Show ratings & reviews for

3.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

85 People found this comment helpful

2ND time on my face and its no fun it burns, itches, weaps, bleeds, scabs and people look at you like you have the plague. Hang in there baby it looks good when it heals but its no fun until then.

Most voted negative review

12 People found this comment helpful

Have not used long enough to form opinion.

Shared reviews and ratings

GHD | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/28/2022
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Maybe the other reviewers were using this cream over a larger area than I did. Every now and then I get a bleeding "pimple" on my face. It has always turned out to be a skin cancer (not melanoma). I got tired of having them cut off so tried this cream. I use it every time I go by the sink using a small amount on a toothpick (why does it come in such big tubes) for a week. It scabs up but I have never had any pain. I let it heal for a week and repeat. Every time it has worked. I have been told that it does go bad in the tube and you should use fresh tube, I guess after the expiration date. Again, why do they have to make such large tubes (I think smallest is 4 ounces)? And it's expensive--or was. This is way better than surgery.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mona | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/28/2022
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I did my treatment over many months by applying twice a day to one arm for 21 days and then did the other arm. My skin became very red and arms swelled to twice the size. I used ice packs to help with pain and Benadryl at night to relieve itching so I could sleep. The results are baby smooth skin and basal cell carcinomas are gone. This is a painful treatment with excellent results. I uses Aquafor during the healing phase.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MaryB | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/28/2022
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this cream on my upper chest and neck are for about 10 days now. I have scattered red inflamed patches of skin, was expecting that. What is very uncomfortable is that I have also been having watery diarrhea since about day 2. It’s not bloody as in the warning list but very uncomfortable stomach rumbles and profuse diarrhea. Not sure if this is a common side effect or not. Any suggestions would be welcome!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Goddot | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/8/2022
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

3rd time using on face. History of Basal cell cancers on face and hoping to avoid further surgery. . Previously no problem with efudix, scabbing of course, but little pain. This time applied 1x daily for 18days. large red patch with orange patches. Some white dead skin spots. Lots of pain over last three days and problems sleeping. As others report, boundary of nose and face is worst. Using codeine and paracetamol at night. Stopped application today as I think I am in erosion stage and using mild steroid and suncream and moisturisers. NHS in UKis under great pressure and leaves you to decide for yourself when to stop treatment. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gah | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/21/2022
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is my third time using Efudex in 10 years. I cannot say it gets any easier but I do have less of a reaction than initially. The two weeks are absolute torture. The worse the reaction, the more you need it. I already had Moh's surgery for basal on my nose and getting my nose cut off was 100 times worse than Efudex. The pain, itching, sores, and bleeding are normal. I am prone to cold sores and I can feel one brewing from the Efudex. It is attacking all that lies beneath and purging all my sun-sins of my youth. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cher | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/16/2021
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used Efudex about 20 years ago - back then was told to apply 3 times daily to my entire face. No additional creams or makeup to be used during process. No sun!!! Within 5 days my face became a pepperoni pizza (my kindergartener loved it). Pain, burning, swelling... But I stuck with it and the results were great. Took 5 weeks. Much better skin. So, now I'm doing it again, but doing a smaller area at a time. I use morning and night (doc said once per day... just want to get it done). Redness followed by flat scabs happened quickly. Itching and swelling started at day 5. I know it is eating up the bad stuff, so trying to just tough it out. But I don't stay in hiding like I did last time (I got depressed!!). I put about three layers of makeup (and sun screen) on and let my friends know it is not contagious... And am hanging in there. I think it is magical medicine. Good bye pre-cancer!!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Debz.. | 55-64 | Transgender | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/15/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with Bowens disease in October 2021,my pre cancerous cells where on both sides of my buttocks in the most sensitive area there is. After using Efudex for 8 weeks on two parts of the cells I was in agony...burning searing pain and not being able to sit down properly I was told to stop using the Efudex cream. I am seeing my consultant on Tuesday to discuss light therapy treatment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/21/2021
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Cream from bell! I'll tape the knife or the azote 100 time over before repeating tous terrible cream. Pain, burning, Seeping, bleeding, extrême stiffness...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paula | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/9/2021
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Due to sun exposure I have has several spots removed by my dermatologist. We have spot treated through the years with Efudex and it has always worked. However due to a massive amount of spots appearing, my dermatologist recommended I treat each of my limbs one by one. I used a thin layer of Efudex about one hour before bedtime for two weeks. She told me not to use any other creams except petroleum jelly, which makes it feel so much better. At this time my last arm is in the healing process. It's not fun, but it works!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Simon | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/7/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have read loads of comments on here a f other people experiences, I have AK and SSC which is widespread on my face, however, what concerns me is the dosage I’ve been told to follow, I’ve been told rocaille every day for 6 weeks with a recovery time of up to 4 months from stopping, I was told to do it for the whole 6 weeks and not stop early...... am a bit worried now as a lot of you are doing every other day or for a month max.....only started today ?????

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Simon | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/23/2021
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had a nearly immediate effect of redness, irritation and burning all over the applied zone on my face and neck. Was so severe that I stopped after 7 days. However within a further 10 days and massive peeling of decayed skin, my face was restored to a normal condition. A dermatologist later stated that she would recommend application only every other day. Conclusion was that the discomfort was worth it as my condition has improved out of all recognition.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MLaughlin | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/20/2021
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A piece of advice. If you finished with the application stage of this medication and are using an ointment such as hydrocortisone ointment or Vaseline, if you start to feel excessive burning and itching, sometimes coming on fairly quickly, wash off your current ointment with a gentle soap and rinse thoroughly. Then reapply the ointment. Chances are, you are sweating underneath the ointment and it is pushing into your inflamed skin. You are literally pouring salt on your wounds. It will burn for a moment, and then the inflammation will calm down some, probably to tolerable levels.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vikki | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/28/2020
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The med is easy to apply, but of late I have experienced severe shortness of breath.dis include other s/e. I interested to understand whether or not it is an allergic reaction. As for effectiveness in treating skin cancer it's a matter of time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mkk | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/21/2020
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Every time I use Efudex, even on a small area, I feel mildly nauseated and the skin on my hands gets painfully dry. Doctors keep telling me that this isn't caused by the Efudex, and I keep believing them. I use it again, and by day 10 I'm nauseated and the skin on my hands is once again like sandpaper, dry and cracked.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/8/2019
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I read a lot of horror stories online which was a mistake. I found this treatment to be nothing as harsh as others have related here. I did the upper lip for 10 days forehead and nose for 14. I have less wrinkles and less precancerous cells on my face. It was easy to use...just dont go online and read the horror stories

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DRC | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/20/2019
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My dermatologist has a different approach for his patients. Once a week for a month then twice a week for 5 months. Few side effects. I'll finish next week. Dr said none of his patients would use it the other way.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
no pain no gain ?????? | 75 or over | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
4/9/2019
Condition: Roughened Red Patches of Skin due to Sun Exposure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I could not go thru this again, it's so painful and the itching never lets up, the itching is the worst, my head feels like it's on fire, can't sleep, the only temporary relief is to put a piece of towelling soaked in cold water and squeeze out the excess water, gives relief for 30 to 60 minutes, then the towelling feels so hot almost like it would catch fire, do not do this until you have removed the excess Efudix this is after the full cycle, as the cold water has a very painful reaction, warm to fairly hot water is okay, I did the full 28 day treatment.I consider myself to be able handle pain fairly well, having had 2 bad accidents, but these were nothing compared to this, good luck what ever your decision. I notice here in Australia the product is called slightly different Efudix as opposed to Efudex but it looks like the symptoms are at least similar.nhRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
philpara | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/3/2019
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Face full of AK's and Bowens disease. Told to use efudex on full face. First week not too bad but then kicked in. Face was truely a mess of lesions and ulcers. Pain was incrediable. Worst I have experienced and was constant. Shaving new degree of pain. Pain so severe sent me into deprssion for 3 months. Healing slow but the results were excellent. My skin was smooth and clear. Word of warning. Do not get this stuff on your genitals. I accidently did and the result was agonising pain for two weeks. If I had to do it again I would do it in sections, not all at once.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Max | 65-74 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/21/2018
Condition: Superficial Basal Cell Carcinoma of the Skin
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very important , before applying the cream to wash in warm salty water, it speeds the process up, scabs form and drop off faster- allow to dry before applying Efudix, don't towel dry allow to air dry,

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
geo257 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/19/2018
Condition: Skin Inflammation due to Exposure to X-Rays or Gamma Rays
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use Efudex (fluorouracil) regularly to treat precancerous melanoma lesions and sun damaged skin. It is normal for this product to turn skin at treatment site very red or ruddy brown to red within the first two days of treatment; after that the red skin color dissipates, the skin returns to its natural color and pain, if any, ebbs away. I have used this on some pretty serious skin lesions, moles and bleeding melanoma freckles with great success; the abnormalities and lesions healed and disappeared within just a few days. My wife uses it on Age Spots, also with great success; the skin pigmentation dissipates and returns to normal (matching the surrounding skin) and and the age spot ceases to be visible to the naked eye. I get the best use from this product when I apply it to my forehead and rub it into my scalp through my hair at the temples. First time users should expect ruddy red skin coloration at treatment site and some pain (not much); skin color will return to normal in a few days and lesions will start to heal. Good Luck with this! John George Granville County Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More