Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

14 People found this comment helpful

As a result of a car accident (& pending law enforcement issues), I ended up spending a month in the county's jail. A couple of days after I got out, I started having terrible diarrhea, stomach/bowel pains/cramps. This is more than I had ever experienced.I was farting/passing gas almost all day/night.It started to get a little bit more than funny (the farting part, lol).I finally couldn't stand t...

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

my doctor gives these sorry meds i do'nt need

Shared reviews and ratings

Jules55 | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/12/2016
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I began taking the generic Levsin a few years ago after a colitis attack that occurred a year after being hospitalized for C Diff. I won't go anywhere without this! It's very effective at stopping cramping associated with diarrhea. I have no side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
thenewme | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/10/2014
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug is a lifesaver (Not literally, but it feels that way)! I have stress induced IBS (cramping and diarrhea) and Levsin takes less than a few minutes to relieve all my symptoms. I am so thankful for this wonder drug, it eliminates embarrassing bathroom runs (literally) and disgusting gas station restroom visits. My life almost feels normal!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hyoscyamine | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/7/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has caused me to feel bad, I suppose. Overall it has been o.k.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CLEH | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/20/2013
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had burning and diarrhea in 2011, unresponsive to OTC medication. I have a diverticula and my gastroenterologist thought it was probably inflamed or that I had IBS. She prescribed hyoscemine (sp)? I took it for a few days only, and it cleared up nicely. I don't remember having any of the side effects described above and was totally satisfied. I was 86 years old.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Steve | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/14/2013
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Especially after breakfast I would often have to make a run for the john to have a bowel movement. Many times I failed to make it in time and had a mess to clean up. Things have not improved as much as I had hoped. I have also started Probiatics at the request of my doctor. This has been over a month. I have tried to eliminate dairy products and still little emprovement.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 7-12 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/10/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/29/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

significant abdominal pain starting right below the rib cage extended to entire abdominal area. When I would bend over it felt like someone stabbed me with a pitchfork right in the center of my gut.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
feeelzbetr | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/10/2011
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As a result of a car accident (& pending law enforcement issues), I ended up spending a month in the county's jail. A couple of days after I got out, I started having terrible diarrhea, stomach/bowel pains/cramps. This is more than I had ever experienced.I was farting/passing gas almost all day/night.It started to get a little bit more than funny (the farting part, lol).I finally couldn't stand the pain anymore;Having kidney stones in the past, the pain shot through from my side/back area to the front of me.I went to the urgent care, & thought it was kidney stones at first. They did a CT & checked my urine for blood. Nope it wasn't that;I ended up getting diagnosed with "Enteritis". Come to find out this is something that a person can certainly get while being in an institution, such as a hospital, and or jail (any type of closed community), because it comes from drinking or eating food that was/had been contaminated from bacteria or a virus. So this is an infection of the small intestine. I left the urgent care and they gave me this stuff to drink that they said would "numb" my stomach all the way through my small/large intestines. But after the blood tests came back I also got two scripts to get filled, one for an antibiotic called Flagyl 250mg and this one, Levsin. For the person that was worried because of their insurance not paying for it and worrying even more because it may not be available as generic, don't worry, it has a generic and has been for many years, generically it's called "Hyoscyamine". Now the thing that I was worried about it that terrile pain coming back & what will I do. My doctor told me not to worry because after I dissolve 1 or 2 of those tablets under my tongue, within 5-15 minutes, the pain will subside. Well, he was right.Shortly after getting the script filled I started to get another attack (cramping pain/ect). I no sooner took two of these and ALL was good! As for neg.side affects, mild dehydration, that's it,EXCELLENT MED!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
fibro.91 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/12/2011
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was in hospital for pancreitis had my reg.colon. prod.I have been living with my pain since I had my colon partly removed 5 years ago. So now they put me on this med. to see if it could help relief some pain and it has, I still am suffering with Diverticulius no sure on spelling.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
joanie | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/6/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Raquel | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/17/2010
Condition: Diarrhea
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not quite getting the result I hoped for, feeling better. It seems to have helped with the nausea. This is day 4. Barley keeping anything down, or in.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dizfran | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/9/2010
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I really depend on this medication. If I didn't take it, I couldn't eat and keep a meal in me. I have to try the generic because I'm going on MediCare and I don't think they or a supplement insurance will pay for it. I don't know yet what I'll do.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/8/2010
Condition: Increased Production of Saliva
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine worked with just one dose, relieving severe colon spasms. However, it made me very dizzy. I could only go to bed to sleep after taking it. The effects seem to have lasted on to the next day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CATRO | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/4/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Prescribed for nausea, but bottle said it was for stomach cramps. Did not help nausea.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bluecrab | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
12/27/2009
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works super great for cramps and abdominal pain - works within minutes. I stay alert for any sign of further problems and will take a Bentyl ( which works for several hours), this will almost always take care of all abdominal problems like pain & cramps, for days to weeks or until I have another flair. I am so thankful for this, abdominal problems interfere with my life. It also helps with nausea.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/26/2009
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within 15 minutes, cramping and colon explosiveness ceases after one pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/19/2009
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have acid reflux,after the first pill I was amazed. it works

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
prvol | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/22/2009
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a rough time of it before ever taking this medication. I was afraid to be out most of the time for fear I would have an accident, this pill has been a lifesaver for me!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
djcmsptcws | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/14/2009
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/3/2009
Condition: Irritable Colon
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The first time I took it, it gave me dry mouth, which was expected. Unfortunately now that I've taken it a few more times, I find that it makes me dizzy and weak. I don't think it's been all that effective for my IBS, and the side effects certainly outweigh the benefits right now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More