Show ratings & reviews for

4.2 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

56 People found this comment helpful

Demerol is under-prescribed and its benefits are underestimated. This is THE best pain medicine medicine available today with regards to effectiveness and minimal side effects. My husband has been on 100mg 4x day for 8 years for his degenerative disks in his lower back, and I use as much as 500mg in a day for neuropathic pain flares and a daily dose of 50 to 100mg for the past 5 years. Neither of ...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

Ladies and Gentlemen: demerol is the highest narcotic, just below heroin and methodone which is the same as heroin but based in an analgesic/aspirin. Morphine ranks below demerol. I find it interesting many saying this works better than OTC, this is the reason - and why drs look at you funny when you say im prescribed demerol. Im on methodone/marijuana for spondlythesis grade 4. Opiates/narcotic...

Shared reviews and ratings

Nobody | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
1/11/2022
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Oral demerol was the only thing that works for me while taking buprenorphine-sublocade. I tried the pills first, but the liquid had a better pain killing effect. I had oral surgery and they put a screw through my jaw, into my sinus by accident. Two weeks later, they had to go back in and adjust two screws, which made my post op pain even worse. Morphine has never worked for me, it makes my muscles burn. And, demerol IM was the only medication that would truly get rid of my full-blown occipital headaches, years ago. It had to be administered specifically by 75mg IM. Then, 30 minutes later, another 75mg IM. This worked because my occipital headaches progressed slowly and regressed slowly. So, I needed it IM so it would work slower. Taking it with buprenorphine didn't make me feel high at all. But, it truly got rid of my miserable pain from a screw being in my sinus and then surgery a couple weeks after the original surgery, on the same site. It upsets me that the medical community has turned its nose up to this medication when it's extremely beneficial for some. Especially for those who know from previous experience that they don't have the side effects that made the medical community stop using it in the first place. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Fix what was Broken | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/2/2019
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I used Demerol for 5 yrs for debilitating pain from Degenerative disc disease and Hereditary Migraines with Seziures and if was fast and effective. 50mg twice a day is what I was prescribed and then 100 mg twice a day but my Dr would prescribe for a month then he would alternate to Topamax the next and so on. Even at 100 mg twice a day I functioned at a normal pace and by taking in morning and at bedtime I never experienced any issues like seizures (I already suffered from seizures because of the pain) or breathing for 5 years and never had to take more or and added medication to control break through pain like I have to now. Instead of eliminating Demerol they should of found ways to improve side effects and ways to make it time released. It has no more dangerous side effects than Somas.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LEH50 | 55-64 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/8/2018
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I died in the Recovery Room. My respiration became slow and starting closing off in my lungs. Next, I had a seizure - they administered more Demerol. Then, I couldn't see my nurse and I tried to get up to breathe - instead I died as I tried to raise up. The last words I heard was a man yelling "Respiratory Distress", then everything went black for me. I guess they resuscitated me - I don't know how long I went without oxygen - but here I am alive. I had filled out tons of paperwork stating I am allergic to morphine; yet it was what was prescribed for me post surgery - twice.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
8/4/2016
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug seemed like a blessing in disguise for the first year I was on it. After that, it was less about the pain and more about the high (and not to mention the lows, the crash was terrible). I became head over heals addicted to Demerol. Please don't put yourself through that.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
6/28/2014
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

A REAL LIFE-SAVER...USED PRIMARILY ON DEMAND FOR CHRONIC HEADACHES OVER DECADES. VERY MINIMAL WITHDRAWAL SYMPTOMS WHEN NOT REQUIRING EVERY DAY USE. HAVE BEEN PRESCRIBED OTHER PAIN KILLERS...SOME NOT AS EFFECTIVE, OTHERS HAVE NEGATIVE SIDE EFFECTS WORSE THAN THE TREATED SYMPTOMS E.G. MORPHINE CAUSING SEVERE STOMACH CRAMPS.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
wildjflippin | 55-64 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/21/2014
Condition: Additional Agent to Induce General Anesthesia
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

God what a wonderful drug!! I cannot take any narcotics without vomiting for hours and hours except this one! They use it for putting you in la-la land when they do a colonscopy. When I woke up I felt great, I went home and had the sleep of all time, I love this drug, I wish I had some for home usage! LOL

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lori | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
9/25/2013
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am allergic to so many other pain meds that Demerol is one of the only pain med that works. I have chronic pain caused by surgical adhesions. I am allergic to Morphine, Codeine, LorTab, Percocet, & Dilaudid.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
[email protected] | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
5/28/2013
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

in a major accident.need this pill for major pain neuropathy, thank you.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/18/2013
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 3.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

swift and effective pain reducer. swift but shortlasting pain relief

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dr. DOS | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/8/2013
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This drug worked very well for acute kidney stone attacks. It did not totally relieve the pain but made it tolerable to continue to function. Dr. recently warned about possibility of seizures as I grow older but haven't had one yet. I only use it for the occasional intense pain and have a high respect for it. A tolerance buildup is to be expected, as mine went from 50mg to 250 mg per dose twice daily, over the course of 25 years. But it works. There wasn't any trouble coming off the regular use of it, once I passed the stone. Morphine works great but the trip to the ER was horribly expensive. This drug is not normally recommended for stones, but hey. It works for me. I don't smoke or drink and have never abused drugs. I'm old school and have no regrets other than the pain and thank goodness for medications. I'll give the whacky weed a try when they will no longer prescribe Demerol and it becomes medically legal. My favorite line: Better living through chemistry. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Roy in Joisey | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
2/2/2013
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have failed lumbar surgery from 1994. I've been on Percocet, Duragesic patch and Demerol. The only drug that I found a dependence on was the Duragesic patch, and coincidentally it was the drug that gave the least relief. One 100mg Demerol tablet every 4-6 hours lets me function as somewhat of a human being. No constipation problems, dry mouth or adverse sided effects. No dependency, at least in my case. I have used Demerol for over 19 years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/6/2013
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I use demerol injections for my chronic migraines. This the only thing that works. however when I ask for this they treat me like a addict. 97% of doctors are arrogant and pompus. This med works for those who truely need it.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/3/2013
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My initial dose for chronic ongoing pain was 25mg as prescribed. 2011, I was taking 100mg. I could have had it increased but the 100mg made me comfortable & able to function without zonking or dapping me out. Because I moved to Neveda I can't find a Dr. That would give it to me. Gave me alot of other meds that made me crazy or didn't help at all. Thank God I didn't go thru any withdrawel or experience any withdrawel symptoms! None! From 1985-2011 & only 100mg! Well, I am back to suffering! I rather suffer the pain than continue to go crazy with side affects of more meds they want me to take while wasting my money! My life is so limited again! Shame on you Doctors that won't work with your patient who can benefit from Demerol! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/7/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
WebMD | 45-54 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
9/16/2012
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm a plant worker and it really helps after work and when I'm preparing for bed. It usually last until after work

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous |
9/11/2012
Condition: Other
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

QA test in LIVE R12-release

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
do not recall | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/10/2012
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

used after radio frequency ablation on lower back. seems to offer very fast relief, with little or no apparent side effects other than 'dry mouth.'

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
migraines | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/2/2012
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Me my mother and my grandmother have all been on this drug and the worst part about it for people is although it takes the pain away it also causes pain for migraine sufferers in the form of rebound headaches. This drug works but you become more and more used to it and get more and more addicted to it without realising it. The more you use it the less it works and the more you need it. Be careful and only use it when you absolutely have to. My migraines were debilitating to the point of actually having episodes similar to a seizure. Most people have no idea how strong and dangerous this medication is and the reason doctors look at you funny is because your most likely addicted and have no idea. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/25/2012
Condition: Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Demerol is under-prescribed and its benefits are underestimated. This is THE best pain medicine medicine available today with regards to effectiveness and minimal side effects. My husband has been on 100mg 4x day for 8 years for his degenerative disks in his lower back, and I use as much as 500mg in a day for neuropathic pain flares and a daily dose of 50 to 100mg for the past 5 years. Neither of us have had ANY of these "horrible toxic effects" that doctors freak out about since the metabolite of Demerol (normeperidine) supposedly causes seizures and all sorts of toxic poisoning effects. Well, not a single Seizure from either of us daily users and are productive citizens thanks to this med. No one we have contact with can even tell we take narcotic pain pills because we have no drowsiness or mental fog that all of the other narcotics cause. Our moods have drastically improved as well since Demerol also has an effect on serotonin levels and we have more energy and motivation to do things. We have tried ALL of the other short and long acting narcotics and while some may reduce pain, the pain seems to be so much worse when the pill is wearing off and waiting for the next dose is horrible! Demerol slowly wears off but always seems to leave you feeling ok enough to make it until the next dose. I love this stuff and have NOT become an addict like so many drs fear. I wish the negative stigma of Demerol would go away and drs would feel ok prescribing this for chronic pain instead of those oxys that everyone gets hooked on. My only complaint is that I wish pharmaceutical companies would finally make an Extended Release formula for those of us who otherwise have to constantly keep track of taking several short-acting ones throughout the day.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
irishgaels | 55-64 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/19/2012
Condition: Severe Pain
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had a serious hemorrhoid operation. The post surgical pain was excruciating. They gave me Morphine, which was useless. Then they gave me injections of Demerol. It worked perfectly. No side effects. No trouble sleeping. It was the worst pain of my life and I had the best pain killer to deal with it. It needs to be prescribed more. It is relatively cheap, so I suppose the pharmaceutical companies don't emphasize it too much. Hopefully that will change. It can have bad side effects but so can many other analgesic medications.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More