Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

7 People found this comment helpful

Good no real side effects that ive noticed in the last 10 years.

Most voted negative review

3 People found this comment helpful

The first month I tried this wasn't too bad, but I was nauseated all the time and when I was hungry, I got so sick I wasn't able to eat. That one week I was off I felt a lot better. When I started the second pack, however, I spent that next day crying my eyes out for no reason (I'm not a crier). I had horrible acne still, even with diet change, and I previously had NO acne. I don't recommend this,...

Shared reviews and ratings

BC Victim | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/9/2022
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have extremely irregular periods that either amount to spotting for months on end, skipping for several months, or two week long heavy periods. I’ve taken several other pills with varying side affects (weight gain 20+ lbs, mood shifts, and excessive bleeding). I tried this one and it was a fairly awful experience for me. I was extremely nauseated for the three weeks I took it (ended up losing 10 lbs, going from 165 to 155lbs) and then I started a period where I bled golfball sized clots multiple times a day for 10 days until I was told to go to the ER by my OB’s nurse after calling to see what I could do. The period finally ended several days after the ER visit, once the progesterone I was prescribed kicked in. The only pros that I noticed is that this didn’t seem to affect my mood like other birth controls (I have anxiety and depression that I’ve taken medication for for 10+ years.) If you want to lose weight, this one could be for you too as it wiped out my appetite and made me quite sick if I ate more than a few bites of food per meal. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lisa | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/16/2022
Condition: Absence of Menstrual Periods
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It ok just crippling a lot and too much bleeding

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jay | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/27/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on Lo estrin 1/20 for almost 2 months and it’s been giving me horrible craps for days. Off the pill, I only deal with mild cramps for a day if at all, take Midol and I’m good. This particular birth control has been horrible for me so much so that I just stopped taking it today. It’s going on day 4 of these cramps. I was barely functional at work yesterday, and I had to call out today. These are a no go for me. I’m glad they work for other people, though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
2/2/2021
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DryQueening | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/27/2018
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This birth control gave me very very bad vaginal dryness after a year of taking it. I was constantly in the ER with urinary infections, yeast infections, and bacterial infections from how dry I was. Sex was painful and I was constantly raw. I was completely fine once I switched birth controls. This was hell in pill form.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BJN | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/17/2017
Condition: Abnormally Long or Heavy Periods
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried 3 different BC pills over the last year in order to help reduce my heavy bleeding. Orth-tricyclen was the first. I still had heavy periods, gained weight, but did clear up acne right away. Then I tried Orthcyclen (monophasic version). I was told to skip placebos and take it straight through. I spotted the entire time- almost 3 months! Finally, my gyno switched me to Loestrin 1/20 (generic). My particular pack has no placebos, you just don't take anything for 7 days. I've only been on this a month but I did not get a period at all! I was SO excited! I had one day where I had one instance of spotting (a panty liner worked). I kept waiting for my period to come during the 7 day break, and nothing! I'm hopeful this pill will stay this way and solve my problems! Even better- it is FREE with my insurance.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/18/2016
Condition: Abnormal Bleeding from the Uterus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had no problems with this pill since the first month. I was very emotional that month but it improved after the first pack. I currently take 3 packs in a row followed by a 1 week break. I do not have bleeding in between periods anymore! It is wonderful. I also use it for birth control. I should note that I did extremely well on Loestrin 24 FE before it was discontinued. But I did not do well on the generic version or on the chewable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nattie7415 | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/7/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this pill for over 4 years and have had no problems with it at all. It makes my periods every 6-8 weeks and they last about 2 1/2 days. My cramps are very mild as well. I love this product and will not change it at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kitty | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/1/2016
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first month I tried this wasn't too bad, but I was nauseated all the time and when I was hungry, I got so sick I wasn't able to eat. That one week I was off I felt a lot better. When I started the second pack, however, I spent that next day crying my eyes out for no reason (I'm not a crier). I had horrible acne still, even with diet change, and I previously had NO acne. I don't recommend this, strictly because I feel like I can feel the cysts in my breasts growing, and also don't think the nausea is worth it. I had only one day of spotting lightly and I don't like that; it's not normal to me. I also felt unhealthy and think that this birth control has made me feel even more unhealthy although my blood work says I'm perfectly healthy.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anon | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/30/2015
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this one for about 2.5 years. I regularly miss pills or take them late but there has never been any problem. No weight gain, no spotting, no pregnancies (phew), and no acne.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JustTif | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/14/2013
Condition: Endometriosis
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Spotting and heavy bleeding for the first month.. heading into the second month and hoping my body accepts it. Bad stomach aches (noticed when I ate poorly so that may not be from the pill) and mood swings. I am taking this pill for endometriosis and a tumor on my abdominal wall... hoping it will shrink in the next few months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/11/2013
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been on this for about 2 month but so far have had no problems at all. I did have cramping when I was off for the week that there are no pills but very mild. Also, have not gotten my period or any spotting.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/1/2012
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hair started falling out and very bad acne even though I've never really had acne before.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sayrah | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/6/2012
Condition: Disease of Ovaries with Cysts
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

These pills made me extremely moody and depressed. Like constant PMS. I stopped taking them.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Apes | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/7/2012
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I switched to this birth control from Yasmin and holy moly is there ever a difference. On Yasmin i was severely depressed and on Loestrin i am back to normal! Happy as can be. Th reason i did not give it the total of 5 stars is because my cramps are BRUTAL on this pill, but i'll take a period from hell over depression and irregular periods any day... LOVE this pill!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Oneiricmind | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/21/2011
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed on loestrin when I was 16 due to my cyst removal on my ovaries which was caused by heavy periods and I had wanted something to keep me regular and "protected" I experienced some weight gain, I was moody, I don't think it affected my acne too much, I was CONTINUOUSLY spotting between periods, even if I was taking the pill on time, and I had periods that would last up to two weeks. Overall I don't think it was a strong enough dosage. I had asked my doctor about something stronger and she prescribed sprintec for me. Well that didn't work either it was WAY TO STRONG I was nauseous constantly, never had an appetite, extremely anxious and even more moody, and that was only within the first month. I'm 18 now and Ive been doing my homework on what will work for me I've been thinking about a generic form of yasmin or even a stronger generic dosage of loestrin... I have no idea my friend also suggested depo provera but I HATE shots, and I read up on it that if taken over 2 yrs time it can cause bone loss and I want something that will last me longer then 2 yrs. HELP!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lavadajean | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/1/2010
Condition: "Change of Life" Signs
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used for HRT, I experienced weight gain, would reccomend taking before bed, was able to half each pill and still get relief. They were a God send, I was on them from age 50 to 62, gradually reducing the dose until I quit.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/25/2010
Condition: Birth Control
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been through many birth cotrol brands and this is the worst. Bleeding for a whole month, "period"-like pain, migraines, bad skin. This is terrible i would not recommend.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cindy | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/4/2009
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I will NEVER take another birth control pill again. The breakthrough bleeding is a nightmare! I have been bleeding now for over 2 weeks!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/18/2009
Condition: Painful Periods
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had more side effects on this birth control method then I have on any other medication - nausea, breast tenderness, insomnia (and later, severe fatigue), longer periods with cramps the whole time, frequent spotting, weight gain (after working so hard to lose weight), and acne. I have a follow up appt. with my gyn next week & I'm demanding to be put back on the depo shot as I never had any of these problems with that (I even lost weight when I was on it before).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More