethorphan or pseudoephedrine. THEY are what people use to get high. Plain Guai does not make you high in any way. I have taken large amounts for years and have never had the first side effect. Kids with cystic fibrosis take it to thin mucous as well. The plain stuff is not easy to find. Just be sure it does not say DM or D or CF after the "Tussin" name. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Starry eyes | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/16/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have suffered from chronic migraines for years (2-3 per week). I started taking this med when I had a cold and noticed that it prevented my migraines. I now take it daily and have seen a significant reduction in my migraines to about 1 every two weeks that are less severe and that respond more quickly to triptans. I take the extended release every morning. It works better than topamax or amytrptolin as a migraine prophylaxis.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Memma | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/1/2015
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My psychiatrist and respiratory physician both recommended this medication for my chronic cough. I took it for a couple of days and noticing no immediate improvements, I discontinued its use. My chronic cough continued for about five more years. Recently, in desperation, I reached for the older expired bottles of guaifenesin. To my surprise, for the first time in about six years, my cough symptoms declined. I take one 400mg tablet twice a day and I hardly cough anymore. Except for some hoarseness when I clear my throat, I can say this product is almost magical and did me a whole lot of good. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MoldSufferer | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/6/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from seasonal mold allergy at this time of the year in Texas; effects noticeable in several minutes. This helps me sleep. I use Neti pot to keep my passages clear several times a day. Claritan and Zyrtec did not help in previous years. Self-motivated...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dauna | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/22/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take guaifenesin as part of the guaifenesin protocal for Fibromyalgia. It has been almost a complete salvation of allowing my to still function at a full time job and wean off most of the other prescribed meds I was on. I know that Fibro is not what guai is designed for, but when used in conjunction with the Protocol, it has been a wonderful tool.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TimBoy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/7/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have bronchiectasis. Guaifenesin has helped a lot over the years (over 20). It thins the mucus and enables me to get it up and out which is critical in order to prevent infections of the lungs from occurring.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SandyB | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/9/2014
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with viral bronchitis and was given this along with a cough suppressant. I was to take 4 pills a day (bitter so have a BIG drink to chase it with) and found that by the second day it had impacted my intestinal tract. My stomach was so upset I couldn't leave the house but the congestion is thinning which is good due to my asthma. I also found it made me drowsy - if you aren't in a position to be at minimum a little groggy, then I would suggest a bedtime only dose. It clears the congestion but take with milk and food.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nonna | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/13/2013
Condition: Cough
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have reflux and this is the ONLY thing that has helped with thickness in throat!!! and cough with gagging!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
2/4/2013
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Does not work for thinning mucus. Helped with cough.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
amazing grace | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
8/2/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had seasonal sinus infections for many years and this year was diagnosed with Asthma,had trouble breathing with the sinus infection and found this to work so well in helping me breath easier and keeping the nose and chest from feeling so tight and congested I would recommend it to anyone looking for relief...it works.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BARBB0750 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/28/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

HELPS WITH MY BREATHING PROBLEM

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rosie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/9/2012
Condition: Cold Symptoms
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking this for a cold and after about two days I notice I no longer pain with my fibromyalgia. I regularly take it for my muscle pain. Cannot do without it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ladyA | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/12/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can't sleeo and this medication can make me sick at my stomach.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More