Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

19 People found this comment helpful

alot of side effects. some even that fall i the severe catagory. but still on it. why?

Most voted negative review

1 People found this comment helpful

Made me very tired, blurry eyed, coughing, blood sugar rising, loss of appetite, nausea.

Shared reviews and ratings

hopeless | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/10/2015
Condition: Having a Rapid Heart Action - Supraventricular Tachycardia
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within mins. of taking this drug, my throat swelled up. Benadrill was administer by ambulance paramedics so I could breath. this was 25mg and my first pill of this kind.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
lorib | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
6/10/2014
Condition: A Type of Fast Heartbeat - Paroxysmal Atrial Tachycardia
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Drug increased existing anxiety level to the point of me not sleeping even though I took it in the morning. I started with 25mg and when I reported the insomnia to my cardiologist, I was told to cut it in half. I immediately experienced extreme tiredness for 2 days - I had trouble getting off the couch and had foggy thinking.I reported this to my doctor and was told to stop and report back to his office. Unfortunately, I was out of state and could not. I was not provided and warningd about stopping the medication but I later found out that one must not engage in strenuous activity while it cycles out of your system. I went on a slow 3 mile walk and upon arriving at my vacation condo, I experienced over 30 minutes of non stop rapid heartbeats. After that I was getting about one short bout of rapid heartbeats an hour all day. Today only an occasional thump in my chest. My warning is this, this drug is strong and one needs medical help/advise when stopping it's use. Hopefully your cardiologist is more responsible than mine.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
northernsky61 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/30/2014
Condition: A Type of Fast Heartbeat - Paroxysmal Atrial Tachycardia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was experiencing PAT at least twice/day until I was started on Lopressor at 100mg twice a day. My episodes of PAT stopped immediately, and if I do have rapid beats they are around 120-160 BPM. Without the medication it would be 220 BPM. I also have zero side effects other than my heart rate can go as low as 48 beats per minute, but I have no ill effects from the decrease. Wonderful Beta Blocker.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
xoxomotoxoxo | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/9/2014
Condition: A Type of Fast Heartbeat - Paroxysmal Atrial Tachycardia
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for about two months. I am 18 going on 19. It has helped reduce my episodes but I still have had about 3 (may need to get dosage upped) HOWEVER, being so young, my doctor does not know if she wants me to continue on the medication. It made me dizzy at first..loss of appitite regularly still. Also have been some-what constipated. If you are a younger person with SVT, get a second opinion before your body becomes used to the medication.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/18/2014
Condition: Having a Rapid Heart Action - Supraventricular Tachycardia
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The heart palpitations (PVCs and skips/spasms)that I notice seem to have decreased 70-80% over first week of use. I feared it might cap my aerobic workout where I drive my heart to 130+ periodically but it appears to only moderately supress this. I'd likely need actual monitoring to understand effectiveness of 50mg per day dose. Started taking in PM but could not sleep, so take in am and makes me drowsier than I am normally. Slight dizziness on standing on occasion.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/31/2013
Condition: Having a Rapid Heart Action - Supraventricular Tachycardia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No side effects taking this drug and I have not had any episodes.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
12/13/2013
Condition: Having a Rapid Heart Action - Supraventricular Tachycardia
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

done rfa for svt and doc advised to take metapolar xr 50 mg morning and 25 mg evening

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dale | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
6/7/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm always cold

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Meg | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/21/2013
Condition: Paroxysmal Supraventricular Tachycardia
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on this for bout a year now but I still seem to be having problems with my heart rate. I don't know if it's the dosage being to low or what though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/17/2012
Condition: Rapid Irregular Heart Beat - Ectopic Atrial Tachycardia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

excellant

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
deejae149 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/22/2011
Condition: Heart Attack
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i started this medication after having open heart surgery

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bnikkid | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/22/2011
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I take this medication for my a-fib paired with digoxin. Overall it works well for me, but I still experience episodes a few times a week, just not as severe as before while I was on my previous medication. Side effects are minimal, just a little drowsy throughout the day and very thirsty.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Louise | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/20/2011
Condition: Having a Rapid Heart Action - Supraventricular Tachycardia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have not had an SVT episode in seven months on this drug. Which has improved my life. I would recommend this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/15/2011
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

makes me feel funny and kind of sick

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/14/2010
Condition: Ventricular Rate Control in Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/9/2010
Condition: Having a Rapid Heart Action - Supraventricular Tachycardia
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for the last 9 years. The metoprolol was prescribed for my tachycardia. And it has worked in slowing my heart rate. The only side effect that I had was that it did create errectile dysfunction, which was semi-cured by a prescription for an ED helping medication. ie. Levitra, Viagra, Cialis.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Charles | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
10/27/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Started taking after arterial bypass surgery.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Tiffany | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/12/2010
Condition: Rapid Irregular Heart Beat - Ectopic Atrial Tachycardia
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been on med for one month. Have had severe headaches. Have an upset stomach everyday. Hoping I will adjust soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wgh7459 | 19-24 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/5/2010
Condition: Heart Rate Between 100 and 130 Beats Per Minute
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking this to treat my rapid heart rate as well as some of the stuffthat it has listed as side effects. such as: dizzyness, light headness, passing out, blurred vision, joint pain, itching, head pain, and making my arthritis worse than it already was.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/28/2009
Condition: A Type of Fast Heartbeat - Paroxysmal Atrial Tachycardia
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a condition called sick,sinus syndrome, A cardiac pacemake for the slow rate, metoprolol for the fast rate, I dont particular like the drug because of side affect. but I do take it daily. I have tried repeatedly to decrease or get off the drug, The latest test lasted a month and I was forced to start back. I take this drug in combination with another, a very low dose because it lower my blood pressure. What is so puzzling to me, is at night during sleep I have the fast heart rate?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More