Show ratings & reviews for

4.3 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

15 People found this comment helpful

A little smelly and messy, but well worth the trouble for fast results! My dermatologist has prescribed many different meds for my elbow with mixed, often short term results. This is by far the best option for me.

Most voted negative review

2 People found this comment helpful

coal tar is benzine which causes leukemia

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
1/21/2022
Condition: Psoriasis
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given coal tar about 20 years ago, I used it & it never cleared my psoriasis. On top top that, I was given a prescription for a higher dosage, that was black & within 2 days of using it I had a terrible reaction, my arms swelled up SO big & I had very painful welts develop. I went to the urgent care & they told me it was 3rd degree burns - which was impossible. I took a steroid treatment & later that week went to me regular dermatologist who said it was a chemical burn. Those welts stayed on my arms for about a year, peeling & losing the discoloration with each peel. About a year later I developed malignant melanoma (at 22) & have since had it again & am now severely allergic to balsam of peru & anything with a benzene derivative. I have an identical twin who used to tan in tanning beds without cancer. No one in my family has or had malignant melanoma. I fully blame coal tar for this life long problem. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | Patient
6/11/2020
Condition: Psoriasis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have had bad psoriasis for 15 years, covering my scalp, pubic area, and most recently, 70% of my back, with a few other spots on and off. The dermatologist recommended this (after I had refused all the drugs and the listed side effects). We tried it on my back, and within a month, my back was clearing up. So I shaved my head and we treated there as well. I am happy to say that the places that it was used are all clear now. And when I spot a new flare up, it only takes about a week of once a day spot treatment and it goes away. My massage therapist and other doctor were amazed at how quickly my back cleared up and have spoken of my experience to other patients/customers.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Caregiver
6/1/2017
Condition: Scaly Oily Skin Problem Primarily On Face and Scalp
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

coal tar is benzine which causes leukemia

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
King Ben | 35-44 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/24/2016
Condition: Psoriasis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have tried many things for psoriasis and coal tar is the most effective thing I've used. I use it in both ointment (Psoriasin) and shampoo (T gel) form. It has an annoying odor, but the benefits are worth it. I have seen a 95% clearing of my symptoms using only coal tar. I would highly suggest coal tar to anyone with plaque psoriasis.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
GettingBetterNow | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/6/2016
Condition: Psoriasis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I developed psoriasis on my scalp with itching so severe I thought I had lice. Despite treatments, the itching continued and worsened to the point where I had plaques and pustules. It itched to the point where I'd wake up and scratch like crazy. I found the scalp treatment at the drug store, and it hit the itch like a fire extinguisher. I have been using it every morning for a week so far, and my scalp is smooth and itch free until it's time for me to take a Benadryl at night. I've been advised I might need to use this every day for a few weeks to get it under control, but that's no problem. No itch!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Roughwhine | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/29/2015
Condition: Dandruff
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It really worked for me,I've tried many products and nothing seemed to help but using the tar my scalp is clean, itch and flake free

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/22/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have a terminal illness and developed an unknown type of rash in which I was prescribed many different creams and ointments. Over a 2 year period I would read online things about rashes and buy over the counter items to try since none of the prescribed stuff took it away just kept it from getting worse. One weird article about rashes I did tried said a tanning bed are bad for you but clear up rashes afterward put on coal tar with in a week rash was gone! Worked for me so I was ok about the tanning being bad. I'm not itchy no more!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
4/21/2015
Condition: Psoriasis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My boyfriend has psoriasis pretty bad and after one application of a lotion with coal tar in it we saw a remarkable difference in it. He has been using this product for a week now and you don't even hardely notice it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bud | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months |
3/21/2014
Condition: Dandruff
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Irritating to scalp first 2times I used it but now not a problem. I had a lot of dandruff problem and itchy scalp but after using several times not a problem anymore . I just sort of smell like driveway dressing for blacktop.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Macangusm | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
12/3/2013
Condition: Scaly Oily Skin Problem Primarily On Face and Scalp
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Will make symptoms disappear overnight when used in shower and lasts 2-3 days

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
None | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
4/25/2012
Condition: Psoriasis
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A little smelly and messy, but well worth the trouble for fast results! My dermatologist has prescribed many different meds for my elbow with mixed, often short term results. This is by far the best option for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More