Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

19 People found this comment helpful

The first 3 months of this drug definitely helped my RLS, but created nausea and hallucinations (flowers on the curtains jumping off curtains). I stuck it out though. 5 years later I still take the same dose but no longer have side effects. Definitely worth it in the long run.

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

actually i am taking Sifrol , and i wish toknow the side effects of Sifrol ,and if there is a vitamin supplement i could take to rid me of this discomfort permanently

Shared reviews and ratings

BNuckols | 55-64 | Female | Patient
2/16/2021
Condition: Extreme Discomfort in Calves when Sitting or Lying Down
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very effective for RLS with nocturnal leg cramps. If I forget or delay, it works in less than an hour. I've been on it for over 5 years. However: do not stop medication abruptly or run out! Horrible withdrawal syndrome, with palpitations, feverish, total body aches, head ache.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Moira | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/7/2020
Condition: Extreme Discomfort in Calves when Sitting or Lying Down
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Happy the first 6 mos. on .125 mg daily. Then augmentation began. More and more required to stop rls problem and now, after 2 years, dose is .25mg 3 x a day, though I try to keep dosage to 2 pills a day. Also, side effects of drowsiness that can happen quickly and lower leg swelling not relieved by diuretics. Dr. Buchfuhrer has written a book about restless leg syndrome everyone with the condition would find very helpful. I have to get off this drug that not very effective for me anymore. Weight gain this past year along with fluid retention. I'm going to see a doctor about buprenorphen or pregabalin. Got to wean off pramipexole!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Faux Librarian | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/22/2019
Condition: Extreme Discomfort in Calves when Sitting or Lying Down
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I also find that medication must be taken around 6 PM to sleep at 11 PM. There are occasions it works less well. This past month twice I felt my legs had electric currents charging them. Pill shape and color recently changed. Was very small oblong lavender pill. Recent RX is white and 2.5X that size, The Pramipexole now has Dihydrochlo after it. Additionally, I have gained 10 lbs while using this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Restless legs | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/27/2019
Condition: Extreme Discomfort in Calves when Sitting or Lying Down
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has been very effective at relieving my restless legs symptoms. I dont have any problems with urges or hallucinations. Helps me get a restfull nights sleep. It takes about an hour to start workig. If i go to bed before it is working my legs will twitch and jerk. It helps me to get a good 7 to 9 hors of sleep. Im very thankful for how this medication has helped my restless legs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
G-MAMA | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/21/2019
Condition: Extreme Discomfort in Calves when Sitting or Lying Down
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For leg pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cath | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/30/2019
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Pramipexole for 7 weeks since my diagnosis of young onset Parkinson's Disease. My hand tremors have not improved and my leg has begun to tremor.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sandy | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/16/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It works great but I must take it with dinner or the RLS returns and I cannot get to sleep until it kicks in. As an avid cyclist, I find the dose works better during cycling season.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sheriwnds | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/7/2017
Condition: Extreme Discomfort in Calves when Sitting or Lying Down
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Mirapex has been a savior for me until recently. I am taking it with tizanidine. Lately, they just don't work. Ropinarole was added and seems to make the symptoms worse. I'm up to three tabs at night of ropinarole and my legs and arms are constantly wanting to twitch and jerk. Don't sleep more than 3-4 hours, too restless to lay there.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PAW | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/4/2017
Condition: Extreme Discomfort in Calves when Sitting or Lying Down
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have restless legs, this drug has stopped them completely. I have been using this drug for 12 years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kathy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/28/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this for RLS every evening at 6:00. I have my alarm set so I won't forget. It takes 2 hours to kick in, but without it I wouldn't be able to sleep at all. Taking it makes me forget I have RLS, until I forget to take it for some reason, usually away from my usual routine. I keep it in my purse, my car, and at home.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
igor | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/28/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Work well until its time to sleep. Lately I have been going to bed and lying there until I fall asleep even though my legs are still jumping. Try to sleep during daytime but with little success.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anicegirly | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/23/2016
Condition: Extreme Discomfort in Calves when Sitting or Lying Down
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for three years. At first, it worked great. As time went on, it seems to be less and less effective. If I forget to take it soon enough, my legs never fail me to let me know. It seems to take 2 hours or more before it kicks in. I have even put it under my tongue before hoping it would work sooner. I am now on the Neupro Patch, put it on in the morning and change it at the same time the next morning. This is a god send! I don't even know that I have RLS anymore. There are several doses so if the low dose is not enough, your Dr. can bump it up. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/14/2016
Condition: Parkinson's Disease
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Along with sinimet it stops my tremors.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pramipexole | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/22/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking .5mg/day which helped for a while, then the jumping nerves became more severe. My doctor increased the dosage to 2 tablets a day. I began having severe scalp itch. I threw away expensive pillows, bought new pillows,changed bedding, nothing helped. I began analyzing my situation.My scalp was so itchy it woke me up at night. Some nights it brought me to tears. I couldn't stand it. The itch went away during the daytime. I stopped taking this medication for one night. My itchy scalp completely disappeared. But I sure paid for it the next day. My legs were uncontrollable. I am dog tired but can't settle down to sleep. I have asked my pharmacist to suggest another medication to my doctor. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
okjoe | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/7/2015
Condition: Extreme Discomfort in Calves when Sitting or Lying Down
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed at 0.125mg for chronic RLS. Had to give it up in the first week due to EXTREMELY severe all over body cramps. Made me wish for the RLS back as it was much easier on me. Hallucinations too boot. Glad it works great for some, but definitely NOT for everybody. Will continue looking and hoping.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Chatter8ug | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/5/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for about 10 years. I never noticed any side effects. I cannot miss a dose. I take .25 in the am and .50 in the evening about 1 hour before bedtime. I have Periodic Limb Movement Syndrome. Before this pill I rubbed holes in my sheets with my feet. Now I sleep peacefully for 6-8 hours a night. Don't drink with this medicine it will make you loopy!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Becca | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/13/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This med stopped my restless legs but made me feel so bad I was at the point of quitting work. I was weak, nauseated and constipated so badly that even a laxative didn't help. It's a shame that it does such a great job with making the RLS go away but the side effects for me weren't worth it. I stayed with it for 2 months and couldn't go any longer. Withdrawal is very tough as the RLS comes back.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/1/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

only taken it twice because both times I wake up from a dead sleep with nausea and vomiting.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MomOf4 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
4/4/2015
Condition: Extreme Discomfort in Calves when Sitting or Lying Down
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first 3 months of this drug definitely helped my RLS, but created nausea and hallucinations (flowers on the curtains jumping off curtains). I stuck it out though. 5 years later I still take the same dose but no longer have side effects. Definitely worth it in the long run.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Josie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/12/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have suffered with RLS for years. I was up at all hours of the night and always very tired in the mornings. The .5 dosage made me extremely nauseous so I split the pills and took 1/2 for a week. Nausea began to subside so I went back to the .5 dosage. I had almost immediate relief! I'm sleeping better and actually feel rested in the mornings now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More