Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

32 People found this comment helpful

I Have severe asthma, also copd and emphysema. i have struggled with my breathing since i was 19yrs old. i have been on this medicine for 1 month now and it has helped me so much, i havent even suffered any side effects from this medicine, as i have from many others. This is wonderful medicine.

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

Doctor perscribed medication for 300 and not 30mg. I ended up in the hospital with severe headache, dehyrdration, and vomitting. Overall the drug worked, but the overdose effected me in mostly negative ways.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/19/2016
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking theophylline for 38 years and other then having to adjust the dosage at times have had no problems wit it am now on the extended release twice a day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/30/2016
Condition: COPD with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with asthma in my early 20's and due to my smoking COPD followed shortly thereafter. I could tell you the name of every inhaler on the market and rate each just by seeing the color. A friend said she tried this medicine her Dr. perscribed but it made her jittery and she wanted to know if I wanted to try it before she threw it away. My breathing was so bad that I was headed to oxygen shortly. I tried this Theophylline and it was like some kind of miracle! I called her and said save those pills!! I asked my Dr. to write me up. That was 6 or 7 years ago. I take 200 MG twice a day and I've never had any side effects. I have suggested this to many people I see like myself,struggling to breathe. I stopped the ADVAIR and Spiriva and only use Ventolin now. About 1 inhaler a week. I'm convinced that this medication has kept me alive when I had 3 different Dr's telling me I would / should be dead by now. I am now 51 and no I can't run a marathon but I don't need oxygen yet and I can still do most of the things I want. Start out slow on your dosage.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/22/2015
Condition: COPD with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had used this in the past with chronic bronchitis and had great success with this medicine with no side affects. I had been off of this medication for many years and recently had an severe asthma- COPD issue and insisted that this be prescribed for me as I am not using inhaled corticosteroids which have many more side affects and increase your risk of asthma related death. I spent three days in the hospital and have experienced a vast improvement of my lung function. I use 300 mg twice daily. This medicine has been in use for many many years without the serious side effects many of the new medicines have causing them to be removed from the market. I would not use anything else.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HAPPY BREATHING | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/25/2014
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

THE ONLY THING THAT WOULD HELP ME WAS PREDNISONE BUT SINCE I STARTED TAKING THIS I HAVE NOT HAD TO HIT MY INHAULER AS MUCH AS I USE TO AND I AM ABLE TO WORK OUT MORE THE ONLY THING THAT BOTHERS ME IS THE HEAT BURN HOPEFULLY IT WILL GET BETTER.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/18/2014
Condition: Emphysema
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has caused some stomach pain. I have GERD also. The most annoying side effect is that it affects urination. I already have some stress incontinence. This medication makes that worse. I can only tolerate one 100 MG tablet per day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/19/2014
Condition: COPD with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Gastrointestional problems from day one. Severe diahrea for 28 days now. Sick stomach. I do not know what a high dose is but I am on 450mg a day. Helps great with the breathing but I am afraid I will have to stop because of the side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/27/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Improves my severe breathing problems Infratrated lung disease Copd

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/26/2012
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using tis drug for over 33 years now. Very strong side efffects for the first 2 weeks. They went away with time and have been stabalized for many years on 300 mg. twice a day. Dr discontinued for about a year and only medicine that helped me then was prednisone daily. Was able to d/c prednisone when theophylline restarted. Great medicine for my asthma!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Meme61 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/14/2012
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Asthma
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine is the best for me, it has made a significant change from uncontrolled to almost controlled. My wheezing has gone from constant to just 1 to 2 times a day. I'm on inhalers and singulair but medicine, by far,has had the biggest impact.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
phyllsstanley56 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/12/2012
Condition: COPD with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have just started taking this medicine.After the first one I took I could breathe a lot better.So far no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mini | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/20/2012
Condition: COPD with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

theophylline 300 tab has helped me alot

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/29/2011
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 66 and take this medicine space out 5 times a day. It works great but does make me nervous at times. Also at night I still have breathing problems when the pills effect have worn off in the middle of the night. But overall this medicine is better that anything I have taken in the past. I started out with 400mg 5 times a day but the side effects were to strong, I now take 200mg 5 times a day and other that the nervous side effect I can breathe ok.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/16/2011
Condition: Emphysema
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

THIS MED. IS GOOD BUT LOWER"S MY POTTASUM LEVEL

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/5/2011
Condition: COPD with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have A dry throat and start coughing a lot and it makes me gag

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joyce | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/23/2011
Condition: COPD with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Itend to have several of the side affects,which are feel like throwing up,nervous,trouble sleeping,stomach cramps,easily angered,dizzy,twiching,frequent urination.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/5/2010
Condition: Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
A. Dickerson | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/8/2010
Condition: Asthma
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doctor perscribed medication for 300 and not 30mg. I ended up in the hospital with severe headache, dehyrdration, and vomitting. Overall the drug worked, but the overdose effected me in mostly negative ways.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/3/2010
Condition: Chronic Obstructive Asthma
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking the Theo-dur 400mg for 3 yrs now. I was feeling great until my local pharmacy no longer carried that certain brand. When I changed over, I had such bad headaches, nausea and vomiting. I spoke with the pharmacist who told me that it shouldn't be such a huge difference. Is my body just trying to adjust to this new brand?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tanyawilson4 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/20/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Just didnt work for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
1derful daughter in law | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Caregiver
3/1/2010
Condition: Emphysema
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mother in law has been taking this medication for a couple of years. Lately she has had a lot of problems with nausea and vomiting. The Dr. finally lowered her dose and she is doing some better. She takes 3 other medicines for breathing and it doesn't appear that this particular medicine is helping all that much. She is also on oxygen 24/7

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More