Show ratings & reviews for

2.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

20 People found this comment helpful

Cleared my sinus infection, felt better in two days-continued treatment for 10 days.

Most voted negative review

6 People found this comment helpful

I used this medication for a tooth abscess. I used it only for 4 days when I developed SEVERE stomach pain and diarrhea. I stopped it immediately. It has been 3 weeks since stopping it and I still have severe diarrhea.

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 19-24 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/24/2021
Condition: Acne
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took 500mg twice a day and had constant diarrhoea every day. Doc suggested cutting down the dose to 250mg per dose and diarrhoea subsided. Don't see much change in my acne.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jessdee85 | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/6/2020
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug was used for tooth infection so they could be pulled. I will never take this crap again! Yes the infection is gone. Yes the pain is gone, but the mental state of confusion and anxiety that this med induced made me stop taking it. I am still tired, a bit confused and anxious. I can take the z pak just fine, but this, NEVER EVER AGAIN!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
meme | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/30/2018
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

When I get a really bad sinus infection when it goes down into my chest this is the only antibiotic that I have been given that really works. It knocks it out quick. One time when my doctor was on vacation there was another doctor filling in and he wouldn't give it to me he insisted the z pack was the way to go but it didn't even come close. I kept waiting for it to kick in. Even though erythromycin is a old antibiotic it's the best for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Just Trying To Help | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/6/2017
Condition: Infection caused by the Bacteria Listeria Monocytogenes
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've taken Erythromycin many times for various infections. (bacterial) Always works well, but I have to take with a full meal and even then it's hard on the stomach. I cannot take it with a glass of water. It's very harsh. Never any LBM for me, but it makes you feel like you've not eaten in days. Super growly tummy which makes you want to eat and eat. Takes many hours to work it's way thru. I take it with a full meal and then go to bed right away. Wake up next morning feeling much better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
resentful | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/9/2017
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used this medication for a tooth abscess. I used it only for 4 days when I developed SEVERE stomach pain and diarrhea. I stopped it immediately. It has been 3 weeks since stopping it and I still have severe diarrhea.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Paradise Ranch | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/5/2017
Condition: Strep Throat
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The drug pamphlet should have more listings under the severe side-effects. I have never experienced a side-effect from a drug as I did from this one. Not only did I experience severe stomach pains, bloating, and gas, but also went into a seizure like symptoms. I ended up in the emergency room until stabilized several hours later. I would "NOT" recommend this drug to anyone and it should come with hefty warnings on the labels when it is prescribed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/2/2017
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No side effects at all, only some light-headedness at times, started to clear up my skin on the 3rd day of taking them. Also took probiotics to make sure I didn't get a yeast infection!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JEFFREY ANG | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/8/2016
Condition: Bacterial Pneumonia caused by Streptococcus pneumoniae
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far so good, although in the beginning it was a bit strong until I felt hypo, a bit physically and mentally disorientated and strange, but I felt OK on the fourth day of oral applications.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Shungy | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/31/2015
Condition: Pneumonia caused by Bacteria
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Within hours of use congestion lessened and thoat pain eased, no side effects of concern.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
em | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/19/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking this medication for BV, As soon as I started using it, within an hour I started feeling my chest tighten, extreme nausea, and abdominal pain. I don't recommend this and am going to call my doctor and ask them to prescribe something else. VERY DISSAPOINTED

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jjsgran | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/20/2015
Condition: A Severe Skin Infection - Ecthyma
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

the side effects are horrendous nausea vomiting stomach pain

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/30/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

OMG while taken this medication I had the worst stomach pain of my life. So the Dr. said next time take it with food so I did and it didn't make it any better at all. With or without food it made me feel like shit

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AMA | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/16/2015
Condition: Skin Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on day 11 of 30 day treatment and have had no side effects at all. I am also taking a probiotic to avoid any irritation that may occur due to being on an antibiotic for such an extended period of time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jim | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/8/2014
Condition: Strep Throat
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

250mg 4 times a day...no problems at all....not surewhat many speak about when they reference chest psins and vomiting...I have not had the sslightest bit of that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
83623d81opayq.com | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/1/2014
Condition: Stomach Muscle Paralysis and Decreased Function
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

As the other person reviewing said it works great. For the reason we take it it is taken before or after a meal so as you don't notice the stomach being upset. I started on mine about the same time he did and it was dirt cheap because many labs made it and not a lot of people used it. You could purchase 120 of the 500mg tablets for $5 to $ten dollars, well for a while there was a shortage of the 500mg and the 250mg was the only one being made. 240 of the 250mg was a little cheaper than the 500mg. AND THEN the price started to climb to $1200 and now it is around $2000 dollars. Insure agreed price is around $1400 and I am just a few dollars away from my wonderful medicare D "Donut Hole" whereI have to pay 100% of the price till I spend another $2000 dollars. If I had that kind of money I would not need the Medicare D insurance. I will not go back to the Reglan. I don't know what the hell I am going to do. Oh by the way I found out that taking 250mg Pill worked as good as the 500mg with a normal meal and not the all-u can eat Buffet, that takes the 500mg pill. I now eat only one meal a day because I was given 18 500mg pills that one of my in-laws gave me. So I can eat for 36 more days then I will have to quit eating solids until the first of the year.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/23/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Caused the worst diarrhea I have had in 64 years. 15-20 trips per day, plus cramping. I would not take this again unless I were dying of something for which this was the only remedy.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Revirew erythromycin | 75 or over | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/24/2013
Condition: Lyme Disease
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Stomach Cramps, Diahrrea, Dizziness

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
shooterbug | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/29/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

made my stomach hurt cramping alot did not help my gastroparesis

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ariadna | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/27/2013
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had worst stomach and chest pain ever.stay away from this poison.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
chthom | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/22/2012
Condition: Strep Throat
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took ONE dose of this antibiotic (Z-pack) and within hours started having watery diarrhea which has persisted for more than 48 hours. I never took a second dose. Feel run down and tired due to constant diarrhea. I will never take this antibiotic again. I hope I never need to have an antibiotic because the side effects are unbearable.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More