Show ratings & reviews for

3.7 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

62 People found this comment helpful

I have been on Omeprazole for 6 years. When symptoms of fatigue, serious leg pain, headaches, constant burping, gas and feeling like I had to throw up started happening, I went to my doctor of 27 years, explained what was happening and was met with silence. I have had to do research on my own; that's why I'm here. My latest blood work shows that for the first time in my life, I am Vit. D deficient...

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

I increased my dosage of Omeprazole from 20MG to 40MG a few years back. It's a very effective medication in terms of controlling GERD. However the issue I've been having with it is that it causes a noticeable degree of fatigue and it has lowered both my Vitamin D and Vitamin B-12 levels. I am currently taking supplements to increase my levels of those vitamins

Shared reviews and ratings

Sheryl | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/20/2022
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

OMG I am so grateful for all the reviews. I thought I was going crazy honestly. I had some upper stomach pain and had an endoscopy which I hadn't had in over 11 years. Doctor prescribed this and the symptoms were very odd. Itching, nausea, headache, diarrhea and others too numerous to mention. I started forgetting things and feeling in a fog so was worried. The worst was the vomiting and diarrhea. I was on 40 mg. a day for over 3 months. Lowered it to 20 mg. and now the last two days went off it, but ate very bland foods. Everyone needs to research and stop always listening to doctors because everybody is different, but I resent that no one, and I mean no one tells you to watch out for these side effects. As I tell my son and friends, research, research and be your own doctor. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
A.J | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/26/2022
Condition: Medication Treatment for Healing Erosive Esophagitis
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm using this medication for GERD. It has worked wonders. However recently I have been having muscle/joint pain. The nausea started a few months back. I have had more long term side effects also. The other day my liver enzymes were slightly elevated. My grandmother took this long term also and she has stage 3 kidney failure. I usually ways do my research on medications. For some reason I didn't on this one. I am also on valuim and a water pill. I've found that I should not be taking all of them together. Soooo I have decided it's time to ween myself off of them! Goodbye to omeperzole!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Getbetter | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/22/2022
Condition: Inflammation of the Esophagus with Erosion
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Terrible drug- took for 14 days 40mg- turned into a different person- anxiety , depression , tingling and sadness. I am off this drug and I am wondering how long before the side effects wear off- I’ve been off for 5 days- feel like I lost myself

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paul W | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
6/8/2022
Condition: Stomach Ulcer
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 33 and been healthy most of my life, I have had 2 times in the hospital one for a bleeding ulcer after I vomited blood then years later I had a staff infection invade my chest cavity. While in the hospital for my ulcer I was given a high dose of Omeprazole and it fixed my stomach pain. It has been 5 years since that and I have taken one a day since, if I forget and miss for more than 2 days the pain comes back. I have not had any negative side effects in fact I can say this stuff saved my life, without it I likely would of bleed to death in my own stomach by now. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Will P. | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/8/2022
Condition: Medication Treatment for Healing Erosive Esophagitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For the past 15 years I have been alternating between binge drinking and sobriety. After long drinking bouts I would be suffering for awhile with esophogitis. But almost always the symptoms subsided within a couple of weeks. Several doctors prescribed Omeprazole at the end of my binges but since the symptoms went away so quickly I never took the full round of medicine. Six months ago I ended my last binge. Omeprazole was prescribed but I didn't take it since I had no negative symptoms. Then out of nowhere and 3 months sober I was suffering after almost every meal. My stomach would hurt unbelievably after each meal. My wife threw out all of my medications during my binge so I didn't have the Omeprazole. Finally I told my family doctor about my pain and she again prescribed Omeprazole. The relief was immediate and almost miraculous. One dose and I have not had any pain since. I forget to take it some days due to no symptoms. I have had zero side effects. But I haven't taken many doses- maybe 5. I probably will take it PRN so as to not develop the terrible side effects so many have complained about. I highly recommend this medicine for esophogitis and acid reflux. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lilfred | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/28/2022
Condition: Inflammation of the Esophagus with Erosion
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A GP prescribed me a four week course of Omeprazole Rowa as I'd been suffering with severe heartburn and sharp stomach pains. I am always hesitant about taking medication and after reading the reviews here, I was so worried, I almost didn't take it! However I decided to give it a try and I am so glad that I did. I can't speak to the experience of using it long term but I can honestly say that I had no negative side effects whatsoever for the month that I was taking this medication. It helped so much and it was actually a dream to be heartburn free for a while. Seemed to resolve my stomach pains issues too, although the heartburn is unfortunately back since I stopped taking it. If you've been prescribed this, based on my experience, I would absolutely recommend it as it was really great. Promised myself I'd post a review if I survived it :) to reassure others who were as frightened as I was when I read some of the other users reported experiences. Hope this helps someone. Oh I should add that I am an anxious person with a history of anxiety and depression so I fully expected those reported side effects but it didn't happen to me at all. Just heartburn relief and nothing more! In my 30s but can't select that age range below for some reason.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angry | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/4/2022
Condition: Inflammation of the Esophagus with Erosion
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I lost myself while taking this medication. I only took it for 3.5 weeks, but it caused severe depression, anxiety, and mood swings. I have never had any issues prior. I thought I was just being a typical 22 year old. Thankfully I still live at home with my parents. I kept making questionable choices, and letting people down. I thought I knew it all and thought I could solve my own problem. I had to finally throw my hands up and give in to my parent's advice, just so I could heal. I recommend to anyone going through this, go to your family, accept their advice, ideas, and help. Do exactly as they say. They can see what you cannot. It's a small price to pay to get your life back on track in a timely manner. Trust your parents and those who have been closest to you over along period of time. It will be a trying road, but you will be able to get to the other side. Never give up. Return to people and activities you were with prior to the medication. Stay home more and just sit with your parents or family. You'll be able to heal faster this way. It will get better. It just takes time. Stick to it.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rebecca Leanne | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/3/2021
Condition: Stomach Ulcer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given omeprazole for 28 days for a suspected stomach ulcer. Day one was fine. Day two and onwards, I had extreme, uncomfortable bloating, nausea, tiredness, muscle pains and diarrhoea a few hours after I ate anything! My Doctor told me the side effects would subside after one week. 11 days later, I was only feeling worse and the doctor told me to come off them. I’ve been off this med for 2 weeks now and do not have any bloating, but I still have nausea all the time, feeling full after a couple bites of food, extreme tiredness like I’m coming down with the flu all the time and just general off feeling in my stomach. I hope these symptoms go away soon. I’m getting scared that these tablets have messed me up forever. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pinkygurl | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/17/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medication for one day. In that day, I felt it was blocking acid, or doing its job, but I was bouncing off the walls literally, my brain felt like I drank too much coffee, or had too much caffeine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
No surgery! | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/1/2021
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a self-medicater, advised by my local pharmacist to take a combination of Motrilium, Opremazole and Sucralfate after at least 14 years of GERD. My acid reflux was so unpleasant, I've had to quit eating dinner in 2013, and do not eat any solid food after 1pm. The diet suits me fine, but the lingering acid reflux does not. I've had an asthma inhaler bedside since 2007, just in case gastric acids creep up my esophagus and shut down my lungs during sleep. This has happened about 10-15 times over these years, though less frequently since I've quit eating dinner. I've been gobbling up antacids (Tablets containing Aluminum Hydroxide & Magnesium Carbonate) for years. My brother has had surgery 3 times for the same problem; I've willfully avoided surgery for it. I'm just completing 1 month taking these meds, moving into my 2nd month. I stopped the Motilium after 3weeks. I continue with a half dose of Omeprazole (20mg daily instead of 40mg), and the full dose of Sucralfate (4g total per day). I've found the combination highly effective thus far, but am highly aware of the adverse side effects, to I'm trying to use it both sparingly and strategically, for the shortest time possible. All 3 of these meds have highly complex dosing and drug interaction requirements. I'm not sure if the Motilium is necessary at all, especially considering the possible side effects. I'm still assessing when I want to take my single dose of Omeprazole, since I halved the dosage at the 4-week point. It seemed like taking it in the morning was recommended, but I'm not so sure. My problem is worst at night, but if I want to reduce acid production in the stomach, it seems I may want to do so about 1 hour before drinking my fruit juice dinner. That should help me when my GERD is worst, and I can still take the Sucralfate in the complete absence of food & meds in my stomach both morning and night. I will soon reduce those Sucralfate doses from 2g each to 1g each and see how it goes, all the way out to the end of the 8-week period. I now have 4 weeks to consider my post-treatment plan: Continue reducing dosage? Stop completely? Proceed with reduced, intermittent doses, perhaps half doses, 1-3 times per week? When we walk into a pharmacy, we absolutely must keep front of mind the fact that every single product for sale -- except water -- is harmful to us. We buy & consume these products as the result of our simple, informal risk/reward analysis, that we absolutely must perform, lest we run the risk of some nasty side effects that may put us in the hospital or even the graveyard. Omeprazole and Sucralfate are highly effective, especially when used together (but you can NEVER take them at exactly the same time). They are certainly NOT easy to use. The patient and/or caregiver must be extremely attentive, cautious, and vigilant in order to get the maximum benefit, with the lowest risk of side effects that may be quite severe.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GB | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/11/2021
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been taking this for a year now to treat acid reflux in my esophagus. Works very well for me in solving my condition. For years I was not able to drink coffee without it coming back up within 10-15 minutes. Now, I can drink 2-3 cups at any time of the day without any problems with the coffee coming back up and rushing to the bathroom.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ian159 | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/14/2021
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works very well

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PC | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/10/2021
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This stuff is horrible. Sure, it got rid of the heartburn issues I was having, but the side effects are horrific and scary. Even more scary is they don't include the litany of scary side effects. While on this retched drug, I had pain in my thighs, slightly swollen lower legs, increased blood pressure, tingling in my hands and feet, lethargic legs, water retention, and a painful right testicle. Of course, none of these side effects, which can be found online on sites like the Mayo Clinic, are mentioned on the packaging. So, while taking this dangerous drug, I was having these issues and not realizing it was the drug because these side effects weren't mentioned. I thought I was having some other type of horrible medical condition(s). Luckily, I realized all these conditions cropped up after I started the drug. Once stopped, my conditions all began to improve and go away. Beware of this cursed drug. It can screw you up big time. Never again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/12/2020
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I did experience some dizzyness and it took about 4 days to start lessening the nausea

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Elke S. | 75 or over | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/26/2020
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Relief from a severe case of GERD was instantaneous. I've been taking this drug for two weeks, and some side effects are noticeable, but mild. Unless the side effects get worse over time, Omeprazole is nothing short of a miracle drug (for me).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PekoeGirl1985 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
12/11/2019
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine ruined 7 years of my life. It caused severe anxiety and depression as side effects. Instead of treating the cause of the anxiety & depression, the doctors loaded me up on cocktails of antidepressants and anti-anxiety meds. When I finally figured out that this might be the cause of the mental problems (thanks to a Reddit post), I stopped taking omeprazole. The anxiety and depression both stopped completely without any antidepressants or anti-anxiety meds. It's like night and day. I've been treated for years for anxiety and depression to no avail, yet I stop this and it just goes away. I'm beyond shocked. Come to find out, omeprazole causes magnesium and b vitamins to not be absorbed properly. This deficiency leads to anxiety and depression. Taking supplements along with taking this medicine does not work at all, since your body still can't properly absorb the vitamins while on it. Also, omeprazole causes increased asthma attacks. That explains my "random" asthma flares for the past 7 years. Between that and the depression and anxiety, it's just not worth taking.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/28/2019
Condition: Condition in which Stomach Acid is Pushed Into the Esophagus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication does a wonderful job in controlling my acid reflux. However, I started getting urinary tract infections every 3 months, which happened for several years, and I was almost always on antibiotics. I went to my doctor who noticed that my urine pH was high (~8-9) and this is optimal for growth of bacteria in the bladder. He suggested that I start taking Vitamin C (500 mg tablet) at the same time as I take my omeprazole in the morning, which lowers my urine pH to 3-4. I have not had a UTI in nearly 18 months. And Vitamin C is harmless or even beneficial to overall health. I just wanted others to benefit from this simple solution.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tom L | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/24/2018
Condition: Stomach Ulcer
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been taking this drug (40mg) for 4 years now with little side effects until the last year. Vit D and B-12 level low and decrease in urination. Will talk to doctor about decreasing this medication. Also joint pain not sure if this drug is cause of joint pain. I don't suggest taking long term.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MemberSUID102771 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/19/2018
Condition: Heartburn
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this drugs for many years but recently have been reading about the side effects. I have been tired for several years, low VitD and recently experienced anxiety and hard to catch my breath. All my labs are totally normal. I have moved to DGL, Apple Cider Vinegar and Orange Peel supplement. It only been a week but I feel much better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
doda225 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/23/2018
Condition: Medication Treatment for Healing Erosive Esophagitis
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nexium workds better but this is cheaper so my doctor put me on this

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More