Show ratings & reviews for

2.8 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

23 People found this comment helpful

Feeling better after 3 doses. The bacteria I'm infected with must be very susceptible to this drug. PLEASE DON'T STOP TAKING YOUR ANTIBIOTICS due to minor side effects. Switch them with your doctor so you don't stop cold and then develop resistant bacteria. You babies are a big reason why we have MRSA and other resistant pathogens.

Most voted negative review

11 People found this comment helpful

This drug is terrible. Sure it will get rid of sinusitis, but your risk of getting C. Diff is dangerously high. Something needs to be done about the super bug. No one deserves to suffer that much.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/21/2021
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very easy to take with food twice a day! No side effects with it. It cleared up my infection started feeling better after 2 days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/25/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on medication 5 days, I have severe stomach cramps and indigestion, I have taken with food, but doesn't seem to work, I have called my Dr , he has sent over different prescription, will not take this again

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cgezza | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/10/2019
Condition: Bacterial Infection with Chronic Bronchitis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Day 4 still sick as except with vomiting dizziness dry mouth and headache heart races then slows stopped after 9pills

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Severe Reaction | 75 or over | Female | Patient
5/7/2019
Condition: Bacterial Pneumonia caused by Haemophilus Influenzae
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took 1 Pill, within 1/2 hr had a major allergic reaction. Almost Died. Called Paramedics. Hands and Lips were numb, could not move Head or anything. No Pressure registering. Almost died. 1 pill. Husband had to call 911 and they gave me a huge shot of Adrenaline for my heart! Was hospitalized overnight. Head still not right and still dizzy. Never again!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Severe Reaction | 75 or over | Female | Patient
5/7/2019
Condition: Bronchitis caused by the Bacteria Haemophilus Influenzae
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Severe allergic reaction. Hands and Lips went numb, loss of motion, blood pressure dropped to unreadable. took d1 pill and within 1/2 hr. this happened. Almost died.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/22/2019
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken one dose of this med and already have the upset stomach and many visits to the bathroom. Don’t think think I can take this again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ladyebugge57 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/1/2019
Condition: Acute Inflammation of the Maxillary Sinus
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

250 mg twice daily. Swallowed each pill immersed in a spoonful of peanut butter, yogurt, or mashed potatoes [whatever I was eating] - that seemed to cover up the bitter taste. Always took with food. Took a 25 billion bacteria count probiotic four hours after each cefuroxime dose to prevent diarrhea; seems to have worked so far. The sinus infection seems cleared up. Am about 2/3 of the way through a 10 day regiment.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CRTR | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/14/2018
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking this for a salivary gland infection, probably caused by staph, that went beyond my salivary glands and into my lungs. It has been very hard on my digestive system, has given me headaches and fevers but- my lungs are clearing up and the swelling in my neck is starting to go down. Just not a great experience with the nausea, diarrhea, and ultimately dehydration.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CJ | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/5/2018
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medicine following hip replacement surgery. Not sure why the doctor prescribed it as I was healthy. Now have extreme intestinal cramps, colon spasms, 10-15 small mucus type bowel movements each day, dizziness, exhaustion, fever, chills. Doctor also prescribed Meloxicam, a common anti-inflammatory, following the hip surgery. Perhaps combination is causing these symptoms. Have been taking both for 2 weeks. Stopping today! Do not recommend this drug!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DD | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/25/2018
Condition: Acute Maxillary Sinus H. Influenzae Bacteria Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nurse practitioner prescribed. Have had cough with mucous for 10 days now and sharp pain in lungs off and on. Also felt very weak and tired and badly aching bones and very stiff joints. Bad headache on first two days and then no more headache but other symptoms persisted so after 7 days of this I went to walk in clinic to see if had pneumonia. I rarely go to doc and am very healthy, haven't been sick since a child. Never had anything this bad before ever. No sign of sinus infection like drainage or pressure. Severe influenza this year with pneumonia is going around. N.P. did not do any testing but listened to lungs and said "I am going to say in your file that you have sinus infection so I can prescribe this antibiotic." I started it when I got home, this is the third day, just took 5th dose. Taking all doses with food. After the second dose diarrhea set in which got worse on day two with doses 3-4. Up all night last night with diarrhea. Today I am feeling much weaker than when I started and queasy stomach, racing heart and headache back but cough is getting a little better than when I started. Ears also ring now with this med. 500mg twice a day for 10 days. Will never take this again. Terrible stuff. I don't know if I can last on this for seven more days! And missing lots of work which means no pay check - almost two weeks now with no pay!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | Patient
1/20/2018
Condition: Acute Inflammation of the Maxillary Sinus
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had side effects after 3 doses of it. I got bed ear pressure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/6/2017
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i don't feel any symptoms at night maybe because i'm already asleep but when i take it in the morning, i get kinda dizzy and quite nervous and feels different in my stomach and breathing... had to divert it in taking in yogurt to neutralize the effect of meds.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AvsChic18 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/2/2017
Condition: Strep Throat
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication made my throat feel better; however, it has been making me have stomach cramps like crazy. My stomach hurts all day and night. I will not take this medicine again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cherrie | 45-54 | Female | Patient
8/4/2017
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this medicine two days ago and I noticed the shortness of breathe only at night, and today when I went out in the sun my face broke out in hive, my hands are very itchy also.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ahmed Kuwair | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/21/2017
Condition: Strep Throat
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medicine under doctors prescription 500mg every twelve hours.I was feeling terrible my whole body seemed jammed and muscles cramped. The third day i had huge pain in my lungs. I realized that this medicine is creating problems. I stopped the medicine ended up with lung infection and tonsilitis. Was admitted in hospital CK was very high, Platelets increased. Please dont take this antibiotic.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/24/2017
Condition: Acute Inflammation of the Maxillary Sinus
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on this drug for 7 days without any relief. Experienced severe nausea the first 2 days. Went back to the Doctor and was given a different drug. That didn't work either so am back on 250 mg of the Cefuroxime. Have been suffering for overt 3 weeks with this severe sinus infection and ear ache without any relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mm331 | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/18/2017
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took the first three doses and from there on was shaking and had a nervous reaction to the drug had to stop taking.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Emmie91 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/25/2016
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection caused by Klebsiella Bacteria
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am sooooooo sensitive to any antibiotic, other then some headaches which suck this drug has been pretty great I'm pregnant with a kidney infection and it did wonders within 2 days of taking it. Only downfall is the taste and size of the horse pill.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/13/2016
Condition: Strep Throat and Tonsillitis
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medication caused me to have severe urinary incontinence. I lost all control of my bladder and leaked urine through my pants the entire time I was on the medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lara | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/14/2016
Condition: Acute Inflammation of the Maxillary Sinus
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More