Show ratings & reviews for

3.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

39 People found this comment helpful

Upgraded from urinary trickle at night , to goodly stream ( total bladder emptying) within a week of starting on Flomax generic , using one pill about 9pm daily. Wonderful . I am 80 yrs old male

Most voted negative review

12 People found this comment helpful

Yes this helps with urine flow, that is about it. Here is the amazing part. At the generic price of $204./30 days, the cost of the ingredient is.... $17.50 /mg $17500.00/gram $7,936,250.00/lb, yes folks almost 8 million dollars for a pound. For that you could get 413.35 lbs of gold Illicit drug dealers are selling the wrong stuff on the street, a kilo of this goes for $17,500,000., yes 17...

Shared reviews and ratings

Theman | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/19/2022
Condition: Stones in the Urinary Tract
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking the .4mg capsule. The results were great the first month, now the drug does nothing. Still have to use catheter to empty bladder. No Kidney stones were passed even though 9 showed up on my CT scan.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
cuckoo bird | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/17/2022
Condition: Stones in the Urinary Tract
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Flomax for about 2 weeks and it works good for me. I drink and urinate more. Worried about side effects and reluctant to use the product but I tried it after having stones and it has been fantastic. Sexual side effects and dizziness not there at all.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
J.G. | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/21/2022
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this for 7 years now and I am 62. My doctor increased it to 2 a day and it worked for a while until Rite Aid started using a different 0.4mg generic capsule with a D 53 on it and ever since I have had problems urinating again and wake up 4 to 5 times a night with very low amounts of urine. I also noticed like many other men that no semen comes out when having sex with my girlfriend and I experience almost no orgasm.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bob | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/14/2022
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had taken this for several years and it didn't do the job so my doctor told me I could take Finasteride along with the Flomax, neither one is doing the job.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
edsel6 | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/8/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So I started taking this and immediately (an hour later) I started to get a severe back pain which rolled to my chest with heaviness. I guess you could say it was like having a heart attack but I don't know how that feels since I never had one. The next day my joints hurt and my muscle's felt weak. I tried to continue over the next 4 days taking my dose at the same time each day figuring it would take some time for my body to adjust. After 5 days of the constant back pain with chest pain, muscle fatigue and joint pain I had to stop. Immediately on the 6th day with no more doses I had none of those symptoms. I have to say though peeing provided a more steady flow but I'll live with the periodic dribble as opposed to those side effects. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/2/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was started on this medication to ease frequent urination. It did relax the bladder to be all to fully empty. But after about 3 days I noticed an extremely stuffey nose like a sinus infection. At first, I just thought it was fall allergies. Then I began waking up at 1:15 am or 3:15 am and would be wide awake and totally unable to go back to sleep. I also have sleep apnea and use a CPAP. I went through this for about a week and a half. I stopped Flomax at night and slept all night since stopping it 4 days ago and my stuffy nose went away also. When I first started taking the medicine at night, the next morning I would be extremely light headed for about a week.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
pronoflo | 45-54 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/30/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking it for 2 years and it did relieve my urination frequency however I will gladly take that than the horrific side effects. sexual desire is gone, ejaculation I would orgasm but NO semen, partner thought I was faking orgasm? lol No not funny. I'm on other meds as well so didn't realize these issues were from Flomax. Oh, ya gained 60 extra lbs since taking. I have been off for 3 weeks and the weight is falling off down 25 already. I still have not ejaculated and hope that will return at some point. Ejaculation with no evidence is ridiculous. Do not trust this drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
John W. | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
6/28/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

For ME, it works great! If I miss 1 or even 2 doses, I have a huge issue trying to urinate. Personally I'd rather find a solution to my issue then be stuck taking pills for the rest of my life. But until that happens, this is a great solution. Again...this is for ME. I've read some of the other comments and I don't notice any side-effects for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ace88 | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/21/2021
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have fibromyalgia, interstitial cystitis, and sleep apnea. The medication was used to try to calm my pelvic floor muscles regarding frequent urination. The first day or two it was OK, but as I got more into my body, my sleep apnea got far, far worse. Trouble getting to sleep, would wake up in 1 or 2 hours sweating. Bottom line is I can't sleep with it at all. Got worse each day of the 8 days I took it so I had to quit. Also some sexual side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/23/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
TBD | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/13/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrific side effects for "meh" results. As I approach 60, one issue that bothers me regularly is frequent urination due to an enlarged prostate. My GP suggested I try Flomax to alleviate the symptoms, and the medication does help with the "emergency sensation" of needing to go, and reduced the sleep cycle frequency, however the litany of side effects leaves me with a preferable desire of urinating in my pants versus this crap. What side effects? Inability to focus Decreased sexual feedback Headaches Itching High high rates Decreased endurance Apathy Dizziness Spacing out moments I can manage my urination cycles, even if that means 'Depends'; what I cannot manage are all the "wonders" this drug invokes. I am 24 hours off, as I write this, and I still have a damn headache.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jim | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/18/2021
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It worked immediately but the side effects could not be tolerated. The first night I experienced some pain in my jaw but didnt associate it with the meds. The second night it felt like every tooth in my mouth was aching. This went on until the morning. Got very little sleep. Never taking this again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/4/2021
Condition: Stones in the Urinary Tract
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was prescribed this drug for 14 days when I had a kidney stone. I took it once and it gave me major congestion. Never took it again.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
11/23/2020
Condition: Stones in the Urinary Tract
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have kidney stones. Helps me urinate more regularly. Side effects have been a stuffy nose multiple times throughout the day. Barely any ejaculate. My energy levels are normal throughout the day but by 9pm I feel worn out and ready to knock out. I think its giving me dark bags under my eyes as well. Overall its helping though.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Minnesotah | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/2/2020
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It solved the problem with flow, and took pressure off of my bladder. However, I can't use the drug, because it increases my heart rate anywhere from 10-20 beats. The drug kept me extremely irritable, depressed, and losing sleep. I tried it two different times before calling the doctor to get a new drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
jj | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
7/10/2020
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Pro Great flow, frequency of going to the bathroom reduced Con: Retrograde ejaculation

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GW | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/4/2020
Condition: Stones in the Urinary Tract
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am temporarily using tamsulosin (Flomax) to aid in passing kidney stone fragments following shock wave lithotripsy on one kidney. The medication has been successful in relaxing the bladder neck muscle and prostate to allow the stone fragments to pass without pain. However, men should note the possible sexual side effects. I have experienced retrograde ejaculation. The initial sensation of orgasm feels pleasurable, but the intense pressure of seminal fluid collecting in the urethra before ejaculation doesn't happen. Instead, the relaxed muscles allow the semen to flow backward into the bladder. Ejaculation happens, but there is not a series of strong muscle contractions nor pleasurable feelings of release. I experience a few weak pulses and a few drops of semen (or none at all) ooze from my penis, even though my hips instinctively flex like a normal ejaculation. Fortunately, I've felt no discomfort when semen goes into the bladder, just a subtle feeling of congestion that is relieved later during urination. Overall, sexual satisfaction seems diminished by 50%. No issues with achieving an erection or responding to stimulation to reach the start of orgasm, but I've had to adjust to the physical and mental dissatisfaction with the lack of ejaculation. If you are using Flomax for an extended period of time, you may want to discuss these issues with your partner, if you have one.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Hanging hairy | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/14/2020
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Guss | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
1/2/2020
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am taking Flomax for problems urinating too much, especially overnight. Weak urine stream also. This med has greatly helped that problem, but I absolutely cannot get an erection anymore. If I rarely do, there is no ejaculation whatsoever. If you have a high sex drive before taking this med, it will totally disappear after two weeks from the beginning day. I am very dissappointed that this side effect is so bad.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
NO WAY I AM TAKING THIS | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/3/2019
Condition: Enlarged Prostate with Urination Problems
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Decreased hardness of erection, retrograde ejaculation after 1 week of use stopping this drug tonight. If you want to urinate easily and donâ??t care about sex then this is the drug for you.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More