Show ratings & reviews for

2.6 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

15 People found this comment helpful

I have had no side effects other than a slight headache the first day. I began to experience improvement in my symptoms by the second day. Has worked well.

Most voted negative review

4 People found this comment helpful

71 YR 0LD, 122LB, 100% DISABLED HUSBAND WAS GIVEN THIS MEDICAGION AT "80ML VIA G-TUBE EVERY 12 HOURS FOR 10 DAYS". HE HAD THE WORST DIARRHEA I HAVE EVER SEEN. IT WAS LIKE A WATERFALL. AT FIRST, THE PHARMACIST REFUSED TO FILL THE PRESCRIPTION BECAUSE OF THE HIGH DOSAGE, BUT AFTER SPEAKING TO EITHER THE DOCTOR OR A STAFF MEMBER AT THE DOCTOR'S OFFICE, THE PHARMACIST FILLED THE PRESCRIPTION AS DIRECT...

Shared reviews and ratings

charla | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/2/2022
Condition: Intestine Infection due to the Shigella Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was only on this for 5 days, and was told by the pharmacist to go off immediately after having psychotic episodes, couldn't eat, sleep, trouble walking, dizzy were just some of the symptoms.Beware when taking this!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
boilbutt | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/22/2021
Condition: infection
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Like many other here, the side effect are brutal, and most are not listed!! I have decided to stop taking them immediately. Calling my Dr to have a bit of a chat.Bad experience forsure

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
EmBee | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/12/2020
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I’ve taken this treatment a few times and I found that within the next day or two there’s a significant improvement from my original discomfort. It my not be for everyone though as if you have difficulty with swallowing pills, this ones definitely a challenge due to its size. You also need to drink lots of water! Other than that I’m quite happy with the treatment and have not personally had any issues.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/15/2019
Condition: Infection of the Urinary Tract caused by Proteus Bacteria
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug works but has has AWFUL side effects for me. I have been on many antibiotics and have experienced nothing like this.... it has made me super hazy, almost to the extent of hallucination and gave me and awful sore throat that lead to oral thrush and the worst yeast infection in my life. I will never take this again!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Vanstar | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/19/2019
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have suffered from UTIs all my life and in later life prostate infections. This drug always works for me. When I had a UTI for six months and numerous rounds of antibiotics, sulfatrim worked. I don't have any side effects at all. The only downside is you have to take it twice a day, the pill is large and you need to drink more water. That said, water is about the best medicine.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | Patient
1/24/2019
Condition: Other
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication for a bladder infection, I felt nauseous, had hallucenations, felt tired, on the third day,,, I suffered a grand mal seizure,, I was hospitalized, it is now 19 years later, I still suffer grand mal seizures, it took this long for me to get the actual name of this drug, for the first 10 years, doctors simply refused to admit I was having seizures,, even though that is what I was admitted with, instead of saying I took this poison, and am now ill, they are saying, this drug just TRIGGERED my seizures,, they were meant to happen,, I have NO history of seizure, ,, nor does anyone in my family. This drug is dangerous, and more then likely to cause permanent damage to the nervous system, avoid it,Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | Patient
8/28/2017
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection Prevention
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Christina | 13-18 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/22/2016
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This helped me so much. I never had any of the side affects and it worked quickly. I have taken multiple antibiotics to help with my UTI, but none of them seemed to work but this one. I'm feeling a lot better now and after getting off the medicine, i noticed being a little drowsy and dizzy, But that went away.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
anthemas | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/30/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a UTI, I have experienced sometimes small headaches, and abdominal cramping, but otherwise my symptoms are clear after 3 days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Guest86 | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/31/2014
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am no stranger to the beast that is a UTI, having battled it many times throughout my life thus far. I noticed early symptoms on a Thursday evening and began drinking lots of water and taking AZO. By Saturday evening it was full blown and probably one of the worst ones to date for me. I spent all night and Sunday drinking pure cranberry juice, parsley tea, and water and actually began to feel better by Sunday evening. I still had trouble sleeping and by Monday night, sleep was no longer an option. I saw a doctor Tuesday morning who prescribed Sulfatrim DS to be taken twice a day for 3 days. This was my first time using this antibiotic and it will be my last. I've had a persistent headache since starting it and in the evenings I'm visited by bouts of nausea. My head feels swimmy...if that makes sense. I'm always drowsy and flush as well. Today is the last day and I have felt uncomfortable pressure on my lower back. Truth rb told, I am concerned that this antibiotic has only masked the UTI, rather than get rid if it. I suppose I will know for sure over the next couple of days.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month |
6/19/2014
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My mom was prescribed Apo-Sulfatrim for a bacterial infection. I have never seen her so wiped out. She has been vomiting, feeling nauseous, tired and a fever. I hope that it does not make her worse.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/18/2014
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication for a UTI. I took it exactly how I was told to, drank plenty of water like I was told to. It masked the symptoms of the UTI, but it did not get rid of it. On top of that, this drug made me terribly ill. I had developed a fever of 102, had chilling and hot flashes, nausea, severe muscle weakness in my legs, standing up for longer then a few minutes caused my vision to go dark and I'd black out. I also broke out in an extremely itchy rash from head to toe. Thankfully I didn't end up with a kidney infection because of this horrible drug. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/8/2014
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nausea, diarrhea & low blood sugar, however it did clear my kidney infection.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
helen52ylnd |
11/13/2012
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

does this med. cause change in color of urine?

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LITTLEENGINE104 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
9/24/2012
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

71 YR 0LD, 122LB, 100% DISABLED HUSBAND WAS GIVEN THIS MEDICAGION AT "80ML VIA G-TUBE EVERY 12 HOURS FOR 10 DAYS". HE HAD THE WORST DIARRHEA I HAVE EVER SEEN. IT WAS LIKE A WATERFALL. AT FIRST, THE PHARMACIST REFUSED TO FILL THE PRESCRIPTION BECAUSE OF THE HIGH DOSAGE, BUT AFTER SPEAKING TO EITHER THE DOCTOR OR A STAFF MEMBER AT THE DOCTOR'S OFFICE, THE PHARMACIST FILLED THE PRESCRIPTION AS DIRECTED. SOMEWHERE, I BELIEVE A MISTAKE WAS MADE BY THE DOCTOR. I WOULD JUST WARN PEOPLE TO BE VERY CAREFUL AND DOUBLECHECK DOSAGE ALWAYS. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
vervaekeh | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Caregiver
1/31/2012
Condition: Chronic Bronchitis caused by Streptococcus Pneumoniae
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

So far it has been working well, but I still have a few days left to finish the tx. Just wondering if my sore throat my have a viral component

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Julysweetness | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
11/18/2011
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a boil on my buttocks that had to be cut. They prescribled this medication for 2 weeks 2 times a day. When I first started taking it, it gave me headaches and made me very nauseous. By the 7th day I thought I was going to die. The nausea and vomoting were horrible. I couldn't think straight I was in a fog. I didn't know what to do with myself. The 8th day my lips started to get numb and my throat was painful and felt as though there was something in it. I immediately stopped taking them. I has been 4 days off and I am feeling much better. However, I have lost my sense of taste. Everything taste terrible. I have inquired about this condition now and am informed that it may take months to years to come back or it may not at all. This medication is DEADLY!!!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
none | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/6/2011
Condition: Chronic Bronchitis caused by Streptococcus Pneumoniae
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This was prescribed to me for Bronchitis by my doctor that i have been seeing for years, who knew i was allergic to it. I have to change doctors definatly

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/13/2010
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection caused by Morganella Morganii
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

caused painful sores in mouth and throat and white patches. Not sure which type of UTI I have!!!!!!!!!!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
culyQ | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
2/23/2010
Condition: Urinary Tract Infection due to E. Coli Bacteria
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

i, like many others, am having pains in the kidney area, lower back, neck and overall body aches, including headache - which caused me to wonder if this drug is actually working?? i'm still not sure. i have 2 days to go.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More