Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

138 People found this comment helpful

Just because I did read so many 'bad' reviews when I started Sertraline.. I feel I owe the world my positive experience : ) My day to day life has changed from a constant battle to a breeze. Now I finally feel my normal self again, I realise how anxious and depressed I was. I am a intelligent high functioning person that still got by on shear will power. I have been taking it 2 months and only ...

Shared reviews and ratings

LEAH | 25-34 | Female |
1/21/2023
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hello, I told myself when I was better I’d write a review because I came on here everyday looking for reassurance. I’ve always suffered from anxiety but something happened where I just really fell apart.. couldn’t leave my couch or take care of my family and was feeling just out of it and was stuck feeling like I was in a dream (depersonalizations-derealization disorder). I went to the doctor and she suggested I start Zoloft .25mg and worked my way up to 100mg. It’s been a journey to say the least. The side effects really got to me and it does get worse before it gets better. It made my anxiety worse when I started. I was also really nauseous. It does go away so push through. I finally feel back to myself. I still have my moments but I am dealing a lot better. I am now diagnosed with General Anxiety Disorder (GAD). I truly thought I was loosing my mind and myself, and thought I’d never get better. It took me 10 weeks to feel like myself again. I was really scared but don’t give up! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mrs hHollins | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/10/2022
Condition: Premenstrual Disorder with a State of Unhappiness
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on sertraline for six months. I started on 50 mg increase to 100 mg then 150. mg I could not tolerate this amount I had trembling and stuttering it did not help my panic attacks so the medication was put down to 100 mg a few days ago I past blood clots and bright blood I was told to discontinue straight away so am left with all the withdrawal symptoms. I now have to take iron tablets because I am anaemic and feel worse then ever

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kassie1 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/17/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Turned me into a zombie plus had side effects first two weeks (stomach hurts increased depression) And everyone around me noticed. I stopped and switched to Seroxat/ best decision ever- no serious side effects mood increase and energy, I am able once again to do activitities outside my job and stopped catostrophizing every single event in my life. Everyone is different- try both and see what works. Don’t stay in the pain??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shelby | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/8/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No side effects for me. Took away all anxiety and racing thoughts, dont have as many panic attacks, or as bad. I was amazed by this medication idk why it has such a bad rep!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Noah | 13-18 | Transgender | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
11/6/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was a pretty good medication at first, I felt pretty at ease and mediocre. I felt at ease and mediocre. eventually it stopped working and made things 10x worse. My irritability was off the walls, it took me twice as much time to get up for activities and of course my suicidal ideation had gotten way worse. I had to be hospitalized for these reasons. Would NOT recommend to anyone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jb | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/26/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it brang my anxiety to the surface so i could understand it and prevent it. it helped me see above the maze that i was stuck in for so long

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kiele (Kylie) | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
10/14/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Felt nothing on this. Took it for 6 months and I don't even remember much from that time and it's only been 3 years

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MortSciGuy | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/11/2022
Condition: Bipolar Depression
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was placed on Zoloft to help with symptoms of bipolar. Almost immediately after taking the drug, I noticed muscle stiffness and uncontrollable shaking in my hands, along with confusion and strange and unpredictable thought processes and patterns. I became very alarmed and went to the emergency room on advice from my family (who noticed that I was in severe mental distress). I was diagnosed with Seratonin Syndrome and immediately taken off Zoloft. Zoloft is now listed as one of two drugs that I am allergic to. Not related to my experience with the drug but more of a cautionary tale, I was reprimanded by my Psychiatrist for not contacting her before admitting myself to the ER. If you are experiencing side effects similar to mine, seek help immediately and find a different Doctor if they will chastise you over your decision to seek help outside their office.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kath | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/10/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had generalised anxiety disorder for as long as I can remember. I started on Zoloft around 2.5yrs ago 50mg and it made me feel so much more balanced. My thoughts were clear, less irritability and more confidence instead of overthinking shadowing everything. I have just had a baby and I’m back to work, I feel like the transition going back is so stressful so I’m increasing to 100mg, I hope it goes ok. I previously tried citalopram for years and it didn’t work for me. I occasionally take propanalol for performance anxiety like big meetings or delivering training sessions.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
zac | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/1/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m a person who has had some issues with being happy enough to have any sense of purpose or will to do anything. So much so that I can’t communicate with ppl. I have no spirit to have simple conversation. I pre occupy my self with work and weed if not weed I will be out jogging and lifting weights getting in extremely healthy shape and eating plant based food and taking my dog places. I’ve had a social life before but always detach myself from ppl and end up talking to absolutely no one for months and years. I got Zoloft on accident in the mail and let me tell you the next day I woke up from taking one. I have never experienced just being settled and happy with my current life. I am ready to start the day I was jogging randomly on the morning dog walk which I haven’t done in a year. any interaction I have with ppl has been a good one. I actually feel like smiling and singing for no reason and speaking with enough energy to articulate all my words. I used to not even care about anything because of my outlook. I think Zoloft is really great so far. I’m on the 2nd day.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Layia | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/20/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used to lay in bed every day, all day, no exaggeration. I’m talking no showers for weeks, no brushing teeth for even longer, and 0 productivity. I even googled if anyone else even went through something like that because it seems like everyone else takes care of themselves and isn’t capable of sleeping for 14 hours+ Daily for months on end. I was highly suicidal and genuinely did not see continuing living as a feasible option. When I began this medicine I was nervous because I saw some pretty unpleasant sounding reviews but what I’ve noticed is that everyone is different, DON’T GIVE UP IF THIS SPECIFIC MEDICINE OR SOME OTHERS DON’T WORK OUT. Keep trying. Persist. I was nauseous yes and that was highly unpleasant, also I was on a low dosage for longer than need be, try to pay attention to the 4-6 week time mark and if you aren’t t improved to the point of getting out of bed more often or at-least washing occasionally then ask for a higher dosage. When I asked for a higher dosage I immediately began feeling like a million bucks. By choice. By choosing different thought patterns because now I felt capable to, I chose to summon gratefulness. I chose to get excited and feel relaxed and joyful when I thought if all the wonder the world is and how lucky I am to see some of it. Ultimately that is what we all want right? To be thankful and happy to be alive. This medicine has made it possible to feel those feelings and before it, I was very doubtful I ever could.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Alexes219 | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/16/2022
Condition: Posttraumatic Stress Syndrome
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have never wanted to be medicated and growing up in a holistic family it was taboo to suggest we needed external help for emotional/mental issues. After years of white knuckling my symptoms, they regressed into agoraphobia, OCD, and stuttering. It was very hard to throw myself into my daily situations as I had been. My emotions became more volatile and my therapist once again recommended medication. I decided to experiment with different medications, swearing each one made me feel sick or different. However, I decided to stick with Zoloft because it had the least undesirable side effects... after a couple of weeks they disappeared. I have noticed that I have been living underwater my whole life kicking and screaming for air. Now that I am taking it, I don't feel like my life is constantly being threatened. I got off of it last week and all of my old emotions and bodily sensations came back, so I got a new psych and they put me on the lowest dose again. I can finally have a consistent job and be a normal member of society!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mel | 25-34 | Nonbinary | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/12/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been struggling with depression for as long as I can remember and it has taken me years to accept I needed help. After months of therapy I was still feeling extremely suicidal. I had intrusive thoughts on a daily basis and could barely function while my anger issues were getting worse. Finally I decided to follow my therapist's advice and start taking medication. The first two weeks on sertraline were awful. I had nightmares, extreme mood swings, panic attacks, excessive sweating, loss of appetite and felt somehow dissociated but after this time I noticed progressive improvement. To anyone who might decide to start taking sertraline: 1.take time off work for the first ten days at least, so you can just relax and not have to worry about other things. 2.if you can, stay with somebody you trust who can assist you and be near you (don't be alone if you can) and please don't take up responsabilities during this time (no driving, no cooking, no cleaning) there should be somebody who can help with that. 3.keep a diary of whatever symptom you have in the first two weeks. Call your doctor for reassurance if you need but please stick to sertraline for at least 10 days (unless a medical professional says not to) ALWAYS check with your therapist/doctor and NEVER interrupt on your own 4.if sertraline doesn't work for you, consider discussing this with your doctor/therapist and try something else. We're all different so what might work for me, might not work for you but don't give up! You deserve to be ok. 5.sertraline hasn't changed who I am, if anything it has made me feel like myself again and has balanced my moods to the point that now I feel calmer, able to express and process my emotions and has allowed me to digest many repressed things I wasn't able to face before.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
moo | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/9/2022
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Initially when i started this medication in june, the first month or 2 where horrible. No apetite, nausea 24 hours a day, crazy weight loss, memory issues, apathetic emotions, aggressively horrible nightmares, sxual issues that were so frusturating etc. It was so bad that i wanted to get off of it, but at the time i wanted to get off, it started to work??? I started to feel happier, less anxious, i would do things i usually would panic over and have trouble doing, most of those horrible symptoms have gone away and i feel a lot better. Although i still have some anxiety which is cut down by 60 to 75% on a good day, bad nightmares, memory issues which seem to be getting better and lack of apetite..i feel like its worth it. I feel like im functioning somewhat like a normal person, the noise in my head is gone and it give me so much joy..i suffered so much for years that it caused so many problems that were ruining parts of my life it felt, and now i feel semi normal! I definitely reccomend taking this if your anxiety is crippling like mine has been, but remember some of the side effects can be permanent depending on how your body reacts to it so, please be careful, i was lucky enough that the sexual part normalized and nothing has gotten worse. Pls consider these things before taking it and i am only on 50mg. <3Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
danny | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
9/7/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My anxiety caused depression and after 10 years of not using drugs to treat my anxiety I tried zoloft and it's been the best thing for my anxiety and depression. Side effects lasted 2 weeks and were tolerable. The crazy dreams were pretty cool I miss them now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Antoinette | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/30/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I so wanted this to work. Was hopeful but unfortunately had an allergic reaction. For the few days I was on it I noticed less anxiety already. If you’re not having an allergic reaction, then give this a chance.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Matt | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/28/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Im a 38 year old male. Here is some background on my situation. As long as i can remember ive been horrendous at dealing with stress and not getting my own way. Shouting and ranting. Ive never been physically violent to anyone but used to smash things up in a blind rage. When i was younger i remember doors being destroyed hitting walls etc. As i grew older i became more argumentative and very disagreeable, even when i 100% knew i was wrong, i just couldnt let go. As you can imagine it is very hard for my family (3 step children and 2 biological children with the same mother as the step children) to live with. I would argue with my fiancè 3 or more times a day and swear i was in the right all the time. She gave me chance after chance. I swore id never be too weak id need to medicate - probably my biggest mistake ever. Ive been taking Sertraline for 2years now and wish i had done so from my early teens. My life is so much easier. The intense feelings of anger/rage arnt there anymore. I do take the highest recommended amount 200mg (I started on 50mg went to 100mg after 4months then 200mg after a huge row). It feels like a fog has been removed from all conversations i have and im able to understand whats being said rather than misinterpreting everything and feeling like its an attack on me or an insult. My relationship with my family is so much better now they dont feel like they have to walk on egg shells around me. Taking this medication has changed my life and i will be forever grateful to my fiancée for putting up with my bs for aslong as she did. Sertraline is a wonder drug! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/22/2022
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been on Zoloft before but I decided to go on it again during my senior year of high school. I was severely depressed and was not myself. I lost 20 pounds and getting very skinny. I felt hopeless and the depression started to cause anxiety. I would be throwing up in the morning just having anxiety about college which was still 3 months away. As therapy didn’t help enough was enough. I went back on zoloft and although it caused stomach issues at first it got better and I felt back to my old productive, humorous self. This did take about 5 weeks to see the full benefit but it was well worth it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Redhawk | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/22/2022
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had panic attacks-they are gone, I was unable to drive for pleasure trips-I just drove 6 hours to Las Vegas and for first time enjoyed the visit! NO ANXIETY ! PRAISE GOD! Took away my stress eating!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anastasia | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/15/2022
Condition: Repeated Episodes of Anxiety
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had previously taken Zoloft years ago and it worked incredibly well for both my anxiety and depression. I ended up coming off it because of a side effect (lack of interest in intimacy with my partner and it was affecting him). I’m back on it now after a few years and a small stint on lexapro, which didn’t work for me (horrible dreams, constant sweating and no improvement to my anxiety). I never really understood how bad my anxiety had gotten until Zoloft started working. I’ve been on it for 6 weeks now and feel so much lighter. My OCD has calmed right down and I can think more clearly and rationally. For example, every time I’d leave the house, I’d be convinced that it would burn down with my dogs inside if I didn’t turn off every light. I don’t dwell on the what ifs as much, I’m more open to just going with the flow. This has been so far somewhat life changing for me. Everything just feels like it has slowed down and I can enjoy the little things in life again. Hope this review helps, but also keep in mind that ssri’s work differently for everyone. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More