Show ratings & reviews for

4.1 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

108 People found this comment helpful

I am 26 year old woman living in California. I have been on medication for Hypothyroidism for 2 years. For the first year my doctor, as most of the doctors, put me on Synthroid. I did not like this medicine for nothing, because it's three times more expensive than Armour, I was constantly loosing hair (I was lietrally getting bold) and I was very miserable and depressed, and my face was puffy and...

Shared reviews and ratings

Mommabear | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/24/2022
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I felt horrible on synthroid. Doctor switched me to Armour. Best thing ever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary MJ | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/22/2022
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on armour thyroid for 45 years. A few ups and downs with dosing. Then 6 months ago my TSH would not get stable, i went to an endocrinologist. They put me on levothyroxine 125mg Six weeks later on 100mg, after labs were not normal.., I have been having too many symptoms of chest pain, shaky hands, irritable, anxious, exhaustion… At the next visit and lab results. I am gonna ask to put me back on the armour thyroid… when my levels were off then , my only side effect was being tired At 70 years old, I cannot handle all the side effects from trying levothyroxine. Hope the endo will put me back on armour thyroid meds. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carol | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/8/2022
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on 60 mg of Armour for 15 years and it has worked great for me. I tried Synthroid and I couldn’t tolerate it at all. I wish the FDA would pay attention to how many women prefer Armour and have insurance cover it. It is ridiculous that all these years we have to pay out of pocket.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
A | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/8/2022
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this in 2019 for under active thyroid. My tsh was 2.98 and my free t3 was 2.6. I wasn’t feeling well. I was getting frequent headaches, feeling down, and stressed. I never noticed a difference when I started taking it in how I felt. But I continued taking it and my tsh went down. My labs were “good” and I should have been feeling good. I wasn’t. Eventually I discovered intermittent fasting and my migraines almost completely stopped. I was still not feeling right though. I decided to add cytomel in thinking maybe that was the missing piece. My free t3 had been consistently low normal. I started feeling worse and gaining weight. Completely fed up I quit all the meds. Armour and cytomel. The first week was hard. My bp went up a bit and I had some heart racing and felt just blah. But I’d have moments of feeling really good too. A week after I started feeling great, now it’s been 4 weeks since I quit. My hair has stopped falling out. My cycles had shorted to 22-24 days while on Armour. I didn’t think it was related but now my last cycle was 29 days, an actually normal cycle. I just had thyroid labs done and my tsh is perfect. My free t3 is still low but it was low on meds too. I’m so happy I quit the meds! It was apparently causing infertility and we were wanting more children. I’m hopeful now it can happen.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Apryl | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/8/2022
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lowered my tsh, didn’t help with anything else.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Spikeschilde | 45-54 | Other | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/13/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't have a thyroid. I've been on desiccated pig thyroid for the last 15 years. I usually love it. I've gone back and forth between NP Thyroid and Armour several times in my life and my most recent experience has been with Armour. I've been on it most recently since 2018. At first it was great. And then some time in 2021, it stopped being as effective. All of my symptoms came back and my thyroid levels plummeted. My TSH was the highest it's been in 15 years, where it's usually suppressed. I'm cold all the time, have edema, inability to lose weight/gaining (despite being in a calorie deficit) I'm exhausted but have awful insomnia when it's actually time to sleep, I have constant anxiety, painful heavy periods (short follicular and luteal phases, cycles 22-25 days) achy legs, joint pain, and dry skin. I've been doing some research and I found that a lot of people have been complaining that Armour has stopped working for them, happened sometime in the last year. I don't know if it's a formula change or whatever, but I think it should be illegal that these drug companies change things without notifying the public. How does your medication just stop working?? I can't believe that I'm seriously considering going back to synthroid, which I absolutely HATE. I'm going to give NP Thyroid a try again first.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kathleen G. | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/8/2022
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I hated it from the begining. It smelled bad, like a dead animal my boys agreed. After 3 months I had chest pain, hair started falling out, skin very dry itchy, I gained a lot of weight, more than 50 lbs. After taking it for 14 months I got a letter saying to quit taking itt and that it was 100 times to strong of dose. It scared me. I quit taking it. I felt like I was going to die a couple months later .. I went to hospital screaming from pain. They said I would have died if I hadn't come in. I had a blockage in my intestines. I don't know how that happened but it never happened before. My body was suffering from to much. Don't know what it did to me but I am on levothyroxine trying to get normal.. it hasn't happened yet my body is still going through terrible changes. My joints now pain me daily. My skin is still very dry my thought process is slower and I got a letter saying the medication was 90 % under what it should be on. I don't know weather it was to much or little. Only it screwed me up. Then after arguing about the smell chest pain, ear pain. He finally admitted to me the medicine was, in fact, a dead animal, a pigs thyroid. I was scared as hell, I told him I didn't want to take it, he didn't comment then it was pigs thyroid, only after I took it 14 months and every one of those months were recalled. Took it daily. My hair is really thin and unhealthy looking, before it was thick and healthy. Wish I knew what to do now....Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vanessa | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/18/2022
Condition: Test for Thyroid Problems
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Do your research before taking this medication. I was over medicated and I ended up in the ER with high blood pressure, 180/100 and a pulse of 160. Dangerous stuff. I was on 90 mg a day and my T3 was around 4.5. I brought this to my practitioner’s attention, and he had the audacity to say it wasn’t due to the medication. He said my labs were normal!!! Needless to say, I found a Dr. who would never consider putting me on this junk. Now I’m still on high blood pressure meds and anti-anxiety meds. I still feel wired from the effects. Truly an awful experience. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Terry S | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/31/2022
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Itchy skin was driving me crazy. Levothyroxine helped to improve T3, T4 and TSH to more normal, but it did nothing for itchy skin that was driving me nuts. In fact, the Levothyroxine made me more itchy. First 3 months on Armour thyroid was wonderful. No more itch. For some reason, the next refill was not as good. I found that i had to chew the Armour thyroid for it to work as well.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Isurvivedarmour | 35-44 | Transgender | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/25/2021
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Landed me in the ER. Side effects were racing heart beat, palpitations, swollen ankles, digestive issues , food intolerances, irregular periods, spotting before ovulation, brain zaps, insomnia, high cortisol had to be tested for cushing's and was negative thank goodness, body odor, hot flashes, cold flashes, anxiety never suffered from anxiety before, panic attacks never had those before either, high blood pressure didn't have that before either. I was unable to do anything that would get my heart rate up because I struggled to keep it down. I looked at the reviews and my endo switched me to Levoxyl. I'm a work in progress getting better everyday people have reported that it took them at least two months for all of the side effects to go away. Hang in there, it gets better and you will find yourself again once you get off abd stay off.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Michelle | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/24/2021
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I also was prescribed this medicine for mild hypo. After a few weeks of taking this medicine, it was and has been a true nightmare. I have experienced the following side effects: heart palps, anxiety (thankfully gone now), insomnia, loose bowls, dry mouth and eyes, high blood pressure, nausea, lack of appetite and the list goes on. I can’t believe this medicine is on the market, like someone else said, this medication is not even FDA approved. I can’t believe my doctor prescribed me This medication so casually. I totally regret and wish I would have read more about this medication. I am not sure what permanent damage has been done. I have been under the care of my PCP, endo, and cardiologist since taking this medicine. I understand it works great for some, but this truly is a very dangerous medication and caution should be used when prescribing it! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Samantha | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/20/2021
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication has destroyed my world within two months. My doctor prescribed it for mild hypothyroidism and what has unfolded is nothing short of a nightmare. I have experienced debilitating fatigue, nausea, intense anxiety (first time in my life I experienced anything like that), chest pain, two trips to the hospital for fainting spells and an irregular ECG (I have never had a heart problem, I have never fainted). I'm a 39 year old athlete in great overall health with no known underlying conditions. I am now in the care of a neurologist, cardiologist and endocrinologist. I stopped the medication a week ago and the symptoms are slowly subsiding but still dealing with the damage that's been done. I started doing tons of research on this medication and many have the same complaint's after it was "reformulated". This is not an FDA approved drug, there is limited clinical research and it was RECALLED in April of 2021. How this is even on the market is beyond me. I'm all for a class action law suit. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mrs. Smith | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/29/2021
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have only been on NP thyroid for 3 days. I have more energy. I have always been on brand Synthroid, but I was very fatigue, brain fog, n depressed. It’s only been three days so I will update after 1 month.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Theresa | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/23/2021
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Hi, like most patients the doctors do not want us on a natural medication. However, I did research on Armour thyroid and wanted to give it a try. I asked a couple doctors and they talked me out of it. But the third doctor said sure! we can switch medications and see how it goes. Within 17 days I felt so much better! Not only does it supply T4 it also supplies T3 hormone. Pretty sure that’s why I felt such a big change. I feel better in so many ways. I also don’t eat very much gluten, because it is hard on the thyroid gland. I really love Armour Thyroid! and I highly recommend it. I am so glad I listened to my instincts and did not give up. I believe it a much safer alternative than synthetic forms Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Margaret | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/7/2021
Condition: Serious Decrease in Thyroid Function
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Windyhair | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/4/2021
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had Graves disease and went into thyroid storm, the doctor at the time didn't run the necessary tests for thyroid cancer however did the TSH which was 0.005, then scheduled me for an ablation in which they did, however, they only used 9.8 millicuries of ri-131 which made my thyroid work harder and dump out even more hormones. After finding an endocrinologist she scheduled me for a second thyroid ablation 6 months later in which she used 25 millicuries of RI 131 which rendered my thyroid useless and made me hypo and treatable. I was put on synthroid however my body did not convert what was necessary and later I was placed on armor thyroid in 2011. My numbers got right and 1.25 is my sweet spot on my TSH. Armor thyroid 2 grain worked well until March 2021 when my numbers started to go up. I have not missed a dose or a day. Currently my TSH is 5.65 I noticed a while back the tablets changed with the armor thyroid, they used to be larger easier to break up and when you put them in your mouth it instantly start disintegrating, however, it's not the case anymore... so I know there was a medication change and the tablets have a harder shell. There's no reason for my TSH to shoot up as fast as it has in such a short time. The only thing I've done differently is get the Pfizer vaccination in March and then again in April. I'd like to know what is going on I've gained 35 lb since March!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
phxbarb | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/24/2020
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Myhair is thinning dramatically and I don't know if its the armour or just age. But I feel good on Armour so not willing to switch to something else. It's so hard to know what causes what.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jbeans | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/9/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’m a non converters but I have weird sticky palms on cytomel. So I always top my T4 with 1/4 grain armour. Ugh love it. Best thing for non converters.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/14/2020
Condition: Underactive Thyroid
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Once my optimal dose was determined I was up and feeling good. At one point the pharmacy switched me to the generic and after a few months I developed horrible palpitations. A cardiologist ran several expensive tests on me and everything checked out fine I decided to check webmd reviews and found others that shared my experience. Switched back to Armour and was fine within two days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cheryl | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/5/2020
Condition: Decreased Thyroid Function existing from Birth
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

According to my doctor, my blood levels are where they should be with this medication but I continue to gain weight. Iâ??ve been told not to have any coffee for 30 minutes after taking my medicine. I understand not eating but is it necessary to hold off on a cup of coffee??

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More