Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

26 People found this comment helpful

I had been on this drug for 20+ years with no side effects or problems. It worked great. Recently my doctor left and I had to get another one. He would not refill the Estazolam as he did not use it. I had to stop cold turkey and I had the worst withdrawal ever. I hallucinated so bad I was scared to go to bed. After a month with NO sleep my doctor put me on Tazodone which has not worked for the ...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

I have anxiety and this made it worse. I would have vivid dreams and wake up having panic attacks. I would fall back asleep & wake up having panic attacks again. I did not sleep well & wake tired every day.

Shared reviews and ratings

Addicted | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/17/2019
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for 16 years. It became less and less effective as time wore on but by then I was addicted. This medication is meant for short term use. Like 1 to 2 weeks. My doctors just kept me on this for so long. Now I can�t get off from it. The withdrawal symptoms are horrible. And I�m back to not sleeping again. If you can avoid taking this medication do yourself a favor and don�t get started. Trying to come off it even at a titrated dose is miserable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Addicted | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/17/2019
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this medication for 16 years. It became less and less effective as time wore on but by then I was addicted. This medication is meant for short term use. Like 1 to 2 weeks. My doctors just kept me on this for so long. Now I can�t get off from it. The withdrawal symptoms are horrible. And I�m back to not sleeping again. If you can avoid taking this medication do yourself a favor and don�t get started. Trying to come off it even at a titrated dose is miserable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/19/2019
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking 6mg a night and does nothing for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
imeccentric | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/21/2017
Condition: Severe Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Late stage parkinson's which causes sleep problems. Also neuropathy, on a cpap and restless leg, so I am always in pain and unable to sleep. 1mg of this along with 600mg of gabapentin let me sleep and feel rested in the morning. No side effects. I have suffered for years and tried dozens of medications, this is the only combination that works for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/24/2015
Condition: Severe Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

does absolutely nothing

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mbwc | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/5/2014
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A low dose at 1 mg and some patience is all I need to fall asleep. I like it better than the other alternatives because I don't feel sedated or groggy the next day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bluebird | 55-64 | Female | Patient
3/5/2014
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I can not go sleep without this med, therefore this somewhat alarms me. I wake up at times foggy, vision blurry. I feel agitated, takes hours to motivate. I tried to get off of this but lay awake, unable to sleep. Have tried many things, nothing else works.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Buddy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/1/2013
Condition: Severe Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been on this drug for 20+ years with no side effects or problems. It worked great. Recently my doctor left and I had to get another one. He would not refill the Estazolam as he did not use it. I had to stop cold turkey and I had the worst withdrawal ever. I hallucinated so bad I was scared to go to bed. After a month with NO sleep my doctor put me on Tazodone which has not worked for the last 2 months. The doc did not even care what I was going through. I have never been the same physically or menatally. I want my Estazolam back so I can get a good nights sleep and feel normal again. They do not have to take something away when it works and works well with no side effects even though it is suppose to be a short term solution. Don't patients count anymore?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chas | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/5/2013
Condition: Severe Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At 2mg. it does nothing!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chas | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/5/2013
Condition: Chronic Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doesn't work at all!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fdsfds | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/18/2012
Condition: Severe Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No better than placebo. Really? For severe insomnia. Yeah right...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/18/2012
Condition: Severe Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken this for many years with no known side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pauly | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/4/2011
Condition: Severe Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

works wonderful! very bizarre dreams, but some are very entertaining, no nitemares,so does'nt really bother me. werx good

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/29/2011
Condition: Severe Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have anxiety and this made it worse. I would have vivid dreams and wake up having panic attacks. I would fall back asleep & wake up having panic attacks again. I did not sleep well & wake tired every day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/17/2010
Condition: Severe Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It was bad, I woke up and I would do things such as eat& make food and not even be aware of it. It also caused me to become violent and I stopped taking it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chrisd | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/10/2010
Condition: Severe Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

ive tried most of the prescription sleep meds available; prosom was the only med that works for me- its great!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sjd3434 | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/6/2010
Condition: Severe Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If you ask your pharmacy to special order it, you can get it. It might take a week or two. I have a condition that causes me to naturally fall asleep later and sleep later each day. If left untreated, I eventually cycle through 24hrs, but I can work a normal job with this condition. I think ambien is the best but eventually develop a resistance to it and need to switch. Estazolam works well except it gives me bad dreams. When I start to fall asleep I think someone is in my house or standing over me. I'm conscious enough to know that it's not real but it's still scary. It's not my favorite sleeping pill but it works well.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/4/2010
Condition: Severe Trouble Sleeping
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a prescription for this and my doctor says that it should work well but I can't find a pharmacy that carries it. Any suggestions?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/16/2010
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this treatment is awsome. I love drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/16/2010
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this treatment is awsome. I love drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More