Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

102 People found this comment helpful

I went to the doctor because I was at the end of my rope. I felt like I was in prison. I haven't been able to lose weight since the birth of my child 8 yrs. ago. I had my gall bladder removed 1 1/2 yrs ago. Having that removed caused more complications, not being able to eat a normal portion of food without it causing massive stomach pains and the runs.. So! for over a year, not eating alot with e...

Most voted negative review

16 People found this comment helpful

i do not recomened this drug at all i have never been a drug user but from what ive been told it is not any different than street meth. I can also see how it could turn into something very bad. It has effected my whole life . It made me become someone i am not . my wife, kids and job were all hurt by this med and to see that you can get this over the net in my oppinion is nothing more than the dev...

Shared reviews and ratings

pelotonmom | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/14/2022
Condition: Weight Gain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine definitely will curb your appetite, but be aware that it causes severe constipation if you are not supplementing with Metamucil or the like. The doctor won't mention this to you. This med also causes excessive sweating during workouts, probably from the accelerated heart rate. If you suffer from insomnia, you will just exacerbate your issue. I would definitely NOT recommend this med to anyone wanting to lose any amount of weight. I would only recommend going about it the old fashioned way. Good luck!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SHi | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/23/2022
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would have chosen zero stars if it would have let me! I took Phentermine for 6 week at the insistence of my doctor. I was already losing weight, but she said it would help. The first day I was so dizzy I could barely walk across the room. Doctor said there was no way it was caused by the phentermine. At 6 weeks I ended up in the ER with severe stuttering and couldn't find the right words when speaking. After many tests to rule out a stroke and 3 nights in the hospital, my doctor agreed that phentermine was the cause. One year later, I still stutter and can't find words whenever I am stressed or tired. This pill destroys lives! PLEASE DO NOT TAKE IT!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SAReed | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
6/27/2022
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking 37.5 MG phentermine on 10/08/21. From that day to the 1st week of January 2022 I lost 35lbs. I noticed myself not feeling hungry and ate a well balanced dinner and a lunch time snack. I also walked 2 miles and drank lots of water. Going back on it tomorrow (06/28/22) to try and lose another 20-25lbs. Experienced no side effects. Went from 226lbs to 191lbs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JoJo | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/23/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Male 32 The medicine has worked great for me. It has helped me control my hunger. I have been able to cut my portions by 66% because I used to over eat at almost every meal. I’ve dropped 20 pounds and 4 inches off my waist in one month. The only side effect I have felt is the dry mouth but I always keep water on me so no big deal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TB | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/9/2022
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took phentermine for 2 weeks. Not long enough to see any weight loss. I went on a weekend vacation and for got to bring it with me. The withdrawal that started after 2 days of not taking meds were TERRIBLE! 6 days later I’m still mentally unstable. Thoughts of suicide. Feeling okay one second then the next feeling meaningless, attacked, all of my negative feelings are increased by at least 10. I am dealing with SEVERE depression. And no I do not usually have these types of feelings or behavior. I usually have some mood swings when I’m menstruating ?? but not during any other times and definitely not to this extent. I have noticed in others (3 people) who have taken this medication that you usually gain the weight back. I also need to mention because this med is a stimulant, while not taking it I have a hard time getting out of bed and an increased appetite. People should not write a review until they have stopped taking the medication. So we can understand more of the during and after affect. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
iowachel | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/7/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

really helped me when i reached a plateau. i sometimes split the pill so it wasnt so strong and my rx would last longer

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AJ | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/26/2022
Condition: Weight Gain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I gained weight during Covid and struggled to lose it. I have been on 15 mg for almost 2 months and I have lost 12 lbs so far. Average loss for me so far is 6 lbs a month. I normally eat healthy meals but tend to over snack after dinner. This drug staves off those cravings. I do walk 4 miles a day, every day. I hope to be back to my normal size 8 by mid summer. So, it works for me. I do have some nights where I want to binge so maybe I need an increase. No side effects for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susan | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/26/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I only had dry mouth. I’ve done it twice and it is easy and highly effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Samantha Harris | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
5/20/2022
Condition: Weight Gain
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was the worst experience I’ve ever had taking any kind of medication. Healthy 27year old, I got onto this medication due to my horrible binge eating habits. Yes I saw the weight dropping within the first 2days. But the side effects weren’t worth it. I only got two hours sleep a night, was hearing voices, lost my voice, my heart pain was through the roof followed along with body spasms, and sometimes I just couldn’t talk..my brain was having the worst time trying to find the right words. I had to get off them, I’m already feeling the withdrawal side effects..the worst depression you’ll ever experience. This makes you want to kill yourself. I honestly rather go on clen and just be on a low calorie diet. I just need some will power to not binge eat. But please guys, I’m warning you…be prepared. If this is effecting me and others like this within the first week of taking it then imagine what it’s doing in the long run to your brain and body. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Natasha | 0-2 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/6/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was stuck at 210 for years and at 40 years old I had absolutely no hope left in me that i would ever lose the weight. I spent so much money on garbage products with false claims and diet and exercise alone would yield no results. I have been on Phentermine for 3 months and have lost almost 40 pounds. To everyone saying it's like "meth" you clearly didn't really take it or gave up to soon. It definitely gave me energy for the first week and it wasnt the jittery kind at all and after that literally all side effects where gone. I have not felt that way since the one week mark. This drug is a miracle and I will forever be thankful for it giving me my life back. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Queen979 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/29/2022
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Works great the first couple weeks, then it starts to have no effect. Side effects I noticed were yeast infection and UTI

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MissPeralta | 25-34 | Nonbinary | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/9/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a 5'6 woman weighing 269. I had been working out consistently 3 days a week for a year with no weight loss. I went to my doctor because I was ready to give up. She diagnosed me with hypertension and did blood work that came back normal but my blood pressure needed immediate addressing. I went home that night stressed about the visit and started then to do a strict dash diet and up my workouts to 5 days a week and no cheat days. By my 2 week follow up I'd dropped to 265 and brought my blood pressure from 156/100 to 135/88 just with diet and exercise. She agreed I needed blood thinners to help keep my kidneys from overworking and also prescribed phentermine to aid my weight loss. I'm now 6 weeks into it and dropped 20lbs. I still workout 5-6 days a week walking and jogging 2 miles and still stick to my dash diet but it works! I have dry mouth and some nights don't sleep well if I take the pill past 6:30am but have no other issues. My doctors been monitoring my heart rates and has no concerns. I needed this intervention. I wasn't being completely honest with myself about what I was eating. I never was a big eater but I did consume way to many foods high in sodium and fat and ate late at night. My suggestion for those on the fence about using this medicine is to first adopt healthy eating habit. Give yourself a week goal. Get your eating habits under control first and you'll see continued success on and off phentermine. I have considerable weight left to lose so I'm not having any cheat days yet because I know I'll revert back to what's hurting me but hopefully I can keep on track with phentermine Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
beth g | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/8/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was taking 15 mgs for 4 weeks and was increased to 30 for the last 3 weeks. I do not notice much of a decrease in appetite or increase in energy levels. I havent lost any weight. Im 53 so it may have something to do with my hormones but I m overall disappointed

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Oma | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/29/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

No side effects at all and losing about a pibe per day. Lots of energy and helps me with concentration, performing better at work and feeling active during the day.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rose | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/21/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went to my doctor because I wanted help to lose weight and she prescribed me this medicine. I took it for 4 days and I have the worst migraine of my life ! I feel like a big elephant is on my chest or like that feeling you get when you ride that magnet ride at the fair ! I do not recommend at all !

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NOLA | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
1/11/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been using this med for about a year now and I went from waist size 38 to 30 in about 6 months, lost about 40 pounds. My weight used to be 210 lbs, went down to 170. I love it. The only negative side effect I've had is too much energy that sometimes it keeps me up at night and in the long term, I've noticed the effectiveness to suppress my hunger has decreased. I asked the doctor if this is a med I can be on permanently and he absolutely said no, this is a temporary help and I should work on a diet and exercise. I'm having a hard time accomplishing that and when I stop taking it it's like my hunger comes back with a vengeance, a lot more hungry. For now I'll keep using it until they decide to take me off of it. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Nikita | 35-44 | Female | Patient
12/5/2021
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Because of COVID, I gained from 150 lbs to 231 lbs in 2 months due to depression. I was actually shocked when I found out my actual weight when I went to see the doctor. I was already heavy but it was gaining lbs evenly throughout my body I couldn’t tell. I have always wore sweat pants and sweaters. Anyhow, the doctor prescribed me phentermine 15mg from March 2021 and I stopped using it on June 2021 because I got down to 142lbs. Yeah, dry mouth and hyper extra energy. Hence it’s why it says drink plenty water which I have. I didn’t just take pills, I exercise too. I mean the energy I was getting that just turbo me into exercises even weight lifting which I used to hate but damn I’m now fit. I wish I could upload the before and after picture. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susan | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
12/3/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So about 6 months ago my doctor prescribed this med to lose about 20 pounds. At 57 years old I'm post menopausal and a type 1 diabetic. Two things against me for losing weight, and I also can't do alot of exercises due to neuropathy in my legs and feet. In one month I lost 8 pounds which I was excited about. My doctor put me on it again to drop a few more but my question is this. Doctor told me this med should not be taken long term, first time taking she prescribed it for 6 weeks only and this time 2 months. Is it safe to take longer?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sharrell | Female |
11/11/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this medication September 2020 I was 268 lbs. By valentines day 2021 I was 217 lbs. I lost another 10 lbs by April. I did aerobics 30 mins twice a day and ate low carb . I always eat low carb though because im type 2 diabetic. But after the weight loss I didnt need meds. I stop taking it in may this year and the weight stayed off with excercise and watching what I eat until around the beginning of September. I had been super stressed . And ive gained almost 20 lbs . I was eating crap and not working out . But as of monday Ive been back on it ! And eating right ! I will be hitting the gym soon as well! For me it boost my energy and helps with my brain stimulation. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hana | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/20/2021
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I only take it for 3 days I wasn’t myself I hated my life my work my family I felt so so sad I stopped the medicine it’s curse

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More