Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

102 People found this comment helpful

I went to the doctor because I was at the end of my rope. I felt like I was in prison. I haven't been able to lose weight since the birth of my child 8 yrs. ago. I had my gall bladder removed 1 1/2 yrs ago. Having that removed caused more complications, not being able to eat a normal portion of food without it causing massive stomach pains and the runs.. So! for over a year, not eating alot with e...

Most voted negative review

16 People found this comment helpful

i do not recomened this drug at all i have never been a drug user but from what ive been told it is not any different than street meth. I can also see how it could turn into something very bad. It has effected my whole life . It made me become someone i am not . my wife, kids and job were all hurt by this med and to see that you can get this over the net in my oppinion is nothing more than the dev...

Shared reviews and ratings

Kay2022 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/29/2022
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been using this medication for 2 months and I haven’t lost a single pound.. It is extremely disappointing! I am taking the 30mg every morning and all it does is make me feel like I have a slight high feeling and I get a headache too. I am going to see if there’s something else that I can try. I’ve tried losing weight for years and just can’t do it. Tried keto, weight watchers, you name it, just doesn’t work for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Meg | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/28/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked great for me! Lost 15 pounds. It did cause dry mouth but only noticed it the first 2 weeks. I did gain 5 pounds back after being off of it for a month. I exercise and stick to a healthy lifestyle. I do not have a gallbladder and I also have Hashimotos so I always have a hard time losing weight and this seems to be the best thing for me. I wish i could could have continued using it longer then 3 months.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sprinkles | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/24/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking this 7/15 and I was 370lbs. Today, 11/24, I’m weighing in at 298lbs! I had one day of jitters and energy and after that I went back to ‘normal’. It definitely curves my hunger and suppresses some of my major cravings like sugar. The only adverse reaction is my heart beats 5-6 more bpm.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
PRoman | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/14/2022
Condition: Adjunct Treatment of Obesity in a Comprehensive Weight Reduction Regimen
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Worked when I used it the first time, but second time caused terrible mood swings

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mikesterr | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/31/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Side effects were Minimal. There was a bit of Nervousness, and maybe a slight dizziness. when I first started I could feel the Energy increase, however that only lasted first few weeks. After that the positive effects seemed to diminish. I took the pills for 60 days then was off for 30. Then back on for another 60 days. In the first round paired with Minimal exercise (Walking several times a week) I was successful in loosing some weight but the results were not drastic. It does take a lot of self control after you stop taking the medication so as not to gain everything back. I was less successful at that. The 2nd round was paired with a more intense Daily exercise routine (Low Impact Aerobic). Much better success on the 2nd round. I would say its worth trying, if your having trouble getting started with weight loss, but its not really going to work as a Long term plan. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Jackie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/7/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Initially the first few weeks were great with increased energy and 15 pounds weight loss. But around the 4th week i had lots of anxiety and compromised employment due to mood swings, fatigue and irritability. Once I stopped weight returned. Not worth it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bianca Cantu | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
9/21/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

im 23 . had no damn energy what so ever. overweight and tired of bein a couch potatoe . got this phentermine prescribed to me so that i can have energy to lose weight and get healthy to soon start a family. i am 7 pounds down in 5 days . literally. 262lbs to 255lbs. i am in shock. the first day was a bit crazy i went from absolutely no energy to booom feeling like the hulk and like i can run 1000 miles LOL. only side effect i have is really dry mouth. but keepin a jug of water by ur side should be a must when trying to lose weight anyways. i have a slight headache on this medication but its still my first week. its not horrible where it is effecting me . a lil tylenol will do the trick. overall i LOVE it and recommend it. also only take half the pill. the whole thing is just tooooo much lmao. i sleep great at night actually because im up all day tiring myself out by bedtime its worn off and i am sleepy 10/10 !!! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cee Cee | 55-64 | Female | Patient
9/15/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It has brought out emotional outbursts and traumas from past. This pill had my emotions out of control and once off it it, I gained my weight back in 2 weeks. Not worth the emotional roller coaster it put me through, but I did lose weight and looked good for about 2 months. Could not cope with regular everyday conflicts. Beware.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
kiki | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/31/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Been taking this for 2 weeks on a low dose. I stopped taking it because i noticed increase in anxiety. 2 Days later Im dealing with the worse depression and panic attacks. Ive never felt so bad even after the deaths of my 2 best friends and parents.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Stephanie | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/17/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

DO NOT TAKE THIS MEDICATION! It is not worth it and despite what drs and pharmacist say it is not safe enough for the benefits to outweigh the risks. I had serious side effects and the withdrawal symptoms were severe. It is absolutely not worth it there so many more natural appetite suppressants and metabolism boosters that don’t have to seriously severely affect your life. I wish I had never taken it and I wish my dr would have been more transparent and informative of the possible side effects and risks. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pelotonmom | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/14/2022
Condition: Weight Gain
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This medicine definitely will curb your appetite, but be aware that it causes severe constipation if you are not supplementing with Metamucil or the like. The doctor won't mention this to you. This med also causes excessive sweating during workouts, probably from the accelerated heart rate. If you suffer from insomnia, you will just exacerbate your issue. I would definitely NOT recommend this med to anyone wanting to lose any amount of weight. I would only recommend going about it the old fashioned way. Good luck!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SHi | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/23/2022
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would have chosen zero stars if it would have let me! I took Phentermine for 6 week at the insistence of my doctor. I was already losing weight, but she said it would help. The first day I was so dizzy I could barely walk across the room. Doctor said there was no way it was caused by the phentermine. At 6 weeks I ended up in the ER with severe stuttering and couldn't find the right words when speaking. After many tests to rule out a stroke and 3 nights in the hospital, my doctor agreed that phentermine was the cause. One year later, I still stutter and can't find words whenever I am stressed or tired. This pill destroys lives! PLEASE DO NOT TAKE IT!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
SAReed | 13-18 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Caregiver
6/27/2022
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started taking 37.5 MG phentermine on 10/08/21. From that day to the 1st week of January 2022 I lost 35lbs. I noticed myself not feeling hungry and ate a well balanced dinner and a lunch time snack. I also walked 2 miles and drank lots of water. Going back on it tomorrow (06/28/22) to try and lose another 20-25lbs. Experienced no side effects. Went from 226lbs to 191lbs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JoJo | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/23/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Male 32 The medicine has worked great for me. It has helped me control my hunger. I have been able to cut my portions by 66% because I used to over eat at almost every meal. I’ve dropped 20 pounds and 4 inches off my waist in one month. The only side effect I have felt is the dry mouth but I always keep water on me so no big deal.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TB | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/9/2022
Condition: Overweight
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took phentermine for 2 weeks. Not long enough to see any weight loss. I went on a weekend vacation and for got to bring it with me. The withdrawal that started after 2 days of not taking meds were TERRIBLE! 6 days later I’m still mentally unstable. Thoughts of suicide. Feeling okay one second then the next feeling meaningless, attacked, all of my negative feelings are increased by at least 10. I am dealing with SEVERE depression. And no I do not usually have these types of feelings or behavior. I usually have some mood swings when I’m menstruating ?? but not during any other times and definitely not to this extent. I have noticed in others (3 people) who have taken this medication that you usually gain the weight back. I also need to mention because this med is a stimulant, while not taking it I have a hard time getting out of bed and an increased appetite. People should not write a review until they have stopped taking the medication. So we can understand more of the during and after affect. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
iowachel | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/7/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

really helped me when i reached a plateau. i sometimes split the pill so it wasnt so strong and my rx would last longer

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AJ | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/26/2022
Condition: Weight Gain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I gained weight during Covid and struggled to lose it. I have been on 15 mg for almost 2 months and I have lost 12 lbs so far. Average loss for me so far is 6 lbs a month. I normally eat healthy meals but tend to over snack after dinner. This drug staves off those cravings. I do walk 4 miles a day, every day. I hope to be back to my normal size 8 by mid summer. So, it works for me. I do have some nights where I want to binge so maybe I need an increase. No side effects for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Susan | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
5/26/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for Overweight Person with BMI 27 to 29 and Weight-Related Comorbidity
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I only had dry mouth. I’ve done it twice and it is easy and highly effective.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Samantha Harris | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
5/20/2022
Condition: Weight Gain
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was the worst experience I’ve ever had taking any kind of medication. Healthy 27year old, I got onto this medication due to my horrible binge eating habits. Yes I saw the weight dropping within the first 2days. But the side effects weren’t worth it. I only got two hours sleep a night, was hearing voices, lost my voice, my heart pain was through the roof followed along with body spasms, and sometimes I just couldn’t talk..my brain was having the worst time trying to find the right words. I had to get off them, I’m already feeling the withdrawal side effects..the worst depression you’ll ever experience. This makes you want to kill yourself. I honestly rather go on clen and just be on a low calorie diet. I just need some will power to not binge eat. But please guys, I’m warning you…be prepared. If this is effecting me and others like this within the first week of taking it then imagine what it’s doing in the long run to your brain and body. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Natasha | 0-2 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/6/2022
Condition: Weight Loss Management for an Obese Person
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was stuck at 210 for years and at 40 years old I had absolutely no hope left in me that i would ever lose the weight. I spent so much money on garbage products with false claims and diet and exercise alone would yield no results. I have been on Phentermine for 3 months and have lost almost 40 pounds. To everyone saying it's like "meth" you clearly didn't really take it or gave up to soon. It definitely gave me energy for the first week and it wasnt the jittery kind at all and after that literally all side effects where gone. I have not felt that way since the one week mark. This drug is a miracle and I will forever be thankful for it giving me my life back. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More