Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

54 People found this comment helpful

This product does work. I am a 35 year old woman with mild traction alopecia. I started seeing results after about 6 weeks. One side effect that I was not expecting is that I am getting hair growth in places I don't want hair. Be careful to cover any minoxidil-treated areas before you go to sleep. If it gets on your pillow, or drips from your scalp onto your face, you might notice small patch...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

After applying Minoxidil & Finasteride Gel (X-PECIA) 3 weeks more found these problems with body • Trouble breathing (especially while lying down) • Fast or pounding heartbeats • Sudden numbness, weakness, headache, confusion, problems with vision, speech, or balance • Sore throat & feel like something has food stucked • Feeling like I might pass out (this is most happening) • Can’t ca...

Shared reviews and ratings

ThisSHITsucks | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/3/2022
Condition: Hair Loss
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

First off it’s for the top of the head only and not for the hairline they should put that on the box before somebody purchase it so waste of my money, waste of my time

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Desert Daisy | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/26/2022
Condition: Hair Loss
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 57 year old woman with hypothyroid disease. I've struggled with chronic hair loss for the past 8 years since my thyroid was removed. My daughter suggested Rogaine for men to see if this would help restore some of my hair loss. Unfortunately, for me, it is giving me really bad side effects. I've been applying it as directed for a month now and I just started getting severe headaches, extreme swelling to my face and throat,, an increase in heart rate and also the lymph nodes in my arm pits are swollen as well. I have discontinued use of the product and would rather figure out a different solution than to continue feeling like I cannot breathe or swallow. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/24/2022
Condition: Hair Loss
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was told in my 20s that my hair thinning was generic and nothing could be done about it. I investigated and decided to try minoxidil. I have now been using it for 16 years and am very pleased with the results. I have to put up with facial hair but prefer electrolysis, plucking, shaving or wearing a wig to going bald. I buy it cheaply over the internet although you take your chance as one batch was obviously fake and my hair started to come out after 4 months of use. I used to use the 2% twice a day but now use the 5% just once, in the morning.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nicolas | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/10/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

One year without problems, then panic attacks, extreme weakness, shortness of breath, general distress like I was poisoned and as if I was going to die. Never again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/24/2022
Condition: Hair Loss
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The price is high the experience is great ..the female pattern baldness in my case developed awhile back so it's gonna take awhile I see great results .just wish the price was lower .I love the foam I am trusting the process and being patient .I only wish I could get more and not worry about running out My MD Prescribed this 5 percent once a day

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pinaco | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/12/2021
Condition: Hair Loss
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chris | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/7/2021
Condition: Hair Loss
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a good run, with no hair loss until I was 50. But after that, in the past 4 years, I had all but given up on keeping my hair. Male pattern baldness hit, and then, I noticed the foam at my local Rx store, and I kept at it, and in 6 months, I had most my hair back....I mean not all of what I had, but enough to say hey, I'm not balding anymore. I took Saw Palmetto with it. So yes, it does work, but you need to keep at it, and I do recommend the Saw Palmetto suppliments with it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Waris | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/14/2021
Condition: Hair Loss
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It all started when i was 24, observed rapid hair loss at at Temple and Crown of my scalp. I consulted a doctor and who recommended me this along with Finax tablet and a shampoo, after a 4-6 weeks of use it worked like a charmer and I started getting my hair back and then I stopped taking the pills as I didn't find it well however continued with Minoxidil on an off as I was having sever scalp itching problem, I am 28 now and have my crown area of scalp very thin and back to use it again, lets see if it can help get my hair back.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mari | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/2/2021
Condition: Hair Loss
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I never got to see if Rogaine worked for my hair loss (female) because I experienced a symptom I have not see recorded anywhere. After using for about a week, the lymph nodes under my arms started to hurt badly. I thought I had cancer, so I visited my doctor and got a mammogram. Nothing was found. I stopped using it, and eventually the symptom stopped. Of course, I wanted to make certain Rogainre was causing the pain, so I tried it again a couple of months later, and the pain was back. I stopped and started using it again another month later. Every time, I experienced pain, and every time the pain went away when I stopped. I was so disappointed because I really want to correct my disappearing hair problem. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anne | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/8/2021
Condition: Hair Loss
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m getting married and bought hers regrowth serum with Minoxidil to thicken up my thinning hair for the wedding. The first time I used it I immediately felt really dizzy but brushed it off as something else. The next few days I struggled with lack of sleep, shortness of breath and almost fainted at a client lunch...I actually have a history of fainting, like a lot, so that didn’t really tip me off either. A few days later after working out, my resting heart was up to 116 (I workout a TON so my resting heart rate is NEVER that high) and wouldn’t go back down no matter what I tried. I originally thought that was from stress (wedding planning lol) and I took a few days off to relax. I didn’t keep up my normal routine (including applying hers twice a day) just relaxed and of course started to feel normal again. Once I was ready to get back to life (and started using hers again) the same issues came back....only then did I realize that this was a side effect of the solution and not stress!!! I’ve never felt so awful and will never use it again. It’s honestly surprising to me that it’s just sold over the counter at target. I’m obviously fine now but I’m pretty self aware and it still took me like 2 weeks to catch on to what was causing all of this. Thankful nothing worse happened. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aaaa | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/25/2020
Condition: Hair Loss
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It brought me insomnia

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LBCjdc | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/25/2018
Condition: Hair Loss
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I want to clarify what I said in my review. I said minoxidil only works if you have a diagnosis of female pattern hair loss. I meant if you are a woman. If you are a man, I suspect the diagnosis would be male pattern hair loss.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
James G. | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/6/2018
Condition: Hair Loss
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

please don't ever use this drug. I have reviewed some of customers comments before I bought it and most of them described that it obviously causes them lose sex drive. I ignored their experience and ordered it, it really does!! I'm so embarrassed to experience such a problem with my soul mate

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TonyT | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/14/2017
Condition: Hair Loss
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I come from a family history of bald men. I started using this from age 40 when I was starting to loose coverage, and 12 years on, still have a full head of hair.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
rob | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/31/2017
Condition: Hair Loss
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started seeing peach fuzz after a couple of months with the 5%. It's now thickening and getting longer. For the first couple of weeks, hair loss increased (as the label said), but once I got past the first few weeks, I started seeing progress.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
H | 13-18 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/27/2017
Condition: Hair Loss
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My barber commented on my receding hairline 4 months before my 18th birthday. I hadn't noticed it myself until and he said I was going to be completely bald by the time I was 20. I'd say I was 2 on the Norwood Scale. After having pretty bad acne through out my early / mid teen years and just about clearing up now, this news was devastating. I convinced myself, along with the help of family and friends, that I was not receding and that my barber was wrong. I went through a stage of denial and slight depression due to the thought of losing my hair at 17. However, this did not help as it put me off starting to use regaine (rogaine for those in America). Trust me, the sooner you start to use minoxidil the better. There is no shame. Once I started to use regaine I did not experience the 2 week shedding stage which led me to believe that minoxidil was not working. However, 3 months later I noticed lots of hairs growing on my temples where I had receded and my hairline was no longer looking thinner. If you're worried about losing your hair like me and do not want to go on finasteride (I live in the U.K. and I would need to be prescribed finasteride by my GP, or physician, which he was not willing to do due to my age and side effects) I would seriously recommend minoxidil - give it a go and if it doesn't work then at least you know you've tried. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dave | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/18/2016
Condition: Hair Loss
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

got hair back after 2 months

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Katrina | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/16/2016
Condition: Hair Loss
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been a user for a year now and definitely see results. I took before, during, and after pics throughout my use. I will continue to use it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hotttt1 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/21/2016
Condition: Hair Loss
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Well I have been using this products for 1 month and a few days but Believe me no side effects bugged me or no serious things scared me. Well It didn't improve anyhing in my hair till now but one thing it did is clear off blisters of my head that I used to have.. May be it takes time to show results so I will stick to it... Well I know one thing coming to this stage took me 4 years and a few months so I don't expect minoxidil to get me back where I was years back in a month or tow.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kerry | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/23/2015
Condition: Hair Loss
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started loosing my hair due to autoimmune disease and medication. Within 3 months of using this product my hair started to grow all over my head. After 5 months, the hairs are thick and about 3 inches in length. I now have more hair than I ever had. I love the result. Using the 5% mens with no side effects to date.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More