Show ratings & reviews for

3.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

65 People found this comment helpful

I am just finishing my treatment-first two years on tamoxifen but switched to letrozole after experiencing muscle spasms + cramps. 3 years on letrozole and at first experienced very bad joint pain which lasted about 1 year but did wear off, and not noticable at all now. All the way through the treatment quite bad hot flashes (different levels from plain hot sweats to hot sweats with panic attacks...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

I have just recently been switched from Femara to Letrozole (I am certain cost was a major factor in this decision). This is just the first month I am on Letrozole so it is really too early to tell the outcome.

Shared reviews and ratings

Vicki | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/7/2022
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Postmenopausal Early Breast Cancer After Adjuvant Tamoxifen
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have recently experienced some bothersome symptoms and am exploring side effects of a drug prescribed for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vicki | 55-64 | Nonbinary | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/29/2022
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After taking Letrozole for about 18 months,some side effects have me questioning taking it. Sweating,dizzy, trigger finger,calf pain,hair loss,tendon pain...being the worst. Recently my primary found my vit.D very low. After reading other reviews and talking with several doctors,I will continue this med for awhile and take necessary supplements doctor recommended. No more cancer detected. I had a lumpectomy and radiation,no chemo,and then put Letrozole. Bless all cancer sufferers and cancer doctors! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Mary | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/7/2022
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve only taking letrozole for about 6 weeks. I absolutely hate taking this stuff. The hot flashes are unbearable. I’ve lost pretty much all of my sex drive. Luckily I have not experienced much joint or muscle pain (yet).

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cyn | 45-54 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
3/24/2022
Condition: Cancer of the Ovary
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on Letrozole for a few years with joint pain, fatigue etc. but stopped it for a year due to contraindication with Celexa plus my oncologist stated the Letrozole was not working. The side effects of both of these drugs together kept me in bed most of the day and it took 6 months to clear the drugs from my system before I started feeling normal, unfortunately my Inhibin B lab work showed the cancer was getting worse so my doctor re-prescribed the Letrozole….I don’t yet know if it’s helping.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
CCbest | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/10/2022
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Postmenopausal Early Breast Cancer After Adjuvant Tamoxifen
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am on year 8 taking Letrozole. The side effects for me have been tolerable: thinning hair and vaginal dryness the two most noticeable. I don’t sleep as well as I used to and have more aches than I used to but can easily chalk these up to being 10 years older than when cancer showed up. No signs of cancer and living life to its fullest, training for a half marathon and loving my family. Good luck to all of you on this journey.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cindy | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
9/30/2021
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Postmenopausal Early Breast Cancer
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took this medication for six mouths and stopped it due to severe joint pains. All joints were affected particularly my hands. Developed trigger finger in my right ring finger and now am seeing a hand specialist. Physician said most symptoms will disappear when I discontinue use, except for the trigger finger. Am starting an Aromatase inhibitor tonight and hoping for less severe side effects.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | Patient
9/12/2021
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Postmenopausal Early Breast Cancer
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I started letrozole a few weeks after I finished radiation. I had to take fosomax with it because I already have osteoporosis. I asked the dr if I could take a different estrogen locker that doesn't take bone loss. He said he didn't advise it. A few weeks after starting I developed pain in my eyes. I told my oncologist and he said the only eye side effect he was aware of was cataracts. The pain continued and I started getting eye hemorrhages. I went to an opthamologist. He said I had dry eye. I never had any problems before the medicine. A few months later I got a hemorrhage in each eye. And the pain continued all this time. I went to opthamologist he said I had an infection and prescribed me several drops to use. I researched both letrozole and fosomax and all other osteoporosis mess and they can all cause serious eye problems. This is a rare side effect but I am about to stop both of these mess so I don't lose my eyesight. I don't feel like my doctors are listening to me. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Patient
8/9/2021
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Postmenopausal Early Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve been on Letrozole for 2 years. I have 8 more to go. The past few months I’ve been having a lot of hair loss. My oncologist promised I won’t go bald. But I lose a lot of hair each time I take a shower. So messed up!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kat | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
7/12/2021
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Letrozole for over three years. Over the last six to 12 months it's gotten harder to take, but I'm sticking with it. Biggest problems are hot flashes, fatigue, insomnia, and ... sex difficulties. I'm surprised no one has mentioned sex problems. My oncologist said sex problems are common. The problems: low libido, vaginal dryness, painful sex, and stuff I can't think of now. I'm using Premarin (I think it increases hot flash problems), pelvic floor therapy, lubricant, vibrating wand to release interior muscles to help, and stuff I can't think of now. The hot flashes are getting pretty severe. I didn't know fatigue and insomnia were side effects. I tell all my doctors about fatigue problems. I'm disappointed no one has mentioned Letrozole as a possible cause as I've been worried about it as a permanent post cancer issue. End result: it's a drag to take, but cancer was worse. I'll keep taking it. There's the possibility that I'll need to continue it for another five years. If that's the case, I'll stop it long enough to see how much of these hassles can be blamed on Letrozole, then decide if I can do five more years. I gave it five Effectiveness stars because it damn well better be working ; )Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Karriann | 35-44 | Female | Patient
12/18/2020
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Initially I was to take letrozole for 5 years now its 10years . I have been having severe bone pain at intervals I vall them flareups. I am going to think about stopping them.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/30/2020
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Postmenopausal Early Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??ve been on this for 9 months. Luckily the only side effect is joint/muscle pain. This is mostly at night or when Iâ??m sitting. Once Iâ??m up and moving I donâ??t notice the pain. My oncologist is pretty adamant that I not take pain killers on a daily basis. He has me on 2000 mg of Tumeric a day. It helps. I originally started on Anastrozole but it gave me severe neuropathy, joint pain and huge hot flashes. Letrozole works better for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
ghenier27 | 35-44 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/16/2020
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had breast cancer, been on Letrozole for 7 months, been running low grade fevers and having hot flashes. Been in and out of the hospital, 6 CT Scans and 3 MRI's and they can't find out why. Could be the Letrozole. Doctor wants me to stop taking it for a few weeks to see if it stops. If it does, they will stop the drug. Doctor claims stopping it will not increase my chances of returning cancers by much. Has this happen to anyone else?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Neeter | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/15/2020
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Letrozole for 4 months, my side effects got worse each month. It would take me 1.5 hours to fall asleep and could not sleep for more 2 hrs before waking back up. I had breast pain and finally I started feeling dizzy. I stopped at that point. It has been a month since I stopped taking Letrozole and the dizzness is just starting go away. Has anyone else had problems with being dizzy?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kay | 65-74 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
8/19/2020
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I would like to know if anyone has taken this medication for 7-3/4 years as I have? About one year ago I began to develop severe weakness in my knees, and it continues. Have great difficulty going up and down stairs, and getting out of chairs. My oncologist would like me to continue use of letrozole for 10 years. I have experienced weight gain and have great difficulty losing it. I do try to ride my Schwinn AirDyne at least six miles a day for five days a week. Not sure if I can attribute these issues to my age or use letrozole. I Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kayla | 25-34 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/10/2020
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Iâ??ve been on this medication for 1.5 years and take it at night. When I wake up to go to the bathroom my hands are stiff and cramp. Even trying to rip toilet paper off the role is difficult. This was more severe earlier on in my treatment but has gotten better. My hand strength during the day time is weaker. I definitely have hot flashes and have been using Gabapentin for that as well as for pain. 300 mg at bedtime. I definitely have fatigue as well. No hair thinning that Iâ??ve noticed yet. Iâ??ve gained 10 pounds in approximately the last 6 months. I had a bone density scan and have osteoporosis and Iâ??m only 32! Thatâ??s a major side effect so take vitamin d and strength train. My cholesterol is also elevated.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Gerrior38 | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/17/2019
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Postmenopausal Early Breast Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I've been on Letrozole for 3 months, and I have flu like symptoms daily,nausea and vomiting also constipation. But the worst symptom is No sleeping, and my brain is foggy. I've stopped taking this, haven't told my Oncologist yet!! My legs are very slow to steady causing severe dizziness.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ashley | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/24/2019
Condition: Infertility associated with the Lack of Ovulation
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Took this drug days 3-7 and now I am 9 weeks pregnant ????. Crazy it only took one time on these and they helped! We were trying for over a year without help.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Connie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/11/2019
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I also am experiencing severe joint pain, bone pain, numbness and tingling in hand, hand joints throbbing, and a rash on many areas of my body. After I stand up from sitting a while, I can't seem to walk well. It takes a while to stop shuffle walking and stooped over to correct posture and normal steps.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
5/11/2019
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

6 years ago I started tamoxifen, after the first 2 years I could barely walk, the joint pain was awful, even had to sell my stick shift car. Finished the 5 years with aremidex. Within few months all the pain was gone. Got breast cancer back, now on letrozole. My doctor started me on cymbalta for 3 weeks first, she has had success with cymbalta decreasing the joint pain. Iâ??m optimistic that it will help. Good luck to everyone taking here drugs!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/1/2019
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Letrozole for approx 2 3/4 yrs with varying side effects (depending on lot number), but the constant side effect has been the destruction of my joints, connective tissue, and mobility! A recent bone scan has indicated the same. It's progressively worse

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More