Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

36 People found this comment helpful

Due to hospital negligence I got a DVT which traveled to my lung. I initially had problems controlling my INR readings. I was talking to a group of doctors when one of them asked me if I was taking DOXICYCLINE and he told me that that was my problem. Switched to another antibiotic and since then I have had no problems. I asked my DR about these new drugs that do not require freqent blood tests ...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

It is bothersome

Shared reviews and ratings

sissy | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/28/2018
Condition: Abnormal Increase in Ability of Blood to Clot
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had a blood clot in legs and in lungs due to having factor v ledion I take the warfin due to it being cheaper then xerelto My legs and feet hurt very bad and my weight is up and my hair is very thin and bald spots. lately I cant get my inr in range. its keeping me from traveling and enjoying life to the fullest. but , I am alive.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/26/2017
Condition: Blood Clot in Lung
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication since the end of June about 6 months.. I get light headed, fatigue,joint pain, achy in my upper chest, sudden weakness, and all around not feeling normal.. Not sure if blood clots are gone.. frustrated...

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Yolandi | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
5/12/2017
Condition: Blood Clot in Lung
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Developed dermatitis since being on Warfarin which affects my quality of life at this stage. I detest Warfarin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/17/2017
Condition: Blood Clot in a Deep Vein
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Dosage up and down. Very hard to have blood drawn,also very difficult to have procedures done that require a IV. So many blood test that scar tissue prevents test. PT/INR every two weeks sometimes once a month. Wish doctor would find another alternative to warfarin.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cKe6cd | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Caregiver
1/23/2017
Condition: Blood Clots in Deep Veins and in Blood Vessel of the Lung
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

patient elderly , does not want to take has dementia, care giver puts in food. will it be as effective

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
RLH | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
11/26/2016
Condition: Blood Clot in Lung
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking this since 1997 after clots in lung from DVT in legs. The hemotologist found I have very low protein C, a clotting factor.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
luckylady | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
11/10/2016
Condition: Blood Clot caused by Artificial Heart Valve
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had heart valve replacement in 2009. put on warfarin immediately after replacement and have had no problems. Eat moderate amounts of green leafy vegies and get approval before adding supplements. Take 20mg 2 days a week and 15mg 5 days a week to keep pt/inr between 2.5 and 3.5. Am now using a home monitor to check and call in results so dosage can be adjusted in needed. No problems in 7 yrs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
stingerforlife | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/27/2016
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a heart value replaced after a birth defect. I have been on Warfarin for 14 YRS.my only problem is making sure I don't forget. My body actually could keep a steady INR reading so I have to use the name brand Coumadin . I stay away from all greens since it has vitamin K . Other wise I would have to eat it constantly weekly . My only downfall is the occasional brusing from no where if i bump my self the wrong way

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
sgreen | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/21/2016
Condition: Blood Clot in a Deep Vein
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

3rd time with DVT's and has taken around 7months to finally get regulated and only have to be checked once a month now. Have been on this before as my mom has also for years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cinderoo | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/9/2016
Condition: Blood Clots in Deep Veins and in Blood Vessel of the Lung
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Bi-laterial PEs from DVT in October 2014. Xarelto not an option with my anti-seizure medication. No noticeable side effects. Quickly reached therapeutic range and easily stay there. The only difficulty I have is getting the insurance company to allow a home testing monitor--they have refused, so I guess they'll keep subsidizing my monthly testing.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wills999 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/24/2016
Condition: Blood Clot in a Deep Vein
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had 2 DVT's of which 1 was in my popliteal vein at the back of my knee and the other was in my groin, I will be on Warfarin for life. I have had no side effects and my INR has been stable for a good while now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
gregh1973 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/30/2015
Condition: Abnormal Increase in Ability of Blood to Clot
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Warfarin since 1988. I have hundreds of permanent clots in my left leg where it all started. A couple of years ago I suffered my first PANIC ATTACK due to a blood vessel bursting and filling m left pleural sack with close to a gallon of blood which had to be drained. They told me long-term use of Warfarin weakens your blood vessels. NOBODY EVER TOLD ME THAT BEFORE! I now take Valium twice a day to control the anxiety. Just can't go to bed at night without thinking "I'm gonna wake up dead because a vein is going to pop inside my head somehere and I won't be found until morning"!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
? | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/7/2015
Condition: Obstruction of a Blood Vessel by a Blood Clot
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The AMA has released a notice about warfarin and the calcification of arteries. Neither of my doctors have taken the warning to seriously but I'm worried. This effect on top of my arteriosclerosis can not be good. My drug Ins. has refused to OK a different anti coagulant. I don't know how effective it is. I had two mini strokes about two years ago and none since. The only effect from the mini strokes was a slight change in my right eye.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/13/2015
Condition: Treatment to Prevent Blood Clots in Chronic Atrial Fibrillation
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken Warfarin for over 5 years 2.5 once a day . I have never had any side effects and the price for this drug is minimal. The aggravation of taking the INR regularly is not much for a retired person

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ap7655955 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/8/2015
Condition: Blood Clot
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medication for a month now because of a large blood clot in my leg. I feel tired and sleepy all the time. And I'm not sure if it is related, but I am dealing with lower back pain (aches) and my stomach feels like it is cramping all the time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nenty | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/5/2015
Condition: Blood Clot in Lung
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Due to hospital negligence I got a DVT which traveled to my lung. I initially had problems controlling my INR readings. I was talking to a group of doctors when one of them asked me if I was taking DOXICYCLINE and he told me that that was my problem. Switched to another antibiotic and since then I have had no problems. I asked my DR about these new drugs that do not require freqent blood tests for INR levels. BAD news. There is no way to reverse the anticlotting if you have an overdose or get injured where you need to clot you blood. With warfarin a simple injection of Vit K immediately allows your blood to clotRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chezny | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/16/2015
Condition: Blood Clot in Lung
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

for myself the drug has worked well ,but i do experience chest pains ,a sudden loss of which feels like my heart stopping to beat ,then suddenly coming back which makes me panic a little ,old injurys also hurt,and i have joint pain.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | Patient
12/14/2014
Condition: Abnormal Increase in Ability of Blood to Clot
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on warfarin for 22 years and still can't get a stable INR! Blood tests every one or two weeks, but the positive is I have had no blood clots in that time and have not wrapped myself in cotton wool.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ANONYMOUS | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/17/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I say thank goodness for warfarin. I have an artificial aortic valve, so if I were to get a blood clot it would kill me. I'm 23 and I've been on this drug for just under 4 years now. It is hard at times because yes, I do occasionally have a drink, but it sends my INR into a frenzy. With a quick dose change I'm usually back to normal. I avoid greens altogether, because it's basically, eat them regularly, or don't eat them at all... Other than that, I had to switch to Lovenox for the first trimester of my pregnancy, but that's okay. Besides the med changes and close monitoring, even pregnancy and childbirth were okay. I don't see what everyone is complaining about. It's keeping me alive. So for me, it's fine. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bonnie | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/20/2014
Condition: Blood Clot in a Deep Vein
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had 2 blood clots in my leg. They found out I have factor v. I have lots of joint pain, dizziness, fatigue and food taste funny. I don't have 1/2 of the energy I once had. As I am 5o now and I just can't keep up a good workout without being so physically exhausted.I eat well take vitamins but still ache a lot. I am glad others feel like me to. It is good to share information.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More