Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

138 People found this comment helpful

Just because I did read so many 'bad' reviews when I started Sertraline.. I feel I owe the world my positive experience : ) My day to day life has changed from a constant battle to a breeze. Now I finally feel my normal self again, I realise how anxious and depressed I was. I am a intelligent high functioning person that still got by on shear will power. I have been taking it 2 months and only ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/15/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Sertraline for depression. It worked quickly. I started feeling great after an hour in. It wasn't until a year later my reaction was actually considered a manic state and that I may be bipolar. My side effects were dry eyes, wrist pain (sleeping with bent wrist), high libido not able to ejaculate, didn't require much sleep, behavior issues, maybe even bone density issues, weight loss. One missed/partial dose caused electro shocks.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Danna | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/14/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Zoloft pulled me out of a major depression twice in my life along with Trazodone and Klonopin- I have GAD which is my primary diagnosis. Granted I had to take 200 mg Zoloft, 300 mg, and Klonopin 0.5 mg BId. I eventually stopped taking everything but Klonopin but I noticed depression creeping back in. I tried to restart Zoloft but couldn't tolerate side effect - made me jittery. My Dr. suggested I start at 50 mg for 2-4 weeks which I did with minimal side effects. I am on my 3rd day now of 100 mg - feel a little jittery but not bad. Additionally- I have always been able to loss weight. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/4/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I always had anxiety and was able to control it however the last year I’ve had a lot of responsibility taking care of one of my sisters and working then I got the flu and pneumonia and my sister passed away. At this point I started with panic attacks that never seemed to go away, I thought I was going to have a heart attack. During this time I couldn’t sleep anxious crying loss of appetite non stop panic attacks couldn’t work etc. I was prescribed the generic Zoloft and this first week was horrible all I did was cry and stay balled up on the floor. Week 2 I made myself go to work and that was ok then week 3 went back to feeling like week 1 horrible. As I am now ending week 5 I am feeling like my old self again! I went out in public shopping, cooking and cleaning again. Please stick it out and be patient I know is easier said then done but it is a miracle I no longer want to die. I read these reviews over and over to help me get through this tuff time so I thought I would share my experience. Your not alone and will make it through thisRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kayden | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/1/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been feeling better and my anxiety and depression through the day has gotten better but when I first started on 25mg I had many side effects such as upset stomach, diarrhea, nausea, dizziness, hand tremors and muscle twitching which began to go away over then span of a week and I went up in dosage to 50mg then the same side effects came back for a few days but it stopped working as well and then I spoke to my doctor and got it to 100mg a week after I started 50mg and my depression has gotten better but I still get short spurts of anxiety where I feel like I might have a panic attack but I breath and it mellows me out but past all the side effects it has helped me daily to be happier and less anxious Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jones | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/30/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I told my self that I would share my experience if Sertraline (Zoloft) helped me, so here I am. I'm a healthy young man, with a fantastic life. Got a job I love, kids and a wife I adore. I have no obvious reason to struggle with my mental health, yet I somehow developed intense panic disorder. I would wake up all night and be shaking, my muscles twitch and tic, I had constant diarrhea, and a feeling of intense dread and despair 24 hours a day. Sertraline made all of that go away almost entirely! The first 2 weeks were very hard. Everything got worse but by day 10 I could feel it starting to work, and my panic attacks beginning to go away. By day 15 I was sleeping through the night and by week 3 I was great, with no side effects. It felt like I had been connected to a torture machine for the brain and then someone turning it down and then turning it off. My thoughts are clear and I've stopped worrying all the time. I think I might have OCD and that's also gone. I love sertraline and I am forever grateful that this exists!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
VJ | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/25/2022
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been on Sertraline before a couple of times and it worked fine. No side effects, made me a little emotionally numb, but at the time it was welcome. This time around, I had diarrhea, major insomnia, dizziness, and the best but worst part of it, HYPOMANIA for like 9 days. it was great but exhausting, I didn't sleep and I did stupid things. I got off of it on 3/31 after taking it for 6 weeks or so and I'm still having withdrawals, like heads, dizziness, and sometimes a weird "empty" feeling in my head. This time it actually made my obsessions a little worse for a while. Oh and memory issues! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Noel | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/21/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had bouts of depression all my life. I just didn’t know it when I was younger. 6 years ago I had a breakdown of sorts because of a very unhappy marriage, crappy job, and an early upbringing full of abuse. I was put on several different antidepressants but none worked for me until I was put in outpatient care and zoloft was given to me. This antidepressant was life changing for me. It helped get out of a dark hole that I was in. I took it for a year and didn’t need it again until recently when I injured my shoulder and got in a depression. I started using it again and most likely will have to use it for life. The downside is it made me a little nauseous for the first week. Also, I have to take it in the morning otherwise I won’t sleep. Also, I can’t have an orgasm if I’m on it, but that’s common with a lot of medications.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/17/2022
Condition: Extreme Apprehension or Fear of Social Interaction
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ive been using zoloft for maybe 4 months? im on a 100mg dose & this is not it. i feel completely empty, im not an impulsive person but ive done some terrible things recently im so ashamed of and i dont know what to do anymore. i also now have headaches, dizzyness, eye aches in my left eye for whatever reason, no appitite, so easily annoyed. if you forget to take it for a couple days youre f'd, i then tried doubling my dosage because i forgot then i kept forgetting after that. not sure if that makes sense, but that was last week. last week was by far the worst week of my life. i dont know what to do with myself anymore, zoloft doesnt work it just makes you feel absolutely nothing. i dont know how to explain how i feel, but its not it lolRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lauren | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/14/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had high hopes, and I know that it works great for lots of people, but the side effects were terrible for me. I couldn’t stop vomiting, and I felt so sick to my stomach that I couldn’t eat anything for days at a time. Even drinking water was difficult. I was exhausted but had the worst insomnia even after taking a sleep aid. Maybe if I pushed through longer, my body would have gotten used to it, hut as a mom of two very young babies, I couldn’t do it any longer. I could barely function.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stacey | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/13/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Before I started Zoloft, I was on Prozac and was reeling from a suicide attempt, severe mental illness and a psych ward visit. Now, I'm on a 200mg Zoloft dose daily and although I still have some symptoms of depression, anxiety and PTSD, I have never been happier. This medication truly changed my life for the better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gemma | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/27/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had suffered with terrible anxiety for a number of years. This would trigger periods of low mood. And eventually I started having panic attacks. After years of therapy and holistic approaches to manage this, I decided to start taking Sertraline. I started on 50mg and 6 months in increased to 100mg. It’s been 10 months total now. I cannot describe how grateful I am this exists and how effective it has been. It’s changed me. Well I’m still me, but I feel lighter, clearer. My brain doesn’t get latched in negative thoughts and then spiral. I feel content and at ease. Mental health issues are a kink in one’s chemistry and not character. For years I felt something was wrong with me. I struggled with all these small, little things that didn’t seem to effect others - but now I feel like I am myself. And lifting that anxiety has positive consequences too. I sleep better (really well actually - insomnia is gone!). So I eat better. And then I have more energy. So I do more exercise. It’s quite extraordinary really. I wish I had made the transition from CBT to Sertraline long before I did! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Step | 45-54 | Transgender | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/16/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have post traumatic stress disorder anxiety and bipolar with leaning towards depressive episodes and social anxiety plus psychotic episodes. I take something else for my psychotic episodes but since I have been 18 years old I have been on Zoloft and now I am 45 years old. It has worked wonders for me. I take 100 mg twice a day. It gives me energy and sometimes a little bit too much so I take visteral to go to sleep since it causes insomnia but I happen to be a 10 cup a day coffee ? drinker. You may never have this problem. It covers my depression my post traumatic stress disorder anxiety depression and social anxiety. Perfect in every Sense of the word. I have been on almost every psychiatric drug out there. This is one of the best for me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/10/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking sertraline since 2017. It has worked wonders for me. It helps my mood, it helps my productivity, and I feel like myself again. I still have my hard days, but I would recommend this to anyone struggling with depression, social anxiety, and the works. The only drawback is it effects my libido a little bit! Benefits outweigh drawbacks, though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Katie | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/3/2022
Condition: Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started Zoloft for OCD, anxiety, and depression. I've been on it for 2 1/2 months and so far I have seen a lot of progress. Right away, I lost a lot of weight in about a week or two, which is scary because I am only 14 years old. Other than that, I have not had any side effects since. My depression and anxiety have definitely slowed down, but my OCD has gotten progressively worse. That said, I am continuing to increase my dose to fix this issue with my OCD, but over all this medicine has been very effective.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Graham | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/3/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

To get a proper assessment you need to read reviews of someone like me who has taken the drug long term. For me it took a good 6 weeks to begin working during which time my dosage was increased from 50 to 200mg in stages. Once at 200 mg, I found the drug worked for me. I had suffered two long bouts of severe anxiety which was so bad that I couldn’t lie down at night let alone sleep. I was in a bad place and not sure that I could survive much longer as I could only get rest with sleeping pills which were becoming less effective. Despite counselling, I was stuck with my anxiety fuelled by being unable to see a way out. I couldn’t function at all and I was deteriorating physically. I’ve been told to take Zoloft for several years. I’ve had no side effects and all research suggests they are suitable for long term use. I was on the brink of giving up after 6 weeks but my message is to persevere. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Maurice | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/2/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would like to share I was prescribed zoloft 25mg for panic disorder I have severe gerd so acid be traveling up my throat to my chest the pain be near my heart so it makes me worry on top of stress because of my living arrangements at the moment I took one pill yesterday around 6pm I was feeling back to normal calm no nervousness I was laughing ect.... the next day I took a pill around 7am I had a panic attack and felt super anxious was really to call the ambulance by I fought this time im really tired of feeling like this......I'll keep you updated Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pharmacon | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/28/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I kept yawning and yawning. I got so drowsy but couldn't sleep. It also got stuck in my throat and melted in my esophagus and burned all day. It also made my stomach feel weird.. I'd eat alot and drink A LOT of water before taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wayne | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/21/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had 1/2 a dose because my doctor wanted me to start slowly and thought it may help with anxiety. Within 3 hrs I couldn’t talk, was in a daze, disoriented. I looked like someone with dimentia. I stood in front of my house for an hour not knowing where I was until my wife found me. It was horrific!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sam | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/18/2022
Condition: Anxiousness associated with Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on Zoloft for a few months. Went from 25mg to 100 just due to my generalized depression and major anxiety disorder. I’m still not sure what’s up with my brain but this medication has helped so much with my dissociation. I used to have terrible acne too and since taking Zoloft it cleared up a LOT. I don’t really have issues with my libido. Not like I did before. This medication makes me enjoy life again. I don’t have many psychosis episodes anymore nor mental breakdowns as much as I did in the past. Sometimes though I don’t take my meds on time so I’d definitely recommend sticking to a time and being consistent with it or else you will definitely have mood swings. There are a few times I went off for nearly a week and I had a very bad time lol. I shaved off my eyebrows and cut my hair so short due to mania. I don’t know what I would do without these pills, as sad as it sounds, I would probably have killed myself. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/30/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was always so scared to go on meds because I had heard so many mix reviews, but as for someone who ended up going for it, I can say it was 100% worth it. As someone who struggles with a panic disorder, intrusive thoughts, and depression, this medication made life so much easier. The only side effect I have it night sweats but if that means I’m anxiety free, I’ll take it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More