Show ratings & reviews for

3.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

28 People found this comment helpful

This is the best antibiotic out there for me. It clears my ear congestion up and sinus problems from my allergies better than anything else. I wish more doctors would prescribe this instead of pushing zpack. My internist wants to always prescribe regular amoxicillan and it just doesn't work for me.

Most voted negative review

7 People found this comment helpful

First off, I wish I had read the reviews prior to taking this drug. My Dr put me on this because I have nasal polyps and a deviated septum which he thinks is causing me to have a chronic sinus infection. Because of the severity of my sinusitis he wanted me on this for 2 weeks to start, up to 4 total. I am on day 5 of this and the first couple of days were OK. Skip ahead and I am now spending m...

Shared reviews and ratings

Well wisher | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/25/2021
Condition: Bacterial Urinary Tract Infection
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I don't know, I'm cured off the urinary infection. I had a severe diarrhea. I stopped the medication in 4 days.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Augmentin | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/20/2021
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

About 1 week after finishing augmentin I ended up in ICU in the hospital with a very serious allergic reaction. I had a rash, itching all over and swelling and my joints hurt considerable. I had severe sepsis and was septic. I have had augmentin in the past for sinus infections but no more.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Liver damaged | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/16/2021
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

BE CAUTIOUS AND KNOW THE SIDE EFFECTS!!! A month or so after taking it, I started to get a yellow tent in my eyes. It started as a very pale yellow. I ended up getting COVID a few weeks after notice the color change and my whole body and eyes turned dark yellow in a matter of days. I ended up in the ER and was diagnosed with Adverse Drug Reaction in which the amoxicillin was attacking my liver. COVID did make the ADR increase the damage it was doing faster, but I am not the first patient the GI Specialist has diagnosed because of this antibiotic. He has had two patient need liver transplants. Needless to say, I am heading to a Liver Disease Specialist for a second look at the damage to my liver. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Ann E | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/15/2021
Condition: Cat Bite Wound
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Today is day five of ten-day treatment. Pain minimal. Swelling of hand is down. I can close my hand into a fist again. Red has stopped spreading up my arm. However I am fatigued, achy all over, and depressed. I will finish but will not take this antibiotc again Mild gastrointestinal side effect.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Billie | 65-74 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/14/2020
Condition: infection caused by bacteria
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

it's good stuff, but everyday i get these strange side effects that worry me. I'm wondering if paranoia is a side effect!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kaia | 19-24 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/14/2019
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrific experience. I would not recommend this drug for anyone. 4 hours after taking it I was violently vomiting nonstop for the next 5 hours with horrendous diarrhea. I felt very out of it And extremely weak. I only took one and discontinued immediately. Not worth it whatsoever.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Rachel | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/30/2019
Condition: Diverticulitis
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I took Augmentin for a second episode of diverticulitis. The first time around (two years ago) I took Cipro and Flagyl which felt like a controlled forest burn of my intestines. Augmentin was MUCH easier to tolerate. I second those whoâ??ve suggested taking it with probiotics. This makes all the difference. I took one or two probiotics about 2 hours before and also 2 hours after each dose. Definitely take it with a large snack or meal. Experienced only some mild indigestion about 30 minutes after taking it. My symptoms started improving around day 3 with continued improvement. For probiotics, I took a broad spectrum one with multiple strains plus a high powered version of Florastor. I was terrrified of taking Augmentin after reading all the reviews but dove in with the proper supports because there was no way I was going back to the Cipro combo. Good luck and I hope it works for you! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | On medication for less than 1 month |
9/4/2018
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this antibiotic for 2 and a half days, and I do not feel like myself. I feel sweaty, as if I am perspiring uncontrollably. My anxiety level is higher than normal, and I feel shaky, tired, and extremely achy in my lower back and neck area. The symptoms that I have described are so much of a nuisance that I do not even know if I feel better that I originally did before the medication or not. Seriously thinking of stopping the Augmentin!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
k | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/27/2018
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The pills were huge. Caused stomach pain and excessive bruising for the first few days. A week into the treatment and I developed a large hematoma on my backside that may need to be surgically removed.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/24/2018
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

If you're female & want a major yeast infection this is the drug to take. Felt better for 3/4 days & now it's back.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/13/2018
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Doctor prescribed this to treat a severe case of sinus infection. It cleared up my sinuses and my head almost immediately but I experienced nausea wheels taking it. Then, within two days after beginning treatment, my nausea was so bad I couldn�¢����t eat anything without violent vomiting. I also experienced extreme stomach pain and explosive, uncontrollable diarrhea. I ended up going to the urgent care center to be placed on a different antibiotic to finish the course. There is NO WAY that I will EVER take this drug again. I would rather suffer through a severe sickness than deal with the side effects again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
IronmanBama | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/2/2017
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Horrible. I took this for severe sinus infection. On day 3 I was having unbearable nausea and vomiting. My fever still existed. I had severe upper abdominal pain, fatigue, tiredness, uncomfortable, elevated blood pressure. I was tempted to go the emergency room. The symptoms rivaled what this website associates with pancreatitis and some of pancreatic cancer. I was scared. My doctor told me to stop using it immediately but it still took 9 more days to get it out of my system and get rid of the side effects. I've never had a reaction to a medicine this severe. I went 6 days before I could keep food down. Be careful with this stuff. On a side note: It did cure my sinusitis after 3 days...I was supposed to go 10 days but only got 3 days of meds in. Regardless, the illness from the side effects wasn't worth it. I'd try something different. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Allison Sherman | 19-24 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/26/2017
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I went into the urgent care on 5/17/2017 with cold/flu like symptoms- except.. I had sharp shooting pains in my ear's and in the back of my throat. My tonsils were also inflamated. The Doc checked me out and said I probably just have a virus, instructed me to use Lidocaine mixed with a Steroid and Childrens Liquid Ibuprofen for 4-5 Days, and after 5 days if I still feel sick .. to take the Augmentin (Amox Clav 125 mg). So 5 days came around.. 5/21/17 and I decided to take the augmentin because I still felt terribly sick (I Stopped taking the Lidocaine and Steroid Mixture). After 24 hours my throat and ear pain had gone away, but my WHOLE body felt sore. My Muscles hurt all over and my skin was hot to the touch. It was terrible - even laying in bed was painful, I could barely move around. I felt like I had just done an extreme workout!! Be careful if you take this medication. This is the 5th day I've been on it and im going to stop taking it. (it's 5/26/17)Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
HealedByJesus | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/1/2017
Condition: Middle Ear Infection
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is a STRONG antibiotic! This is basically a very strong course of amoxicillin! This drug WILL work well for you but you HAVE TO EARN IT! I was prescribed this for a tooth with a cavity... I NEVER had any adverse reactions to it because I did what I needed to do. I ate FULL meals before taking the pill, then two hours after I took the antibiotic I took THREE DIFFERENT PROBIOTICS! If you do both of these things you will feel great the whole 10 days. I never had upset stomach, never felt nauseous, never had diarrhea... if you don't do these precautions you can expect to have diarrhea, upset stomach, nausea, ETC..... this drug will tear your stomach up if you don't do these simple things to protect yourself. I didn't spend lots of money on probiotics either... I got three different BROAD SPECTRUM probiotic brands (less than $15-$20 each at Wallmart) and took them ALL two to three times each day. I recommend around a month of probiotics after the antibiotic is finished... That's just as important.... do these simple things and you'll feel fine. Or don't... but you've been warned...Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/20/2017
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

if you get the first dose in the middle of the day, it is inconvenient to get it on a schedule that works for every 12 hours.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
glam ma45 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/20/2017
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am experiencing extreme tiredness and but overall worked well after first dose.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
AGuyInCT | 35-44 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/22/2016
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The pills are big and since I have to take this with food, I find I get full a lot faster. I do have this odd feeling in my stomach - maybe indigestion but aside from that minor discomfort this drug has been great at stopping the sinus infection I had going. I started feeling better perhaps 4-6 hours after the first dose. Three doeses later I'm feeling 80% better. Not bad. too bad I have to continue taking it for another 8 days, I don't like that funny feeling in my stomach.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/27/2016
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Comment:Below is a comment from another review. My experience is identical except I did not call dr. waited a few days and tried again with same results. I will never take it again. I was prescribed this medication for a bad sinus infection. Ate dinner at 5:30 that evening; by 8:40 I was running to the bathroom with my hand over my mouth, praying that I would make it before I vomited. Long story short, I vomited multiple times throughout the night. I called a nurse that was on call with my doctor's office; had to put her on hold (and the receptionist whom I gave my info to before that) to go vomit. I will NEVER, NEVER, NEVER take this medication again. I wish I had read the reviews on here before I took this medicine. Hide Full CommentRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/10/2016
Condition: Acute Bacterial Infection of the Sinuses
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was prescribed this medication for a bad sinus infection. Ate dinner at 5:30 that evening; by 8:40 I was running to the bathroom with my hand over my mouth, praying that I would make it before I vomited. Long story short, I vomited multiple times throughout the night. I called a nurse that was on call with my doctor's office; had to put her on hold (and the receptionist whom I gave my info to before that) to go vomit. I will NEVER, NEVER, NEVER take this medication again. I wish I had read the reviews on here before I took this medicine.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hip pain | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
8/3/2016
Condition: Diabetic Foot Infection
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After a few days on this medication I started having severe (stabbing) pain in my right hip. My doctor gave me a cortisone shot in right hip and pain actually got worse. I am now on day 13 of medication and my pain is unbearable. Trying ice and resting. I won't ever take this medication again. I also have bouts of constipation and then diarrhea.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More