Show ratings & reviews for

2.9 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

11 People found this comment helpful

Do do Radiation for cancer of the tongue i have dry mouth and the dentist prescribed this. Almost three post cancer treatment I still have no decay.

Most voted negative review

8 People found this comment helpful

IT TURNED MY TEETH GREEN

Shared reviews and ratings

Anonymous | 19-24 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/10/2019
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Have been using for over a year, 18 month period before using this product I had no cavities, after 6 months of use I had two teeth they were going to keep an eye on ,now another 6 months down the road at my next cleaning I have 6 cavities, used as instructed evert night , I think my Crest worked better

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lara | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/21/2018
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was given this with directions by the hygienist to brush at night, don't rinse, just go to bed. Every morning I woke with nausea.6 moths later I had gastritis due to this toothpaste. I had to have endoscopy and am still trying to recover after 2 months of misery.Check the Good Rx website for side effects they do not warn you about-most all symptoms of gastritis. Mine was considered "chemical" gastritis usually a diagnosis for people taking too many NSAID's aspirin or alcohol. I don't drink, and am allergic to the other two. Swallowing 1.1% fluoride every night for over six months cause bleeding sores and irritation in my stomach. High amounts of fluoride destroy gastric mucosa. I will NEVER use this again. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
MAGIC919 | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
10/28/2017
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I had been using Prevident 5000 1.1% for dry mouth several weeks and I told my dentist that I had developed serious dry mouth and canker sores on my tongue. Then as if that wasn't bad enough I suddenly got two major cavities. My dentist prescribed Prevident 5000 1.1% again without dry mouth and after just two applications I woke up at night with extreme dry mouth, canker sores on my tongue and my tongue stuck to the roof of my mouth. I won't be able to report it to my dentist until Monday, but I have discontinued it's use and gone back to my regular toothpaste. My dentist informed me that dry mouth is a major contributor to cavities. Sure hope there is an alternative to the PrevidentRead More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 45-54 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
2/21/2017
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

It makes me sick to my stomach to use. supposed to leave on my teeth overnight as prescribed. Stopped using it as I do not like waking up sick to my stomach every morning

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
5a2w5n | 55-64 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
3/30/2016
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I visit the dentist every 3 months. I had 4 cavities at this last visit. This stuff grows cavities! I take very good care of my teeth, brushing, flossing etc. Beware!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
winsch3ngqb | 75 or over | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
2/20/2016
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
hank60491 | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
10/19/2015
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Using for 3-4 years only 1 cavity doctor said useing high blood pressure medicine drys out gums and cavity form just before the gum line he was right...use once at bedtime..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Kelly | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/23/2015
Condition: Other
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Very effective in helping with sensitivity.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Carolyn | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/19/2014
Condition: Inflammation of the Gums
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Although prescribed by my periodontist, this toothpaste has made no difference. In fact, I had better results with a neem oil toothpaste. Prevident also contains PEG (polyethylene glycol), a plastic bead additive. A recent study suggests that plastic beads can actually lodge in the gums and provide a place for bacteria to grow.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Cat | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
7/30/2014
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Even though I floss daily and brush 2x daily, I still have enamel and bone deterioration. I am a vegetarian and my diet is high in acid, which is the #1 cause of tooth loss and enamel decay. This product can slow down further decay if it is not severe, but it does not prevent it. If you have Fibromyalgia, have allergies and/or have any skin allergies, this will irritate and make worse. All RX's with sodium fluoride 1.1 % and higher, will also.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Angela | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
7/29/2014
Condition: Other
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have used this product and have always had a dry mouth problem after using it especially at night time. Recently, I had a reaction of swelling on the inside of my mouth and tightness in my throat. I thought it was my sinuses acting up but I realized that these symptoms started shortly after brushing my teeth. I do have several allergies and just added this to my list.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
LookingforHelp | 19-24 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
6/19/2013
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My Dentist ordered this "expensive" toothpaste for me, around $50 and it came in the mail looking like glitter glue, are they trying to scam me into more cavities? I had 7 at a BAD point in my life but after 2 years of brushing flossing, and using fluoride- I now have 12 cavities! I promise I am a VERY vigorous cleaner, not sure why this is happening. Cannot afford $300 a filling as a college student

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
skip | 65-74 | Male | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
11/29/2012
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Do do Radiation for cancer of the tongue i have dry mouth and the dentist prescribed this. Almost three post cancer treatment I still have no decay.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
liebwein | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
9/12/2009
Condition: Prevention of Tooth Plaque
Overall rating 5.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My dental cleanings have been very good, but I also use this product with my Sonic Elite electric toothbrush. No cavities for years, but my Nexium medication could also be the reason for this as well. I like the security of the added benefit that my teeth are protected against cavities.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
BOB | 65-74 | Male | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
12/16/2007
Condition: Tooth Decay Prevention
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

IT TURNED MY TEETH GREEN

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More