Show ratings & reviews for

3.4 Overall Rating

Effectiveness

Tooltip icon

Ease of Use

Tooltip icon

Satisfaction

Tooltip icon

Most voted positive review

109 People found this comment helpful

I have been on this med for 4 plus years and will soon be changing to Femara....I have lost 30 pounds by changing my eating habits and reducing stress in my life...Minor hot flashes on occasion, with no prob because I already handled that when I went thru menopause. As I change meds and check this site, I find NEGATIVE remarks prevail and I wanted to assure someone to trust the med and stay positi...

Most voted negative review

9 People found this comment helpful

Hate Tamoxifen with a passion - severe side effects - hot flashes, mood swings, weight gain, cramps, memory loss, forgetfulness, loss of motivation. How come it prevents breast cancer when it is possible to cause three other types of cancer???? Shouldn't it prevent ALL cancers???? If I am on it to stop estrogen dominance, why can't I use natural progesterone cream instead which would do the same...

Shared reviews and ratings

Am | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/10/2022
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 2.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Lumpectomy in June 2021 followed by 20 rounds of radiation. I've been on Tamoxifen for 5 months. When I first started taking it I had night sweats and hot flashes typically followed by boughts of dizziness. Now at the 5 month mark, I've developed muscles aches, increased headaches, and a low iron count to the point I have to take iron supplements. I've never had irregular blood tests until I started taking this stupid pill. When I ask my oncologist, he says it's just a coincidence...SERIOUSLY!!! So am I just left to accept these side effects for the next 5 years???? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Robin | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/24/2021
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Breast Cancer survivor I get very sensitive talking about it. I’m here to help someone. Keep God 1st and foremost. I’m on Tamoxifen for about 4 months now and I have Hot flashes like crazy and slight mood swings but I would take the medication early in the am and be hot and cold throughout the day. My Doctor told me to take the medication in the evening and I’ve notice a huge difference. I hardly have hot flashes like before. So if anyone is suffering from Hot flashes try taking it around 5 or 6 pm. It works for me hopefully I can work for you. Because I hate being ?? Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sylvie | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
4/24/2021
Condition: Hormone Receptor Positive Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with stage 0 breast cancer and I had just 3 weeks of Radiation no chemo. So now I’m taking Tamoxifen and I’m just experiencing Hot Flashes and I’m very sensitive to everything meaning I cry about everything now. So, my doctor calls to check up on me to see how I’m doing and she asks if I’m having any new side effects. My question was should I be worried about anything else? No but this meditation may cause ovarian cancer! What? Goes to my Obgyn and I was good. But Cancer is a money making business and let’s all be mindful and do your research. I’m 44 yrs old, I still have a period. I was told that Tamoxifen is suppose to stop it or stop my hormones I don’t know. I pray that God will cover us all in Jesus name amen! Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Sharon | 45-54 | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/21/2020
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

After lumpectomy and radiation put on tamoxifen hate this little tablet. I hope the cancer doesn't return after all the drama this pill causes. Hot flushes from hell day and hurendous through the night, very little sleep, weight gain with no way of losing it even when training every day and healthy eating in place.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
7XS6ge | 65-74 | Female | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
3/5/2020
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Had lumpectomy January of 2019. 20 days radiation treatment. Cancer did not spread. Put on Tamoxifen. Lost quite a bit of hair up front. Developed awful hot flashes which occurred in the day and night. My hair would get wet from sweat pouring off my head. Legs began to swell, had bouts of nausea at the most inopportune times, not to mention muscle pains everywhere. Fainted in grocery store and that was it! My quality of life had gone down the tubes. I quit taking it on my own this year February 12. It's now March 5, still getting hot flashes, still have pain. Oncologist said take Vitamin E and that may help. Not! Anyway, saw oncologist two days ago. Said I'm off these pills, she suggested other kind, I said no way, I'll take my chances. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Bam320 | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
10/6/2019
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on this medicine for almost 1 year since having a lumpectomy . I absolutely hate this medicine , the hot flashes , mood swings , fatigue , bones hurt . It may react differently on other people but I do not describe the hot flashes as that , I myself feel like Iâ??m on fire . If the oncologist wants to switch you to something else they are no different , same to worser side effects I have read . Makes me want to think about discontinuing the medicine .

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Moore | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
9/3/2018
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 2.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed for her2-positive breast cancer and October of 2017 I went through chemo as well as radiation chemo was horrible radiation my body tolerated 4 months ago I was introduced to this drug tamoxifen. I've been feeling horrible every since. I feel like I have had a stroke on my right side my brain hurts I have trouble thinking even completing daily tasks. I wake up to dizzy spells and hot flashes. Blurred vision, change in color vision, stomach pain, Headache.Hot flashes, vaginal discharge. pain or bone pain. Loss of interest in sex Trouble with sleeping.This drug I will not continue treatment. Not worth side effects.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Lilly | 65-74 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
6/20/2018
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I am 69 years old and just completed radiation after a lumpectomy for invasive ductal carcinoma. Since I just started taking tamoxifen I really can't say anything about side effects, but I'd be anxious to hear from someone who is around my age and has taken tamoxifen for 5 years. The thought of the side effect of cancer of the uterus scares me. I still have a uterus and ovaries. My friend had to have a hysterectomy, from she swears using tamoxifen. Has anyone else experienced this? I'd like my quality of life in my senior years to be good, not worrying about something like this. Also, not to mention starting through menopause symptoms again along with a discharge? What's that about? I may be rethinking all this.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
evilqueen | 45-54 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
3/5/2018
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Today is my 2 year mark of taking Tamoxifen. I had breast cancer in 2015 followed by double mastectomies. I hate this drug!! My hair stopped growing, my eyes are blurry, my periods are every 3 months sometimes, my body aches, the hot flashes finally eased up, I'm tired and get more headaches than normal. Can't change drugs until I'm in menopause. I'm 52 so I hope it's soon!!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
DeejNTexas | 55-64 | On medication for 2 to less than 5 years | Patient
5/7/2017
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed in December 2013 with stage zero DCIS. Had a lumpectomy followed by one week of partial breast radiation. I was at first put on Arimadex (anastrozole) high I took for about a year. I could no longer deal with the side affects, so my oncologist switched me to Tamoxifen. It has been easier on my body. My side effects have been: terrible hot flashes, rare night sweats, hair thinning, lack of energy, trouble sleeping, feeling of weakness throughout my body. I started taking potassium for foot cramps and that has helped a lot. Oh, and my resting heart rate has increased from around 80 to now 100-105. The only thing my oncologist said was, "Your heart sure is beating fast." Apparently it is not a listed side effect. Heart doctor said my heart is fine. So, I decided to stop taking the Tamoxifen for one week. My heart rate slowed back down. So yes, it can definitely increase your heart rate. Both my oncologist and breast doctor said that exercise is key in staying cancer free. I've started brisk walking with a neighbor. A ketogenic to low carb diet like Atkins are also good. I've read that cancer cannot survive with the ketones in your blood. I recommend the book, Fight Cancer with a Ketogenic Diet. Hope this helps!Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
JENNIFER | 35-44 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
4/24/2017
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

My name is Jennifer. I was diagnosed with DCIS in June of 2016. I had a lumpectomy in my left breast with 30 radiation treatments. I started the Tamoxifen in Oct. So its only been 6 months. I can honestly say I do not like this drug. I have leg cramps, hot flashes, sweats, chills and aches and pain and some other issues I'm not going to mention. I am a high risk just by having Leukemia as a child and plus family history. Prayers for everyone on this drug.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
mbooboov | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
2/10/2017
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction
Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
antbee44 | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
12/2/2016
Condition: Prevention of Breast Cancer
Overall rating 1.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Nine years ago I had a small lump that was cancerous in my rt breast. I had a lumpectomy and 35 radiation treatments. Eight years later I had another lump in the same breast and it was cancerous as well. Had modified radical mastectomy and 3 of 4 reconstruction surgeries. I have been taking Tamoxifen for 9 months. I too have the severe hot flashes, can't sleep nights, I used to have thick beautiful hair. Not any more! My fingernails are paper thin. I am lethargic, get winded real easily, have gained weight. I am on meds to lose weight. I hate this drug. If I didn't have grandchildren that I want to see grow up, I would be off of this stuff in a New York minute.Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
justme | 55-64 | On medication for 6 months to less than 1 year | Patient
11/3/2016
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Oct/2015: biopsy results were questionable. Nov/2015: lumpectomy came back positive for Stage 0 DCIS. Dec/2015: bilateral mastectomy completed. Feb/2016: began tamoxifen, daily. I was postmenopausal prior to my surgery so the return of night sweats was miserable. The night sweats have back off some but I experience leg cramps during the night now.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
tempesusan | 65-74 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
10/22/2016
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Diagnosed with DCIS, Stage 0 in Feb 2016. Am a 66 year old, white female. Had lumpectomy followed with 30 days of radiation. I did not want to take Tamoxifen due to side effects, but decided to do so and then re-visit with medical oncologist if having difficulties. I take in the morning after breakfast (20mg). I have noticed hot flashes during night time sleep, but fortunately not too bad- no night sweats. I am experiencing leg/foot cramping off and on, but also had prior to taking Tamoxifen, so not sure that is a factor. As long as I stay aware of physical changes, have yearly PAP smears and pelvic exams (uterine cancer concerns) and yearly eye check-ups (Tamoxifen contributes to cataract formation) I feel I am doing the most I can do to stay safe while taking Tamoxifen. Of course, this includes breast mammograms, MRIs as suggested by my breast surgeon. Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Anonymous | 35-44 | Female | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
8/22/2016
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I'm 36 and am on tamoxifen 5-10 years. I'be also had a double mastectomy and am on one year of herceptin. Since starting the tamoxifen my tumors markers have plummeted so that's a good thing but the drug has been difficult to handle. Insomnia, night sweats, some mild hair loss but not noticeable to anyone other than me. The worst has been feelings of anxiety and panic. Just trying to stay with it and remain cancer free. I was stage 1A.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Evilqueen | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to 6 months | Patient
6/22/2016
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 2.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I have been on Tamoxifen since March 2016 and I have noticed more mood swings, severe hot flashes, aches and pains, fatigue and I seem to have "peach fuzz" on my face!! My last period was March, it threw me into menopause. I'm 50 and had ductal carcinoma and a double mastectomy in September 2015. The percentage of getting Uterine Cancer from this are low I hear but something to consider before taking this drug..

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Del | 45-54 | Female | On medication for 5 to less than 10 years | Patient
5/17/2016
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 4.3
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I were diagnosed with Lobular breast cancer at 44 in 2010 which had spread throughout my right breast and to my lymph nodes. I were also estrogen and progesterone positive. I started Tamoxifen after completing 6 months Chemo and 5 weeks Radio September 2010 and were told I'd be on it for 5 years. The most noticeable side effect were the hot flushes however as time went on I've had growing memory loss, joint pain vision deterioration not to mention anger and anxiety which I'd not felt before. I stopped taking it November 2015 however started bleeding which I've just found out is due to a huge pulp in my uterus which I now have to have a hysterectomy as they couldn't remove it all. My Breast care specialist has changed me to Arimidex for a further 5 years as I am now post menapausal but looking at the side affects for this new drug I am reluctant to continue and wonder is it better to just take my chances?Read More Read Less

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Evilqueen | 45-54 | On medication for less than 1 month | Patient
4/13/2016
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 3.0
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

Im 50 and was diagnosed with Ductal Carcinoma on my 50th bday August 2015. I chose to have a double mastectomy. After reading ALL the horrible reviews, I VERY reluctantly,started Tamoxifen Mar 22, 2016 and all I have noticed is my moods seem a bit all over the place, I'm easily irritated and my hot flashes increased. My weight so far has stayed the same and no hair loss as others have mentioned. So far, so good.

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.
Melissab | 45-54 | On medication for 1 to less than 2 years | Patient
4/4/2016
Condition: Breast Cancer
Overall rating 1.7
Effectiveness
Ease of Use
Satisfaction

I was diagnosed with DCIS-stage zero in 2014. I had bi-lateral lumpectomy surgery, followed by 33 radiation treatments. I was told I needed to take Tamoxifen for 5 years following the radiation. I am almost 2 years into taking the Tamoxifen and dealing with being lethargic, moody, muscle and limb weakness, and worst of all HOT FLASHES that make life miserable. I find it hard to get out of bed. Multiple visits to the ER on top of everything else. I HATE this drug!!

Report this postFill 3Created with Sketch.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT USER-GENERATED CONTENT ON WEBMD

The opinions expressed in WebMD User-generated content areas like communities, reviews, ratings, or blogs are solely those of the User, who may or may not have medical or scientific training. These opinions do not represent the opinions of WebMD. User-generated content areas are not reviewed by a WebMD physician or any member of the WebMD editorial staff for accuracy, balance, objectivity, or any other reason except for compliance with our Terms and Conditions.

Read More