Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

33 People found this comment helpful

I have been taking 2mg of doxazosin for the past 2 years. My urgency to urinate has decreased drastically and getting up in the middle of the night happens occasionally. For me, when I sit for a long period of time, I have to go to the bathroom more often. Overall, I am pretty satisfied with this treatment with no side effects.

Most voted negative review

11 People found this comment helpful

It doesn't seem to be working and I'm not sure how much damage it may be causing my internal organs. I really think most prescriptions are written so the doctor can get their 'kick backs', i.e., money from the drug companies...if it actually works for the patient...great!

Shared reviews and ratings

PapaDub | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/23/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

BPH was originally treated with Tamsulosin but benefits were outweighed by side effects. Dr switched me to Doxazosin 2Mg for 1 week then 2Mg 2 X's per day. Very satisfied both with urinary flow, barely noticeable nasal congestion and improved BP results. Occasionally only dose at 2Mg daily depending on timing of doses.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/16/2020
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Allowed me to urinate again but brutal side effects. Retrograde ejaculation,extreme fatigue,dizziness,constipation. Had to stop and switch to alfusozin, which I hope works better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/19/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking 2mg for about 6 months then was switched to 4mg . After a week and a half on the 4mg I've had shortness of breath,racing heart, numbness in : my face, arms, hands and feet (I go for a short 10 min. walk and my right foot gets a numb feeling) and dizziness,also my face got really red. Doctor told me to stop the med. for 2 weeks to see if symptoms go away and then possibly restart the med., I am currently on a week being off the med. and I have still have all the mentioned side effects. Going to ask the cardiologist to take me off this med. .Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JenjyCo | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/17/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within 3 days of starting medication had swelling all over (not just hands and feet), feeling totally bloated. Didn't take for 1 night, was urinating all night getting rid of all the extra fluid from the previous 2 days. Had hacking cough and shortness of breath - I have asthma and this made it flare. Won't take it anymore, felt too miserable to continue and hope side effects went away...Been 48 hours since I stopped it - cough gone, shortness of breath gone, extra fluid gone.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angela | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/15/2019
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My doctor put me on this drug 2mg then 4mg to lower my bloodpressure, I have had awful side effects with it, after taking it I have almost collapsed several times over a rush of low blood pressure,I have had chest pains that mimic heart attack my eyes hurt all the time I feel depressed and tired all the time, I am going to tell my doctor that I do not wish to take it anymore,there must be an alternative

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
uncle jim | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/26/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

hair loss and increased loss of balance

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
duckman | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/3/2018
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have an enlarged prostate, and I am tired of peeing 4-5 times a night. I was prescribed 1mg per day of doxazosin (weakest dose). I have taken it in the evening the last 3 days. Night 1: slept through the night. Night 2: slept through the night. Night 3: got up twice to pee. There is no doubt this stuff works. However, my main concern is the side-effects that makes me feel a bit tired and somewhat fuzzy in the head (a bit of vertigo). The jury is still out on what I will do in the long-run.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Deeny | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/31/2018
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doctor added 2mg doxazosin to valsartan after being on valsartan for two weeks I got a hoarse throat, he discontinued the valsartan and tried 2mg doxazosin alone didn't change BP readings so, he increased to 4mg in mornings BP is down during the day up at night and in the mornings now he has added 2mg at night still increased BP at night and in morning. I have been on lisinopril, amlodipine, labetalol, hyzaar, valsartan all with severe headaches, hoarse throat, muscle pain, frequent urination, sweats!!! With Doxazosin I have a hacking cough, muscle cramps in my feet and legs, dizzy, frequent urination all day and night I am exhausted. I wake up every morning to pounding headache and sinus drainage. Solution is to take more pills I am so over this. My numbers aren't much better than before any meds. I've only been on any BP meds for 3 months this is terrible that BP meds can make you feel so bad and then the solution is take more meds!!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
arcee | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/2/2017
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Not all generic brand of this drug are as effective as some others. I have found that at least two manufacturers of this drug produce tablets that are not effective for me. I have urinary incontinence, have to get up in the night to urinate, and have a weak stream. Other manufacturers produce tablets that work fine. Why doesn't the FDA look into this and protect us from unscrupulous producers. Some of these tablets are nothing more than placebos.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JFLSR | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/26/2017
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had an enlarged prostate since 1986 with very restricted urine stream and severe burning. Can't remember initial medication I was prescribed but it did not work very well, still had burning and poor stream. In 2009 or 2010, my urologist at the VA started me on 4MG Doxazosin twice a day along with 5MG of Finasteride at bedtime. I have had no burning sensation and have had a strong stream since! I am very satisfied with this medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bonnie | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/24/2017
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My b.p is high after taking for 10 days pluse I had dizzy head aches then my heart went into a fib ..heart fluttering..no longer take it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Whistler | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
4/27/2017
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I experience dizziness, fainting and fatigue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NobodyAnybody | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/17/2017
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Take at night and it does seem to help. As for the erection, seems to have caused it to be very limited and not hard. Not a concern because it helped slow the night time wake ups.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
real_bad_stuff | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/13/2016
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this drug only two weeks, and twice as the full 8 mg dosage. All the rest of the time at 2 mg or 4 mg. During that time I was too dizzy to drive properly and nearly drove off a mountain because I couldn't perceive distance. Very, very light-headed. I couldn't find how long this drug stays in my system, but after 10 days without taking it, I'm having problems achieving an erection. The stuff did what it was supposed to do: shrink my prostate and eliminate my problems going to the bathroom multiple times. BUT the side-effects are really bad. I believe my semen has stopped completely and sex is a lot of work now. I hope I can get over these effects soon. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mr_limp | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/25/2016
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took the drug at 2 mg for 4 days, 4 mg for 4 days and then worked my way up to the full 8 mg dosage, which I took only two days. After taking this drug only 10 days, I was 100% impotent, even with taking Cialis at a double-dose. I don't know how much longer this is going to stay in my system, but I'm dropping it. By the way, during most of those 10 days I had the most God-awful heartburn imaginable. I took Tums and Pepcid by the handful and still could not get rid of the heartburn. I was hoping this would help me reduce my use of Cialis, which is so expensive and which I was using primarily for BPH and not to get an erection. Now I need it for the latter. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
elizabeth42 | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/26/2016
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

since i started taking this,I get numbness in my fett and ankles.Is this a side effect?should i continue with it?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
eniner | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/30/2015
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Urologist initially prescribed 4 mg daily to be taken at bedtime for BPH. Could not tolerate it because it caused swelling in my nose with difficulty breathing in middle of night. Switched to 2 mg morning and evening and side affects acceptable. Satisfactory improvement in BPH, but much more impressed with blood pressure results. Dropped my blood pressure from about 135/80 to 115/70. Was never totally satisfied with my 135 blood pressure, but my GP said it was okay. He is nervous about Doxazosin side affects (fainting), but can't quibble with results. All-in-all, quite satisfiedRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Urinator | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/23/2015
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

79 Yrs old. Have taken Doxazosin for many years. Now at 8mg daily. Side effects seem to be daytime dizziness, poor balance, diminished libido, daytime sleepiness. New supply by Dava Labs does not seem to be working as previous mfr.Not a good urine flow. Has anyone noted a less effectiveness with a new supplier?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/5/2014
Condition: High Blood Pressure
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

did not help my blood preasure

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
STOSH | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/1/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I pretty much have all,BPH,high blod pressure,and pased a stone or two. It works is all i can say.Not the worst or best for any one in particular and i take it at night so as not to have problems at work in the morning with doctors ok.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More