Skip to content

    Read user comments about the side effects, benefits, and effectiveness of phentermine oral.

    Overall User Ratings

    2367 Total User Reviews

    User Reviews

    1-5 of 2166 Next»
    Condition: Overweight
    6/17/2020 10:18:25 AM

    Reviewer: Gialeigh , 35-44 Female on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 5

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 5

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 3

    Comment:
    I was in this many years ago and it worked GREAT. I was recently put on it again and had a terrible reaction. Sores on the side of my tongue. So painful. I even took half for a few days and the same thing happened. It�s not listed in the side effects but after much research it does happen to many people. So upset that I can�t take it anymore.

    Condition: Overweight
    12/10/2019 10:42:40 PM

    Reviewer: Jules1, 35-44 on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 4

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 4

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 4

    Comment:
    It definitely suppressed the appetite. However, I didnâ??t know that dry mouth can lead to tooth decay, which has caused me to need a crown. So, not sure the $1500 for dental work is worth the 18 lbs lost that Iâ??ll most likely gain back once Iâ??m off the drug. I took it a few years ago and as soon as I stopped, itâ??s like my appetite exploded. I craved everything. Iâ?? ... Show Full Comment

    Condition: Overweight
    8/27/2019 10:31:16 PM

    Reviewer: jersygrl69, 45-54 Female on Treatment for 1 to less than 2 years (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 5

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 5

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 3

    Comment:
    Worked great,the first time around. Started Phentermine in January 2018, went from 180 to 145 in 6 months' time. Went off it for several months, and gained back 20 pounds (once you stop the pill, your appetite returns.) Went back on Phentermine in January 2019 in an attempt to lose 10 of the 20 pounds I regained, and can't lose a damn thing. (They don't tell you it loses its effectiven ... Show Full Comment

    Condition: Overweight
    8/21/2019 12:45:52 AM

    Reviewer: JayJay, 25-34 on Treatment for less than 1 month (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 5

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 5

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 5

    Comment:
    Wow!!! What a miracle drug. I started on 15mg (The lowest dose) on 08/14/2019

    Condition: Overweight
    7/16/2019 2:16:55 PM

    Reviewer: Dirtdit, 45-54 Male on Treatment for 1 to 6 months (Patient)

    Effectiveness

    Current Rating: 4

    Ease of Use

    Current Rating: 5

    Satisfaction

    Current Rating: 4

    Comment:
    First 30 days of taking and I have dropped 15 pounds so far. I do watch and count calories to assure that I am not over eating. Not a miracle drug, but it does help.

    1-5 of 2166 Next»

    Ask the pharmacist

    Questions about medications? Get expert answers by video or live chat about allergies, pregnancy, sleep, and more.
    See the Ask the Pharmacist event schedule.

    Ask a Question

    Popular Slideshows & Tools on WebMD

    disciplining a boy
    Types, symptoms, causes.
    fruit drinks
    Eat these to think better.
    bald woman smelling flowers
    Complementary therapies to ease symptoms.
    embarrassed woman
    Do you feel guilty after eating?
    diabetes highlighted
    4 early warning signs.
    birth control pills
    Which kind is right for you?
    Remember your finger
    Are you getting more forgetful?
    sticky notes on face
    10 tips to clear your brain fog.
    Close up of eye
    12 reasons you're distracted.
    Trainer demonstrating exercise for RA
    Exercises for your joints.
    Senior woman using diabetes test kit
    Each one takes 10 minutes or less.
    woman having a good day
    Revitalize your life.

    WebMD the app

    Get trusted health information. Whenever. Wherever... with your iPhone, iPad or Android.

    Find Out More
    IMPORTANT: About This Section and Other User-Generated Content on WebMD

    The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions. Some of these opinions may contain information about treatment or uses of drug products that have not been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. WebMD does not endorse any specific product, service, or treatment.

    Do not consider WebMD User-generated content as medical advice. Never delay or disregard seeking professional medical advice from your doctor or other qualified healthcare provider because of something you have read on WebMD. You should always speak with your doctor before you start, stop, or change any prescribed part of your care plan or treatment. WebMD understands that reading individual, real-life experiences can be a helpful resource but it is never a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment from a qualified health care provider. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor or dial 911 immediately.