Show ratings & reviews for

3.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

47 People found this comment helpful

I have been on this cream for 8 months. I suffered from acne but now they are completely gone. It is a strong drying cream so use it twice per week if u are just starting with this cream. I see a dermatologist every 2 to 3 weeks and I'm so happy with this cream. I'm already 40 yrs old so not only does it help with acne it helps with fine lines as well. Per my dermatologist my daughter also uses th...

Most voted negative review

21 People found this comment helpful

I end up with drooping of one side of my face

Shared reviews and ratings

Callywelly | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
8/14/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am a 69 year old. I had little sebaceous cysts on my face. I’ve used retrieve following the best use guidelines for a year. My face is so much better than it was when I was 55. The cysts have almost gone and I am a lot more confident. Just be sure to follow the guidelines with sun exposure.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
j | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/26/2022
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using topical products for about 1 and a half years now with no results and have now started using Tretinoin (0.5%) for about 6 weeks or so, and by the reviews, I'm seeing it worked effectively and within a couple of weeks. In my case, it doesn't seem to work, still haven't used all the cream though. Through the internet, I have seen that using a moisturizer with tretinoin is advised but my parents are saying that it reduces the effects of tretinoin which I'm thing wrong starting to believe. This is sort of my last resort before taking pills, am I doing anything wrong or is it a 'me problem'Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Simplepimple | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/15/2022
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have pumples sort of randomly around my face and got tretinoin to treat it. Its mostly whiteheads and not a lot of cysts. Initially it got worse, and i thought i was Just purging. But the purging Just kept on going. I still continued as i read here that it could take more than 4 months to see results. But i Just continued "purging" and my acne was the worst it has ever been. After the sixth month i gave it up. My acne had become a teeeny bit less inflamed by then, but i think that might as well be because of the sun/summer. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/30/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I asked my doc a week ago if she could prescribe something for wrinkles. She prescribed tretinoin. She warned me about red and peeling skin and recommended I mix a pea-sized amount with my moisturizer. My nightly moisturizer is coconut oil, but my skin is very dry and it is effective for me. I put it on heavy, let it sit for half hour, then pat the excess. Now, I mix a half a tbsp of coconut oil with a pea-sized amount of tretinoin and gently massage into my skin every evening. I haven't had any peeling, redness, or burning. The results are astounding. I'm not exaggerating when I say I'm already seeing a difference, just a week into the treatment. Not only am I noticing firmer skin, but it's also becoming smoother. It is also already diminishing my brown spots, as well. It may not be the same for everyone, but this gal is very pleased, indeed! ?? ??Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Em | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/18/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Unfortunately very soon after use I experienced full facial swelling. Very painful and took some time to decrease. I was given 0.1% to use every other day. I think it was too much.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hannah | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/22/2022
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

3 months ago I developed really deep and inflamed acne on my cheeks, I have had other skin issues before (Rosecea), but hadn’t experienced anything like this. I have been using this cream for almost 2 months and my acne has mostly healed!! I still have red marks but even the really deep acne has healed. It does dry out your skin, so used moisturiser & Cetaphil acne prone sunscreen/moisturiser SPF 25 on top !! I feel much more confident and i’m so happy to be rid of the pain & inflammation Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Aleena | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/16/2022
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I started off using tret in Jan and around 3 went through the most horrible purge! It was awful, it bought out all the gunk underneath my skin all the comedones and bumps to the surface, I wanted to give up so bad I was in so much pain I couldn’t even look in the mirror but I preserved because I had nothing to lose, had been suffering with acne for far too long! Now I’m 9 weeks in and OMG am I glad I stuck it out ! My skin is SO smooth and acne free! All the horrible active acne has been eliminated and now I’m just left with acne scarring which will take time but it honestly doesn’t even bother me because the tret will also fade away marks with continued use ! The best decision ever ! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dejavue | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/10/2022
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used a Tretinoin .05% cream for over two decades as a preventive facial aging process. Tretinoin .05% creams come in several forms but the Taro formula has a cream base ingredient of Hyaluronic which is an excellent base to counter-act the drying effects Tretinoin. I have only used Tretinoin at night. The anti-aging benefits have been astounding! I started using a Tretinoin cream based formula at the age of 42 to help with dark circles under my eyes and now at 66 yrs old I not only have no dark circles under both eyes but have also benefitted with zero forehead lines/wrinkles as well as on the whole of my face and cheeks. The only area that I have had to treat with another cosmetic procedure is around my mouth, the dreaded marionette lines. I receive regular non-surgical, not dermal filler BBL treatments. I highly recommend using a Tretinoin cream based formula to battle the loss of collagen and elasticity as we age - whether you are male or female.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
happy mother | 13-18 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/8/2022
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

my 15 year old son's acne were 80% gone after 3 weeks of using. He only used it once a week per doctor's instruction. I hope with longer time use, all acnes will disappear.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Toni | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/8/2022
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Let me start by saying everyone will have different results, as for me I love my results. First I started the 6 months with accutane and then was given this to use every night after I completed my 6 months of course. When i say i have never felt so happy to take a selfie with our the filter i am not kidding you. My ENTIRE family saw the difference. I will say I had VERY oily skin. So the combination actually helped me a lot. If you're like me and tired of wasting your money on different products i would definitely use this cream. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kc | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/11/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Love this

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/6/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been using it since 6 months ago and still taking a treatment but do not having any improvement in my skin I've cystic acne almost 5 to 7 scars on my face but actually I think it's hormonal imbalance contribute in the new grown pimple/acne this is my 4th session of treatment but somewhere i had a doubt that it's a hereditary problem that's how now I'm not worrying too much about it..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
n2starbucks | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Used it for 2 days. Had severe headaches and skull pressure nausea, diarrhea and dizziness. Felt really out of sorts. I do not recommend if you have hypersensitivity

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
nathanv | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/5/2020
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I always have had pretty bad acne, but the main reason I wanted to try tretinoin was for the anti aging effects. So having acne allowed me to be prescribed it easily. I experienced SOOO much flakiness all over my face but ESPECIALLY my chin, jaw, neck, and cheeks. Everyone says their skin is dry and irritated, but this is different. Its not regular dry skin, but your skin shedding layers on layers each day as your skin cells begin to regenerate faster. I legit woke up each day with dead skin HANGING off my face. Couldn't apply it daily like recommended until 3 months in. But around the 3 1/2 mark I REALLY started seeing results. CLEAREST SKIN SINCE 5TH GRADE. NO NEW BREAKOUTS. This medication works great with niacinamide too. Oh, and if you've heard of the tretinoin purge, its real. I broke out really bad the first 2 weeks I was using this. Like its grand finale before being banned from ever appearing on my face again. 5 starsRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nicole | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/2/2020
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After apply this to my face for 2 years every night I slowly got headaches, tinitius, dizziness & to top it off I had double vision for a month straight. This caused so much cranial pressure. Please console with a doctor before using this product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/29/2018
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i have only been using this for a week but i can definitely already see an improvement in my acne. my face has gotten clearer and smoother. however, my face is peeling, red, and very irritated by simple things such as my face wash and aloe lotion. i have gotten little red patches on my face as well, but i will continue use and see if it will surpass soon.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Happy53 | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/7/2018
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've had acne all my life. Looking forward to leaving the acne period behind me, I am now in my 50's and my acne seems just as bad. When I was first prescribed this drug I only used it as a "spot" treatment...and it worked even though I wasn't using it as my doctor had advised. So the next time I visited my dermatologist she explained the benefits of using a "pea" size of the medication all over my face twice a day and not just as a spot treatment. WHY hadn't I listened to her the first time. Although using it as a spot treatment worked!as I could see overnight how the medication nearly cleared up my skin from surfacing pimples, using it all over as prescribed has given me an even skin tone, soft and clear of acne and basically a new layer of skin without the huge cost of what a skin peel would do. YES, you do have redness, YES, you do have peeling, but as explained by my doctor after about 4 - 6 weeks, that will subside. I guess the first time I wasn't willing to stick out the 4-6 weeks but I'm SO glad I did. She also explained this would act like a much less painless chemical peel and instead of intense pain for a week, it would be a lot less pain in 4 -6 weeks. Again, she was right. Uh! Why didn't I listen the first time. I'm just glad she explained the side affects because I too would've probably stopped hadn't I been made aware. So for all of those people saying DON'T use this drug, I say just stick with it, you'll be happy with the results.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/14/2018
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DO NOT USE THIS CREAM ! I used it and my skin started BURNING when I would wash it with my regular face wash and my face swelled up and got super red and my skin started feeling Like scaly! I couldn’t move my face from how dry and how much it hurt me just the air passing my face burned ! I had to ice my skin and put aloe for 2 days !!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
findingwhatworks | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/25/2018
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I suffer from cystic acne and black heads along with the occasional white heads. I've tried just about everything to help clear my skin and nothing is working my Dermatologist told me this is the last resort besides going on birth control, which makes me severely ill (I've tried all different bands and strengths). There has to be something that works better than burning off my skin while still having inflamed red pimples all over my face. This medication just burns the layers off your skin to try and bring out the pimples and try them out but it just doesn't work for me. Id much rather have pimples under my skin than burn my entire face off trying to get them out. I dont think this product should be used for long periods of time it could possibly end up causing other issues with. I only use this medication at bed time every 3 days because of the skin irritability this was approved by my Dr. as well since my skin was so irritated by this. I don't think this is a medication that can be advertised for cystic acne clients. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sara | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/16/2017
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

At first it makes your skin pretty red and sensitive. You'll get a "dry skin beard" the first few weeks after wearing it overnight. But I love the results I've had just after 1 month. Just remember it'll probably get worse before it gets better but it's great. My skin is looking itself after having a few bad months of hormonal breakouts! Good luck, great product.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More