Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

28 People found this comment helpful

Since I was 9 months old I suffered from periodic bouts of UTI until teenage years. After marriage the occurrences of UTI began again and as I aged, the ferocity of the UTI increased. It was recommend I take 100mg daily to help combat the frequency of the UTI. I began this regimen 3 years ago and except for the one time I ran out of my Rx for Trimethoprim I have not had any recurrences of the UTI...

Most voted negative review

5 People found this comment helpful

Two hours after taking felt like I had the flu. Fever, sweats, then terrible, scary shivering. It was extreme. Completed prescription (three days) because emergency nurse on the phone said it was the flu because symptoms are not related to this drug. Several months later my UTI symptoms reappeared. Same prescription same terrible outcome! This time ended up in emergency room. Clearly I am no...

Shared reviews and ratings

Leanne | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/11/2022
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Oh my gosh, I regret going on these antibiotics so much because as soon as I started taking them I went downhill. I had a lot of vagina burning and spasms then had severe lower abdominal pain. I vomited 20 times and went to A&E, was told to stop taking the antibiotics immediately. Ever since this awful experience, I have been having constant lower abdominal pain and bladder pressure. I have never ever had this on other antibiotics for UTIs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ian Donald | 55-64 | Male | Patient
7/25/2022
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a long history of kidney stones. Eight months ago, I had one of my worst ever episodes in 30 years. I couldn't wee for 36 hours. I took myself to A&E and had a bag fitted. Even Fentanyl didn't work on the pain. Next day I was so ill I ended up getting a neighbour (UK) to phone for an ambulance. I have had a really rough time through most of 2021 with further stones and urinary tract infections. I even dream about them :-) I have had this drug three times for UTI. I read about the side-effects and was dreading the possibly negative effects of this drug. However, i experienced none of them whatsoever. I'm currently back on them again for the 4th time. Still absolutely okay. I have experienced terrible side-effects from other antibiotics for sepsis, so Please do not presume that a negative experience in the past from other antibiotics, that Trimethroprim will also make you ill. Please give them a go as UTIs are a nasty condition. There is an equally effective antibiotic if this one gives you bad side-effects. Just Google UTI antibiotics and look at the research for equally effective alternatives.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ginyzuck | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/12/2019
Condition: Infection of Urinary Tract due to Enterobacter Cloacae
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on 5 or 6 antibiotics and now this one. I get so sick dr gave me nausea prescription doesn't help. I get the shakes and rapid heart beat. It does not feel right.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/28/2019
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No bad reactions

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Trimithiprim | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/10/2019
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After being provisionally diagnosed with a UTI/kidney infection I took the tablet as prescribed. Within 3 hours I experienced a severe headache and extreme nausea.Bloating/stomach ache. So bad I needed to take mersondyl forte . (strong anti-nausea /pain relief.) Also strong metallic taste in mouth about 1-2 hrs after taking this med. Tingling (Slight in the mouth). My advice is to take cautiously as it has strong side effects if you are going to experience them. My partner was ready to take me to emergency it felt so bad. Having said all this i woke the next morning feeling a little better so continued on meds 300mg daily at night. Now late day 2 and nausea returned and tiredness . plus muscle aches, particularly in thighs. Will see GP tomorrow to discuss whether to change meds.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JessyNyan | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/1/2019
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been prescribed this and started experiencing heart palpitations and irregular heartbeat as a side effect. I called my GP and he told me that's impossible and I must be imagining it... Even though it states irregular heartbeat as the most common side effect, even more common than a simple headache. Im left feeling terrified and stupid and have not slept the whole night due to my heart going crazy. I cannot wait for this medication to leave my system, I don't recommend it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sung | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
2/19/2019
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had UTI for 30 years, as I age it became more frequent. Doctor wanted me to have 100 mg a day on daily basis for 6 months and I have had no UTI since.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Margymo25d | 75 or over | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/7/2018
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I come out in big red blotches all over my body with the medication

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Pat | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/1/2017
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Two hours after taking felt like I had the flu. Fever, sweats, then terrible, scary shivering. It was extreme. Completed prescription (three days) because emergency nurse on the phone said it was the flu because symptoms are not related to this drug. Several months later my UTI symptoms reappeared. Same prescription same terrible outcome! This time ended up in emergency room. Clearly I am not only person with this reaction. As a common reaction, this should be listed upfront, so doctors don't misdiagnosis it,as happened to me.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Me | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/21/2017
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

chronic UTI treatment to prevent breakhrough infections as much as possible for patient requiring regular self-catheterization program

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Wats | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/10/2017
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For almost two years I have had issues and itching Burning with the tip of my penis, redness and general discomfort, I tried many different antibiotics, Ciprofoxacin, fluconazonl. azithromicin, and many other but nothing worked, i had about ten visits to the SDT clinic, even seen a urologist but they said it was all fine, after some searching on the web I came across Trimeoprim after about one week of taking two tablets a day I am now fixed and feel completely normal, I did suffer from a sore throat and a head ache but it was a small price to pay to rid of what I had. hopefully I will never go through that again as it caused me months of misery. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nightingale | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/6/2016
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The drug cleared me of the infection but I did find it rather hard to take as it started to desolve very quickly and often stuck to the back on my tongue.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Joan S | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/15/2015
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The tablets seemed to clear the infection but I was left feeling like a zombie, total fatigue and some nausea. Stopped after 5 of 7 day course and immediately felt better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SJ | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/28/2014
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

On maintenance to prevent UTI 1 100mg daily before bed. Duration 4 months. Starting to get red, itchy rash on my neck which won't go away. May be from exposure to sun. Will stop and hope the UTI dosn't come back.No other problems with the drug. Any comment?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/1/2014
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had blood and cloudy urine. No bacteria on culture. Took RX for a week and now on maintenance 1x a day at night. Now clear urine.Does cause gas. Try Probotics. It works!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SapphireLion | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/20/2014
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Since I was 9 months old I suffered from periodic bouts of UTI until teenage years. After marriage the occurrences of UTI began again and as I aged, the ferocity of the UTI increased. It was recommend I take 100mg daily to help combat the frequency of the UTI. I began this regimen 3 years ago and except for the one time I ran out of my Rx for Trimethoprim I have not had any recurrences of the UTI. Since it is usually included with Bactrim and other sulfa-based drugs (which I am very sensitive to) I felt like it would certainly be worth the effort to try. I only wish WalMart had it on their $4 generic list as it can be quite pricey even though it is a generic name drug. Trimethoprim has been a blessing for me. I have had to side effects whatsoever while taking this drug. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/10/2014
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Take it 1x day for maintenance. Only problem is too much gas! Could it be destroying the good bacteria?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mia | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/8/2014
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Im on my second day, and i feel like im going to faint every hour, or throw up, i cant eat, hasn't stopped my kidneys hurting and my belly has this burning sensation, i also feel dizzy

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
annie | 75 or over | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/5/2013
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

after 4 uti's in 3 months, was put on this medication 100mg q 12 hr. have not had another infection in 4 months. will probably be on it rest of my life.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | Patient
7/4/2013
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a severe allergic reaction to this drug. I now wear a allergy bracelet. Even half a tablet my mouth swells to a point where I cannot eat and I suffer from extreme itching in personal areas of my body. I need huge doses of steriods and takes a week to where I can start to feel relief.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More