Show ratings & reviews for

4.0 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

19 People found this comment helpful

On just Wellbutrin, I was far less depressed, but also constantly wired. With the addition of Serzone (in generic form), I've had almost no depression symptoms at all starting at about 2-3 weeks of use. Yes, it's blackboxed. I know. All SSRI's did was make things worse - then I was depressed and couldn't orgasm, which is worse than just being depressed. With the combination of Wellbutrin and ...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

Everyone should know that this drug has been known to cause severe liver injury, failure, and even death. Serzone has been facing class action law suits involving more than 125,000 people. There have been at least 11 deaths due to liver failure and 23 transplants as a result of this drug. Symptoms, including jaundice, dark urine, even total liver failure, appeared in as little as 2 months. There ...

Shared reviews and ratings

Esther | 25-34 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
3/20/2021
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Only took one dose & had suicidal thoughts, this was back in the 1990s

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BlueAngel | 35-44 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
12/24/2018
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have depression and OCD. Nefazodone (Serzone) changed my life. The chains of OCD and depression fell off within 2 months of starting This medicine. This medication was an answer to prayer. I have been off and on SSRIs but they did not help much. Paxil was the only medication that helped my OCD but the side effects were bad. I have not experienced any sexual side effects, weight gain, or fatigue with Nefazodone. Its been a wonder drug for me.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
10/1/2013
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Feeling of grogginess in the morning lasting several hours. Taken at bed time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/14/2013
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking this drug for 14 or 15 years now with absolutely no side effects. I have heard the liver tests were actually done on alcoholics in England so I really have no fear of this drug. I do have liver teats and have never had a bad result.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dona | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
7/8/2012
Condition: Panic Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Serzone(Nefazadone)for 15 years...I had extreme agraphobia and finally was able to overcome it with Serzone 100mg daily and a low dose valium 5mg daily...I have not had a panic attack in all that time.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LIND22844 | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
5/9/2012
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken it for 10 years and it has changed my life. I AM WELL AND HAPPY. NOW THERE IS A SHORTAGE. I AM WORRIED. I CANNOT TAKE ANY SSRI. WILL THE DRUG MANUFACTURER OF THE GENERIC (tEVA) GET IT GOING AGAIN

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Female | Patient
3/17/2012
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

The only antidepressant I could use without sexual side effects or diarrhea (Viibrid). Since beginning it 2 months ago, I have severe hot flashes. Not sure yet if it is the med or coincidence that I started the med at the same time menopausal symptoms appeared.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
1/30/2012
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I ran out of this pill and I can really see how well it works when I am able to take it

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
bill | 55-64 | Male | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
8/26/2011
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Serzone is the only medication that has relieved my depression and made my life bearable. I've had depression since childhood and i'm lucky to have lived long enough to encounter serzone,and only by chance i believe,when i was thrown into a psyc. ward and was started on this drug in 1996. Either my doctors analysis was excellant, or it just dumb luck that i started this drug no longer matters, because i've been able to live a relatively productive and somewhat happy life since.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
happy | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
3/19/2011
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

been on 400mg for over 10 years, get routine liver tests every 6 months. Tried others and didn't like side effects (sexual dysfunction). Just got lab results back with elevated liver enzymes - could be nefazadone related - I hope not because I don't want to go through trying new meds and jeopardize my mental well being. Knowing this medicine could cause liver damage has been a risk, but I have also been depressed-free for over 10 years.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
murray | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
1/14/2011
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

This is the one antidepressant that has worked for me with NO side effects. I was unable to tolerate the side effects of many other drugs over the years, and my doc prescribed this as a last resort. Even with this drug I can tolerate only a very small dose, 50 mg once a day, but for me it is effective. Tried a couple of times to increase the dose, but that only increased my anxiety (for which I am being treated with clonazepam). I also take this in the morning because I found taking it at bedtime or in the evening made it difficult for me to sleep. NOTE: For those who think this drug is no longer on the market, please know that while the brand Serzone is no longer available, the generic nefazadone is available and is quite inexpensive. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Yasmina | 45-54 | Female | Patient
10/4/2010
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this in 1997 and immediately began experiencing severe nausea. I reported this to my clinician, but was told that this was a very "clean" drug, with practically no side effects. When I continued to complain, the doctor checked the literature and assured me that (at that time, anyway) nausea was not a reported side effect. The attacks of nausea were so debilitating that I had to stop whatever I was doing, and at one point I was at DMV, and wanted to ask a security guard to call an ambulance, but I couldn't move. So I laid down on the benches until the severity passed. These attacks always occurred within an hour or so of taking the dose. I simply could not continue taking them, even though the doctor kept insisting it couldn't be the Serzone. I've successfully used SSRI's since stopping Serzone. I'd forgotten this drug's name, only remembering that it was horrible, until the reports that it was pulled off the market years later. At least now, patients who continue to use this and DO experience nausea, will be taken seriously. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Yasmina | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/4/2010
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on this in 1997 and immediately began experiencing severe nausea. I reported this to my clinician, but was told that this was a very "clean" drug, with practically no side effects. When I continued to complain, the doctor checked the literature and assured me that (at that time, anyway) nausea was not a reported side effect. The attacks of nausea were so debilitating that I had to stop whatever I was doing, and at one point I was at DMV, and wanted to ask a security guard to call an ambulance, but I couldn't move. So I laid down on the benches until the severity passed. These attacks always occurred within an hour or so of taking the dose. I simply could not continue taking them, even though the doctor kept insisting it couldn't be the Serzone. I've successfully used SSRI's since stopping Serzone. I'd forgotten this drug's name, only remembering that it was horrible, until the reports that it was pulled off the market years later. At least now, patients who continue to use this and DO experience nausea, will be taken seriously. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
9/24/2010
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Serzone (Nefazadone) has worked pretty well for me for 10 years off and on. Best part: No bad side effects! It leaves me feeling a little high and mellowed, which is good because I can be a little high strung. It takes the edge off, and seems to prevent my long-term major depression from dragging me into the depths. I'd tried Wellbutrin, Effexor (terrifying), Prozac, and a few others with no luck at all. Make sure to have your liver tested every 6 months or so, as it was pulled from the market due to liver problems as a side effect. I stopped taking it suddenly a couple times while traveling overseas and running out - BAD idea. I felt drugged and drunk and could barely stand up, also got very sick and vomitous. Taper off this drug.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tudor | 35-44 | Female | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
7/26/2010
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Was started on the generic while hospitalized. I was disoriented, a fall risk because of extreme dizziness, and it lowered my blood pressure to 70/40. To get me out of the hospital because insurance would no longer pay, I was given ritalin to counter the effects of this drug. A week later hospitalized again and changed to a different med and was feeling better.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Dottie | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
7/21/2010
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was on Serzone for a number of years, was a happy person again who could go outside, drive my car, go swimming, take a vacation for once and enjoyed it. I hadn't felt like normal in 20 years.Then my doctor got scared from the black box stuff and he took me off of it. My current PCP won't give it to me either saying it is banned he would have to fill out so many FORMS TO GET IT, HE JUST ISN'T COMFORTABLE GIVING IT TO ME. MY QUESTION TO HIM WAS...Well, without it,I haven't felt comfortable and my life has come down to reclusivity and my car has cob webs on it!Serzone was for me a way to get out of the house and enjoy everyday things.My liver test were always fine..I want my Serzone back right now! Small town where I live doesn't have many doctors and he belongs to the only clinic. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tinafla44 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/9/2010
Condition: Major Depressive Disorder
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

love this med . took it 10 years ago gor three years . had to switch to effexor xr. it is a great med. also . recently i have had to combine the two . they are the only two med that ever worked for me. only good side effects from serzone

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
dbee99 | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
3/29/2010
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have taken serzone for 5 years, I have had little to no side affects. I'm starting to come off, my vision is very blurry so the Doc.s think this might be the problem.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 25-34 | Male | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/15/2010
Condition: Osteoporosis
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

this treatment is awsome. I love drugs.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Babydoller | 55-64 | Female | On medication for 10 years or more | Patient
1/17/2010
Condition: Depression
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been taking Serzone (nefazone) for 14 years and it works amazingly well for me. I have no side effects. It has been the best antidepressent. All the others had terrible side effects and didn't work that well. But serzone has taken away all my depression with no se's, it is a miracle. I hope they never take it off the market. Some citizens advocacy group is trying to get the FDA to ban it I hope it does not succeed because no drug has worked like this for me, and it is a generic! Best wishes to everybody.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More